We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous and efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-11 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in North Ryde
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Courteous and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed on my Marriott points which was good value in comparison to what I'd get in most major cities. The room looked new, it was clean fresh and the bathroom facilities were first class. The only thing which let them down was their restaurant. I ordered a steak for dinner and it was tasteless and bland. The server was indifferent to the fact that I left it uneaten on my plate. So that's why I have deducted a green dot. There are plenty of other food choices in the vicinity. The hotel is only one block away from Macquarie Park Metro Station and is convenient for Macquarie University and Shopping Centre. Parking is available for a fee.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front face a highway but double glazing prevents most noise apart from police sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    125
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
47
20
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent location to visit with family and friends on the north shore of Sydney. Hotel setup for business people, large desk in room, but still plenty of room. Easy walk to Macquarie Centre. Check in and out was very efficient. Carparking complimentary on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during Christmas holidays. A very comfortable hotel, clean and good customer service. The breakfast was really delicious. The location is more suitable for business visitors due to the proximity to a number of companies in the North Ryde/Macquarie Park area but for those visiting for pleasure, the train station and access to city is pretty convenient too. Will return to this hotel if I visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Chose the location as it was near a business conference location. What a mistake!! On check in "Amy" told us that there were no room upgrades available for two double beds. Ok, I understand this, even though it did not appear that the hotel was anywhere near full. However, she could upgrade me to a Loft Suite, Parking and internet for an extra $90. As a Gold Elite member I am eligible for a free room upgrade, free premium internet and parking at the hotel is also free. $90 was an excessive amount and by the way the loft suite only had one king bed and a pull out sofa bed. We chose to stay in the room that we had originally booked. Also it was disappointing not having the Rewards program honoured. We did get an apple, banana, plum and six grapes (they should not have bothered) sent to our room with a "Welcome Gold Elite Member" card. It's disappointing that they just didn't honour the program in the first instance.

Whilst the rooms are clean they are definitely NOT up to a Marriott standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had a pleasant stay - from 18 April to 22 April 2013 at the loft suite on the 8th floor. Three of us shared the loft suite. I took the lower floor with the sofa bed which was surprisingly very comfortable to sleep on. There is a small toilet on the lower floor. Neat and tidy. The wash basin was a bit small though. As such, water tended to splash onto the floor. A hook onto the toilet door would have been good to hang the shower towels. In the next upgrading programme, the wash basin could be changed to a bigger one. An additional little shower area would be a bonus. Therefore, one would not need to intrude into the privacy of those on the upper floor.
Housekeeping staff - to fold back the sofa bed on the following first morning - responded promptly. Displayed great attitude.
The frontline staff were friendly and helpful too. Though the room rate came with breakfast for two, the frontline staff was kind enough to waive the breakfast charge for the third guest. That was nice indeed.
Dining area was small but cosy. Buffet breakfast spread was reasonable. Serving staff were prompt and attentive. Once I ordered cappuccino. Not very sure though whether it was inclusive in the room rate as the self-service coffee machine was out of order on that morning. If you wish to have eggs with additional condiments like ham, tomatoes, mushrooms etc, there will be an extra charge of AUS $10 I was told.
Location wise, the Macquarie Park Station was just 5-7 minutes walk from the hotel. By CityRail, it takes about 20-25 minutes to go downtown. There is a Macdonald and KFC across the hotel. Did not get the chance to check them out though.
Overall, it is a great hotel if you have to stay outside the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I really went back and forth on what ranking to give this hotel 4/5 or 5/5. I finally settled on 4/5 because of a few small issues, but this could easily be an Excellent 5/5.

The hotel is in a great location, driving around I saw many different multi-national corporations that seem to be headquartered in the area, my company was located up the road in Belrose, but still an easy commute against traffic. It is conveniently located near the highway for driving into the CBD, and I saw subway stations on the nearby corner as well. Also, just around the corner is the Macquarie Centre which is a good shopping centre with many different food options and a very confusing layout so it feels like a different place every visit!

The service in the hotel was very good, check in and check out was quick, friendly and efficient.

The internet service provided came in two choices complimentary and premium. As a rewards member I get complimentary internet access in the Asia Pacific region, and I was confused about which I could select and get for free. I used the basic complimentary and that worked fine, I could stream videos, although i couldn't use FaceTime or Skype on my phone.

I did find the breakfast to be a bit of a limited selection for 35AUD, and ate breakfast at the McDonald's across the street for much cheaper. Also the TV Channel selection was slightly limited on international channel selections. But both of these issues are minor and not a reason not to stay.

Overall I would absolutely recommend this place. The location is convenient, the rooms are clean, and the service is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott North Ryde. I am glad you enjoyed our product and services.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments about the limited channels on TV with our Engineering Supervisor and General Manager; it is only through such feedback that we are able to improve the services and facilities we provide.

I would also take this opportunity to inform that our breakfast has four options:
1. Grab and Go Breakfast for $7.5 (Choice of a small coffee and Danish pastry or egg and bacon roll or fruit and yoghurt)
2. Cereal buffet Breakfast for $14
3. Continental Breakfast for $22
4. Full hot buffet Breakfast for $29

Once again we thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards

Sudhir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff really make this hotel a great place to stay. It is a favourite now, having stayed at least six times in eighteen months. The staff welcome us each time, now by name, and are friendly yet very professional.

We stayed in a Loft Suite this time, and it is really worth the extra cost. The room is large and the upstairs area with the king bed, chaise lounge and TV is a great retreat, particularly with the ensuite and dressing room on the same level. The powder room next o the lounge room is also fantastic, and I was told the sofa bed was great to sleep on.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and had two evening meals in the restaurant. The food is simple but delicious and the wait staff were fantastic.

This is still a great bargain over the weekends and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to stay in the CBD but close enough by public transport or not far at all by car as long as you're not driving around during peak hour.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter. Loft suites are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Address: 7-11 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location: The Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde boasts the best, with a perfect position within Macquarie Business Park. Book your stay for business or pleasure and enjoy our hotel's winning blend of convenience, value and service. You'll find international businesses, Macquarie University, ANZ Stadium, Allphones Arena and area attractions within prime proximity to our North Ryde Sydney hotel. Enter our lushly appointed guest rooms, and leave behind any travel stress. Amenities include individual climate control, in-room safes, mini-bars and Wi-Fi access. Unwind or recharge in our 24-hour fitness center, and stay in touch with the main office at our full-service business centre. Treat colleagues to a meal or cocktail at Orchards Restaurant or Orchards Bar. Plus, our array of eight meeting rooms with 2,400 sq. Ft. Of conference space, talented staff and catering services promise to execute your event in style. Book your stay at one of the best-appointed North Ryde hotels online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sydney -North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Courtyard North Ryde
North Ryde Courtyard
Courtyard Sydney North Ryde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.