We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perouse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Perouse Lodge to your Saves list
Perouse Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6 Perouse Road, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Good room, clean, comfortable bed, great location (if you need to work at Prince of Wales Hospital),lots of variety for meals and good coffee at your doorstep. We will stay here again when the need arises.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was good, quiet; and it was good to get one of the few parking spots out the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    65
    73
    19
    11
See reviews for
38
48
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times now & really like the location and value facets of the property. It is very close to both the UNSW and Coogee beach as well as a vast plethora of dining options. Due to its supurb value, I now stay here even when I have business in the CBD as the bus outside the lodge runs into town in just 20 mins and i can retreat to the beaches for the evening. It is accessible by bus from the airport for only $4 or so- which is cheaper than the train into the city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good location with great array of Restaurants two minutes walk up the road or 10 minute walk down to Coogee Bay. Rooms are basic but were clean and tidy. Also excellent if you are able to grab one of the few parks out the back - it is just luck of the draw for these! The bus stop is also straight out the door. This was our second stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Met our need perfectly. Small but very adequate rooms; clean; not noisy; helpful staff; cooking facility and coin operated washing machine downstairs; easy access by bus and walking distance to hospital and university, restaurants and supermarket. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a lower ground floor room.Large bed and very clean.Not for anyone with mobility problems or poor vision.Steep stairs and many steps including two steep stairs up to bathroom. Difficult to access with luggage other than a small bag. I actually fell down one step, twisting my ankle and hitting my head on the brick wall,then reported it to reception. No action taken, Meals at The Royal Randwick hotel next door are very good.

Room Tip: Avoid this place unless you have only little luggage and are physically fit.. The room was good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I had a small double room at the back (with the emphasis on small!) yet surprisingly quiet and convenient, comfortable bed, no cooking facities apart from kettle etc but with good restaurants within easy walking distance. Only limited parking is available on first come first served basis. Reasonable value, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed five nights. The room was clean and comfortable and check-in was efficient. No lift so had to lug my baggage up the stairs. Could be a problem for some. Beds were not made up and towels changed once in every two days. Coffee and tea facilities provided but were not replenished.

Coffee shop downstairs provided good meals but the owners seemed to have a mind of their own and were definitely not customer-centric. walked in at 3:45 for a coffee and told I could not be served as they were closing at 4pm. Go figure it.

Supposedly opened at 7am for breakfast but we were hanging around until 7:15 before someone turned up. Could do a lot better business but guess they are not too worried.

Would I stay there again? Yes, but I would take my own coffee.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Address: 6 Perouse Road, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perouse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge. UNSW (University of NSW) is also close by.Walk to Prince of Wales Hospital.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of the busy traveller. With Spot Espresso Cafe located opposite the lobby, your business or leisure trip could not be more convenient as they serve up delicious breakfast and lunch daily.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food nearby. With fabulous facilities and a great location, Perouse Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.