We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight no-nonsense clean & modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blenheim Randwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Blenheim Randwick to your Saves list
The Blenheim Randwick
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   26 Blenheim Street | (Main entrance High Street), Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Randwick B&B and Inns
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Straight no-nonsense clean & modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I found the hotel to be really good. Not expensive, looks fairly new and staff were friendly.

The service level was as expected, with the room being "refreshed" each day. The room didn't get a full service, (bedding changed and cups washed) every day but towels were changed, bed remade, teabags toped up, etc.

I would definitely stay again and recommend it.

By the way, the address is Blenheim, but the main entrance is on High St, just opposite the Children's Hospital entrance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
23
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Comfortable and quiet room with all necessary facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

On arrival to the Blenheim I was feeling very unwell. The staff were very considerate and helped with organising our car to be parked as I pretty much left it in the middle of the driveway and staggered to my room. The rooms are fresh & clean with a minimalist style. The beds are very comfortable with pillows in good condition.The bathrooms are small but clean. It suited our visit perfectly.......I needed to lie in bed an rest for 3 days.
I was very pleasantly surprised at how good the Blenheim was for the price especially as it is promoted as a Hostel rather than a hotel. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Blenheim Randwick was clean and comfortable and the newest building in the whole block. Excellent king size bed that had not dips in it and pillows were great too. The room is very small but considering we arrived at 7pm and were gone by 7am the next morning that was fine.
Our room faced the front of the buidling on High Street. This road is a little busy of an evening but did not worry us during the night. The only noise we heard was a child outside the Sydney Childrens Hospital crying because they didn't want to have to go back in. This was at 2am and then 5.30am. Bit annoying but considering the distress of the sick child I rather felt sorry for the parents with the child and for the other patients on the ward they were staying on.
The Blenheim is directly across the road from the main enterance to the hospital and this was the only noise heard from it.
We were told that parking would be available for our vehicle overnight but on arrival there are only 3 parking places and you cannot reserve one for your vehicle. Its first in gets it and I think friends of permanant residents use the spaces too. Parking in the front and back street was difficult due to the other surrounding appartments lived in by private residents in the area. We did circle the block 3 times till a spot became available. We later noticed a Coles undergound carpark a couple of hundred meters away but not sure if you could park there overnight and if vehicle would be secure.
There are plenty of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main street of Randwick which is only a block away. Alternatively it is a short car, bus or cab ride to Coogee or Bondi.
Reception hours vary so I would recommend you phone them once you have made your booking as they will leave your room key in a coded locked box so you can get access to your room easily. As we checked out before reception opened again they advised us that if we left our room vacated and popped back to check out officially (and settle our account and return room key) once we returned from our appointment at the Prince of Wales Hospital (a block away) that would be fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Blenheim @ Randwick is a great boutique hotel directly accross the road from the Children's hospital. The rooms are compact with everything you need. We have stayed 3 times in the past 6 months - once over 5 nights & 1 night the other occassions. They have a washing machine & dryer on site and a kitchen for all quests to use. Everytime we have stayed they were always clean & tidy.
The reception staff have always been very accommodationg & friendly. We always book through their website to get the best rate.
It is a short 3 min walk to main street with Coles supermarket, cafes etc.
All in all great location if you need to be close to the hospitals.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Blenheim Street are much quiter than rooms facing High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have stayed on several occasions at the Blenheim Randwick (and also the Randwick Lodge) and each time we have found the staff to be more than professional, helpful and pleasant. The Blenheim is very conveniently located opposite the Children's Hospital and is a short walk to many restaurants in Randwick. Yes, the rooms are not large but this is a lodge and as such is excellent value for the price and nearness to Sydney, Bondi Junction and beaches. The bed is very comfortable and the room is clean. This is not a hotel and so one should not except that level of standard as it is more like a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast). We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: There is a lift but some rooms have steps to the room so you need to specify if you have any difficu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I did a great deal of research before booking this hotel. It is fairly close to the Sydney airport, located close to shopping and restaurants, and is clean and comfortable. The price is comparable or better to other hotels near the airport or downtown -- Sydney is just expensive at times, folks!

The best thing was the hotel's response to my request to check in early at 10AM -- they responded "No problem, we'll get the staff to clean the room early so you can check in early." That kind of hospitality is rare to find anywhere these days, and makes this place special.

A few notes: this is not a regular giant hotel. These are converted apartments. The reception area is very small. The hours are limited, something like 8am to 6pm on weekdays with a break from 12-2pm, and very limited on Sundays. If you arrive when the office is closed, a sign directs you to their sister property up the block. This will be a problem if you have a lot of luggage and have to either leave it or haul it all with you another block. I would advise calling the hotel if you are arriving anytime after 6PM to confirm their hours of reception.

The room is not huge, but it is perfectly adequate. The bathroom is the same -- not huge, but perfectly adequate. It was very clean. The air conditioning worked fine. There are three floors, but they do have an elevator to all floors.

I have a room facing High Street that some folks have complained about. The room has blinds that will completely block the light. There is some road noise, but it is not a problem. I am not bothered by noise; if you are more sensitive to noise, then ask for a room that is not facing High Street.

Just keep in mind that this is not an overpriced and overdone Westin or other luxury hotel. It’s an upscale boutique and quite good for the price.

The hotel is located in Randwick, only 3.4 miles from the airport, and close to Coogee Beach. A taxi will cost $25 to $30, according to the hotel. I found a shuttle called Eastern Suburbs Shuttle to take me to this hotel for $20. Few airport shuttles service the Eastern suburbs.

I was very impressed with the location and the hotel itself, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blenheim Randwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Randwick

Address: 26 Blenheim Street | (Main entrance High Street), Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blenheim Randwick 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Hotel! Modern, sophisticated, boutique style accommodation in the heart of Randwick. All rooms fitted with the latest technology and private balcony. On-site kitchen and laundry. Lift and stair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blenheim Randwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blenheim Randwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.