We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a family!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lane Cove River Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Ryde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lane Cove River Tourist Park
Save
You added Lane Cove River Tourist Park to your Saves list
Plassey Road | Macquarie Park, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place for a family!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in a cabin at Lane Cove for a week. We have three children so was hard to fins reasonably priced accommodation close to the city. The train was a 10 minute walk up the road and only a 20 minute ride to the city. Lovely and peaceful, plenty of room for the kids to run around as well the pool. The cabin was older bit well maintained. Bathroom could have been bit cleaner but I'm fussy when it comes to bathrooms. Skylight needed a good clean, no other natural light in the bathroom. Good sized fridge and oven, a huge advantage with kids. Lovely park with LOTS of trees and grass, not overly manicure but well looked after. Was busy but because of the way the park is set out you didn't notice. Plenty of laundry facilities and hanging space. Grocery facilities close by. Terrific spot to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    48
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coopernook, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights on a powered site with our caravan. Very well positioned park, close to supermarket, fuel and a new clean and what we found to be a safe train station which makes getting into Sydney very easy. Park was clean and tidy, ammenities arent brand new but still, we had no complaints. Usual pool, tv room etc. Staff friendliness were satisfactory. Park is run by National Park Officers. Lots of wildlife in park which really gives it a back to nature feel. No road noise. The only problem was that we didnt get a very clear tv reception in our caravan, that isnt the parks fault it may just be us tuning in our new tv properly. We look forward to staying here again very soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in lane cove caravan park at the start of our 12 month round the country trip. It is a good location for getting around Sydney, & is definitely the best location when compared to any of Sydney's other camp sites. The train station or bus stop is a short walk away, & are 1 stop from chatswood (for all shopping needs) & only a few stops from Sydney city centre.

There is very little of any interest within walking distance of the park, so public transport or a car will be necessary to see anything worthwhile of Sydney.

The park has 2 camp kitchens & plenty of amenities blocks, and a pool as well as the usual tv room & Internet room. All shared facilities were kept wonderfully clean, & the grounds were always tidy & well kept.

If camping or caravanning, this is the only place I would consider staying in Sydney, due to its location, cleanliness & value for money. The only complaint I have is how unfriendly &, in fact, rude some of the women on the front desk are. 2 ladies in particular seemed annoyed on any occasion I was forced to approach them (which was not frequently & never for anything unusual or demanding), & 1 even approached us on site, accusing us of not paying & being on the wrong spot! The reason we were on a different spot to what WE had originally asked for, was because THEY double booked us on the day we arrived, & therefore had to move us. As a result of their error, we lost out on a concrete slab, not that we complained - but maybe we should have. They obviously didn't update their systems accordingly, & then very rudely brought the problem to our door, without asking any questions (or offering any apologies once the error had been realized) abruptly accusing us of being trespassers! These 2 women had a reputation as other campers knew exactly who we talked of, & each had similar complaints regarding how they had been spoken to. It's a shame, as other than their attitudes, the place has a nice feel to it, & other staff members seem very friendly.

I would return, but like I said, mainly because its a no brainer location wise, & it's clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Traveled around Australia and have never stayed in such a noisey camp site in my life. My stay surprisingly states that we are carbon neutral but don't let that hood wink you in believing this is true as the planes keep on flying past at 2300 feet above your head all day long. My advise is to stay out of Sydney for as long as you can, then get a room somewhere quiet east side of town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent this weekend camping here with family. Had a wonderful time and will definitely return. Bathrooms were always spotless as were the camp kitchens. At night, there is a free tour through the park with a ranger to see wildlife. Definately a must if you go as both kids and adults will enjoy it. Yes there are planes going over, but it didn't affect our time at all. Customer service was great and all questions were answered in a friendly manner. Next door, you can hire boats and bikes to go exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to this park for the last 3 Easters, it is great for young children. It is very handy to the city a short walk down the road and you have the bus and train to the city, or where ever you want. We have been to royal Easter show from there on the bus. This park is clean and full of wild life. Really nice cabins, great camping, can't fault the place we will return and recommend any one who wants to experience the city without the hustle and bustle this is for you, great rates, not city rates.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, in our campervan, back in 2011.

We found the pitches to be good, with excellent amenities, good wifi and a large laundrette.

The park is near to a train station to get you into Sydney, and a shopping complex/cinema just up the road.

Great wildlife and birds. I managed to have a flock of some crazy multicoloured birds land on me and steal bread from me one morning. Scary but amazing in equal amounts.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
BIG4 Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park Narrabeen
0.4 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#5 of 6 in North Ryde
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane Cove River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane Cove River Tourist Park

Address: Plassey Road | Macquarie Park, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 12kms from the Sydney CBD, the award winning Lane Cove River Tourist Park is the perfect destination for your next visit to Sydney. The park has everything for your city adventure including 1 and 2 bedroom ensuite cabins and sites for caravans, motorhomes, tents, campertrailers and campervans. We are just a 10 minute stroll to the North Ryde railway station and bus stops. Convenient and regular, the public transport options provide easy access to the city centre. Lane cove River Tourist Park overlooks the vast Lane Cove National Park withh rowboat and canoe hire, picnic spots and 40 kms of bushland trails to cycle or explore. Stay near the city, yet feel like you are miles away at Lane Cove River Tourist Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lane Cove River Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.