We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde to your Saves list
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-11 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Albion Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is nice as it is quite modern and looks fairly new. The rooms are good size and have good amenities. The restaurant is good and it needs to be as there is not much else around. It's just a bit far out from the city so the train can take about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    150
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
78
56
21
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with family for my brother to run the City to Surf. Free parking, free wifi and free breakfast. We loved the midday check out! And they extended it so my brother could shower after finishing the run. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Modern hotel. Clean and tidy rooms. Close to the train station so getting into the city is easy.

Only thing I disliked was the frosted glass between the bathroom and bedroom because when the light was on in the bathroom it lit up the whole bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend at this hotel and found it to live up to its usual high standards. The staff were very polite and attentive. They provided us champagne on arrival (Friday & Saturday only) and provided our four year old son with lollipops. The breakfast was great and the restaurant provides differing levels of breakfast , (ie continental or buffet) which can work out much cheaper than other hotels. We enjoyed a special buffet dinner at the hotel on Saturday night for $25 per person. The meal was excellent. The hotel is conveniently located in north ryde, close to the train station, with KFC McDonald's, Malaysia and Thai restaurants right accord the road and the very large Macquarie shopping centre a very short drive away (walking distance for the energetic). Too top it all off the hotel is always excellent value for money. This was our fourth stay at this hotel and we can't fault it. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your 3rd great comment in last 12 months. It is comments like yours which keep us motivated and enthusiastic about our high level of service.

Thank you for your loyalty and business.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Forget getting any food during the day at the weekend. Obviously a cost cutting exercise. There is no room service and the restaurant is closed between breakfast and dinner, despite the fact that their in-house information shows that it is available. We were told in no uncertain terms that we could cross the busy road in front of the hotel and go to McDonalds or KFC or we could either drive to the shopping center or they would get us a taxi to do so. Not what we wanted to hear with an elderly person in our group who gets around with a walking frame particularly as we had no idea what was likely to be available. Fortunately another guest overheard the exchange and told us they had ordered a pizza. Somewhat reluctantly the staff printed us a copy of the pizza menu and we ordered one (incidentally very nice). When we pointed out that their in-house information said they had only changed 3 weeks ago and would get around to altering the information. Great caring service? I don't think so! If they needed to cut this service surely they could have taken the trouble to tell guests - there was no notice anywhere - and made a list of available food outlets and what they were likely to be able to provide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences for your stay at Courtyard North Ryde.
We certainly appreciate the business of all our guests and in particular the loyalty our Marriott Rewards Members’ show towards our hotel brands. After reading your feedback I would like to take the opportunity to offer my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you encountered. We strive to ensure the complete comfort and satisfaction of all our guests, and pride ourselves of our high standards of service and attention to detail. It is always our purpose to ensure that every guest receives the true “Marriott” experience and I am sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met.
I have taken the liberty to share your feedback with our General manager and Operations Manager who I shall work with to ensure that all the compendium in our guest rooms have updated information and are accurate. Our restaurant timings on the weekends (Saturday and Sunday) are as follows:
Breakfast: 07:00-10:00 Hrs
Lunch: Restaurant and Room Service is closed
Bar: 17:00 – 22:30 Hrs
Dinner: 18:00-21:30 Hrs
I completely understand that this is far from convenient to walk across the road with an elderly family member and very pleased you brought this matter to my attention. I would also use your feedback to retrain our associate on the importance of assisting guest in the efficient and pleasant manner.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you
Warm Regards
Sudhir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Came to Sydney for tourism and with my hotel points we could stay at this Curtyard for free for 5 days. We were a bit nervous because it is far outside of the city but to our surprise the hotel is only a 3 minute walk to the metro which will take you directly downtown. We were very pleased with the hotels value and location. The hugest downside was that my husband and I were checking out to head to the airport and planned our timing perfectly for us to eat in the hotel's restaurant before making the long journey to the airport. To our disappointment after checking out we were told that the restaurant was closed on the weekends (for lunch and possibly other meals) and that there was no room service. They told us about other restaurants in the area but we did not want to lug our bags around looking for food. Eventually they agreeded to order pizza for us and we ate it in the lobby. While waiting on our pizza another couple and an elderly woman also came down for lunch. They too were told that the restaurant was closed on the weekends and they they too could venture out to find food. I couldn't believe that they told this family to do this because the elderly woman was in a walker and was having problems getting around. They got very upset and went back to their rooms hungry. This hotel really should address this... It isn't right to not have food for your guests especially since there aren't many food options around the hotel. No excuses! Fail!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cathie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

2 Large families travelling to the soccer and we had 3 rooms. They were spacious and clean. Check in staff were brilliant. We were offered an excellent breakfast deal which we took up. The breakfast was delicious and varied.My only complaint was the lack of parking. We had to park outside in between 2 bollards. Perhaps a 'parking full' sign would have alleviated the frustration felt by the many cars circling the car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences for your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott. I am very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our arrival experience and were satisfied with breakfasts and rooms.

I would use your feedback regarding the car park to retrain our associates. It is only through such feedback we can improve the quality of service we provide.

Thank you very much again for staying with us and I look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Sudhir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights and the manager on check-in was great as there weren't any visible parking spots and he came outside to remove a bollard so we could park. Parking was also free for both nights. We had a corner room on the 7th floor on the opposite side to the main road so there was no road noise. However, the service at breakfast on the Saturday morning was very bad. Firstly, we were told to take a seat near the bar while they found us a table - there appeared to be several long tables set up which they were reluctant to split for some reason. Then we were offered a table outside! I declined this as it was 7.30am and freezing outside. The buffet breakfast was poor - everything was cold so I don't think their bain maries were working. However, we had breakfast on the Sunday morning and the food was so much better, along with the service. We also had dinner at the same restaurant as part of a group on the Saturday night and the food was great. In regard to the room, the bed was comfortable and the room very clean but the bathroom was extremely poorly designed. The doors opened on to eachother and if you were a large person (thank god I'm not) you may have struggled to use the toilet. Maybe it was just the design of our corner room but it was very frustrating and 2 people couldn't use the bathroom at the same time. Overall, there were good and not so great aspects of this hotel but as it was close to a conference at the MGSM, it was just a short drive down the road which was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the opposite side to the main road, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Address: 7-11 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location: The Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde boasts the best, with a perfect position within Macquarie Business Park. Book your stay for business or pleasure and enjoy our hotel's winning blend of convenience, value and service. You'll find international businesses, Macquarie University, ANZ Stadium, Allphones Arena and area attractions within prime proximity to our North Ryde Sydney hotel. Enter our lushly appointed guest rooms, and leave behind any travel stress. Amenities include individual climate control, in-room safes, mini-bars and Wi-Fi access. Unwind or recharge in our 24-hour fitness center, and stay in touch with the main office at our full-service business centre. Treat colleagues to a meal or cocktail at Orchards Restaurant or Orchards Bar. Plus, our array of eight meeting rooms with 2,400 sq. Ft. Of conference space, talented staff and catering services promise to execute your event in style. Book your stay at one of the best-appointed North Ryde hotels online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sydney -North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Courtyard North Ryde
North Ryde Courtyard
Courtyard Sydney North Ryde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.