We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleasant and so convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Randwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So pleasant and so convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is so comfortable, welcoming and convenient. I, and my Brother, stayed recently . Randwick is convenient for our other Brother, and therefore easy for all of us to visit with our elderly Mother who is in a nursing Home. Our room was vast, and the design, with BiFold doors gave us privacy. I think that this Hotel is great value for money. Have and will stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    38
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
44
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Needing a Randwick location (to attend an event at the University of NSW) we booked this place due to its heritage character. The building itself is very grand, with good sized rooms and helpful staff. However we were also very impressed with the location, right opposite a beautiful park with magnificent trees that really enhance the surrounding heritage properties. Not being familiar with this area, we were amazed to find excellent cafes and restaurants nearby in Alison and Belmore Roads, as well as the fantastic cluster of stylish eateries near the Ritz Cinema in a district called 'The Spot' , just 15 minutes walk away. Transport options are plentiful and easy to use. Buses to Circular Quay, Coogee Beach and Bondi Junction are available just around the corner from the hotel. Its also just 15 minutes by taxi from the Airport. Now that we know how comfortable, convenient and interesting this place is, we will be keen to stay here again next time we are in Sydney.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallala, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I booked a 2 bedroom room for the 1 night as we were coming over from South Australia for the yearling sales.We found our room clean,spacious and quiet.There are no meals or drinks here so nearby there are more than enough shops of all varieties to satisfy most people as well as a very good pub less than a 5 minute walk.The hotel is a very beautiful old building that sits across from a large spacious park.The gentleman at the reception who I can't remember his name was extremely helpful with all our needs.A very pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure our room did this place any favours...the family room near reception was very noisy. The room was comfortable, functional and spacious. Reception service on the weekend was a little odd...the guy gave the impression he was just minding the shop. Location was good for us...close to UNSW for visiting daughter. No real complaints...just nothing special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Easy to get to by bus or by car. On a quiet avenue. Hotel from outside looks lovely. The room we had was nice, small but quite adequate. Very quiet which was great as just off the plane from the UK and needed to sleep. Owner allowed early check in and he was quite friendly. Bed comfortable and room clean. Would recommend

Room Tip: We had a room (7) at the back on ground floor. No traffic noises, no sounds from other guests - gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Needing to visit Randwick Children's hospital with our seven year old, (nothing serious) we needed somewhere close and affordable.
I found Avonmore on the net, it reviewed well, looked appealing and fulfilled all our needs before we had even arrived.
Arriving and having George (owner/manager) meet us at the back door (parking) we were made feel very welcome. From maps to suggestions for meals, to parking our car, George did it all. His level of service was impeccable. The units are turn of the century terraces of a very high standard, incredibly quiet and very convenient to the hospital (10 min walk), the local shopping strip and public transport into the city. A park with playground is conveniently across the road. I can't recommend Avonmore highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of motel would offer pleasant park views. All rooms would be very quiet given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed in the Avonmore in difficult circumstances, needing an Eastern Suburbs hotel for myself and my mature-aged parents for a funeral. The Avonmore was a great find - the owner was assidious in assisting with the booking, ensconcing my parents, who have limited mobility, in the heritage suite on the ground floor, and my partner and I nearby. My parents room was perfect, airy and spacious with a comfortable sitting area we could all use to chat, and real lovely character. While at the front, the house layout made it very quiet in the sleeping area. Our room was quiet and spacious, in the modern area at the back, with a very large bathroom and all the mod cons you'd expect. The nature of the renovation means the rooms layout is not standard hotel-room suite, and this adds character. Service was just what we needed in the circumstances - helpful with everything from parking to paying, without being obtrusive in the slightest.
Definitely splurge on the more expensive heritage rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#3 of 15 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Randwick Lodge
Randwick Lodge
#10 of 15 in Randwick
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
3.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel comprises 30 rooms and suites. 23 Elegant rooms (including two with disabled amenities), offering private bathroom facilities, LCD HD television, kitchenette, ceiling fan and heating. In addition, our newly renovated north wing now offers 7 fully air conditioned queen & king bed suites. These rooms also feature a private bathroom, work desk, flat screen tv and a host of modern comforts. Reception is open 24 hours on Fridays & Saturdays and from 7am to 11pm all other days offering taxi bookings, local maps, directions and general information. FREE Wireless internet connection, limited convenience items (drinks, chips, nuts) and fax facilities are available for purchase from Reception. There are laundry facilities (coin operated) on the premises or a dry cleaning service is available within a short walk.Centrally located in historic Randwick, Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel is a luxurious fully restored, three storey late Victorian mansion. Originally built in 1888 by John Walsh, Avonmore boasts a permanent heritage listing and is reputed to be one of the largest terraces in Sydney. With the building just a stone's throw from the peaceful, tree-lined Alison Park, your stay with us is sure to leave you relaxed and satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.