We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Perouse Lodge to your Saves list
Perouse Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6 Perouse Road, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Robina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed five nights. The room was clean and comfortable and check-in was efficient. No lift so had to lug my baggage up the stairs. Could be a problem for some. Beds were not made up and towels changed once in every two days. Coffee and tea facilities provided but were not replenished.

Coffee shop downstairs provided good meals but the owners seemed to have a mind of their own and were definitely not customer-centric. walked in at 3:45 for a coffee and told I could not be served as they were closing at 4pm. Go figure it.

Supposedly opened at 7am for breakfast but we were hanging around until 7:15 before someone turned up. Could do a lot better business but guess they are not too worried.

Would I stay there again? Yes, but I would take my own coffee.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    66
    74
    20
    14
See reviews for
39
50
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for just one night , but it was clean , comfortable and good value.
We needed to be close to family in Maroubra and this was the best option. Room was small but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and recently renovated. Front door was a bit hard to open .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Is situated close to POW hospital, UNSW and Coogee Beach. I arrived in Sydney late and they have a coded locked box at front door to allow access to door key. Bus stop virtually outside front door. Communal kitchen with laundry is basic but I didn't require those.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're pleased to hear you found the room comfortable and good value, as well as the location being convenient for you.

Thank you for providing us with your comments, they help us as well as future travellers to make decisions. We're really glad you took the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room was basic but comfortable and good value for what I was looking for: somewhere within easy walking distance of the University, with plenty of eating places to choose from in Randwick and good bus connections nearby. Note that the reception closes at 7:00 pm, so if you are.arriving later than that you need to make arrangements for a key.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're pleased to hear you found the room comfortable and good value, as well as the location being convenient for you. You're quite right, arrangements do need to be made to collect your keys after hours, however most guests always give us a call to let us know they're arriving after 7pm, as requested on the booking confirmation.

Thank you for providing us with your comments, they help us as well as future travellers to make decisions. We're really glad you took the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Can't find anything good to say about this place. Poor quality beds, cramped rooms, bad smell, awful service, over priced. They are currently renovating the place (July 2013) which they conveniently forget to mention anywhere. They are not interesting in providing you with a good night sleep, but rather take money of you to pay for their renovation. They're better off investing their money in better quality beds to start with, which are a back breaker. Fortunately the hospital is close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
There is no renovation at Perouse Lodge, they must mean somwhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinonee, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

this place is ideally located for many things, in my case a daughter attending UNSW, and it delivers on many levels. Its cheap ( by standards of this part of sydney), its basic but clean and well equipped, and the service is excellent. I decided to have a shower after a long drive that day and quickly found that the floor drain was blocked and the water would have eventually run over into the room. I informed the office, who rang the housekeeping who nearly beat me back to my room. they then informed the maintenance man who attended, identified and fixed the problem and was gone. All done with courtesy and efficiency and finished inside half an hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're happy to hear you found the location of Perouse Lodge convenient. Also, sorry to hear there was an issue with your drain, although it's great to hear it was fixed very quickly and efficiently. We love it when we get it right!

Thank you for providing us with your comments, they help us as well as future travellers to make decisions. We're really glad you took the time to review us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in room 214. It was upstairs and at the front of the building, but that was not a problem. We slept well and the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean although it did have a broken window which I reported. However there was a very odd musty smell about the room and on going to use the bench, discovered why. The carpet in the corner was saturated and this had travelled half way down the bed space. So anytime you stood on the carpet near the table you got wet feet. I reported the carpet to the receptionist and someone put a fan in the room on the carpet to dry it. However on a cold wet day in Sydney it was more than useless. I had to request additional towels to place on the floor to sop up the moisture. It helped but did not help the samp musty smell. The receptionist did not seem all that interested. I filled in a review form, but I doubt it would see the light of day as I handed it to the not very helpful receptionist. I don't think we were given a master room as it was very small. But was not game to say anything to the girl. We will try another Sydney lodge next time we stay to see if they are any different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Perouse Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Perouse Lodge.

Sorry there was a smell issue during your stay. We're currently working on fixing this problem. We apologise that this detracted from your stay.

We hope you will consider Sydney Lodges again in the future and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Perouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perouse Lodge

Address: 6 Perouse Road, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perouse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Perouse Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge. UNSW (University of NSW) is also close by.Walk to Prince of Wales Hospital.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of the busy traveller. With Spot Espresso Cafe located opposite the lobby, your business or leisure trip could not be more convenient as they serve up delicious breakfast and lunch daily.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food nearby. With fabulous facilities and a great location, Perouse Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Perouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perouse Hotel Randwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.