We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Convenient Place To Stay"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde to your Saves list
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Bathurst
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“" A Convenient Place To Stay"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I decided to stay at the Travelodge Macquarie for 2 nights, as my husband had surgery at the Macquarie University Hospital. What I didn't know was just how close the hotel was to the hospital. It was literally across the road, wonderful considering that I had to walk from the hospital to the hotel at night, & on my own. The room was fairly small, but spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom, which often is not the case. There was a small fridge, microwave & a sink with a sachet of dishwashing liquid & teatowel etc. The young man who checked my husband & I was very friendly & also the young man who checked myself out was also very curtious. My only complaint was the young lady, who had an extremely brusque manner. When I enquired where a restaurant was situated on the uni grounds was, she said to go out the door & follow the path. Well, after walking around the grounds for 10 mins or so, I asked 2 students, & they kindly showed the way. This happened a few times when I had dealings with her. The breakfast was the usual hotel fare, no surprises there.Again, attention to cleaning was also obvious. As soon as the patrons had left the tables, there were staff cleaning them. Would I stay there again? Definately, It's not far from the city, easy access to shopping centres, train station, very quiet at night & most of all, has attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Barsha55,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for also leaving your comments.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were very conveniently located by the hospital for you.
I am also pleased to hear that the housekeeping and breakfast team exceeded your expectations with our attention to detail, as I will certainly pass these comments on to the team!
I am however sorry to hear that not all the front office team provided you with exceptional customer service, as this is not the usual standard and what I except from my team, so thank you for providing that valuable feedback.
Barsha55, we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie during your next visit to Sydney.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    192
    106
    27
    17
See reviews for
100
65
55
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here recently for four nights while attending a conference at Macquarie University, with mixed expectations given some of the recent reviews. Overall, I found the accommodation perfectly satisfactory for my purpose, apart from the extortionate charges for wifi access: $10 for an hour or $20 for 24 hours! The rooms were a decent size, had all the standard appointments, and - important for conference guests - had adequate natural and artificial lighting to work by. The buffet breakfasts were adequate, though not particularly good value for $18. The hotel is situated 600 metres from the new Macquarie University railway station, with a frequent service to Central Station and from there to the airport. It's an uphill walk from the station to the motel, but doable providing your luggage is not too heavy. I would stay there again if I had business at the university or hospital, but probably not otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Geogger,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for also leaving your comments.
As you mentioned, the property is well positioned for those requiring accommodation close to Macquarie University and hospital and only a short walk to public transport into the city.
Thank you for also providing your feedback regarding the internet, unfortunately we are unable to dictate the pricing for the internet, as this provided by a third party. I will however pass on your comments to the internet provider we use regarding the pricing structure. Another option that we do have for the internet is the internet kiosk terminals that we have in the reception foyer, which is relatively cheaper than the Wifi access in the public areas and guest rooms.
Geogger, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, when you next require accommodation in the area.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is quite good, situated in the grounds of a university. Rooms are modern. so no complaints there. the car parking however is to us, not good value, $7.50 per night to park in the open, exposed to wind, sun & rain. worse there's no security, the cctv is @ the boom gates, but elsewhere cars are left exposed. Our advice when booking in & out, leave your bags in the lobby walk the 3-4 minutes to the car & bring the car to the front entrance. On the plus side it's not far to
buses & trains & an excellent shopping centre, with cinemas, giant food hall, ice rink etc.

Room Tip: Our room was on the nth side, where the motorway is being widened, I thought noise but the 2 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear sebastiansordo,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
In relations to your comments regarding the car parking, we have found the price of the car parking quite competitive within the area, as the street side parking is $10.00 minimum, as is the car parking at the Macquarie University Hospital. And please be rest assured that the CCTV within the property does also overlook the whole car park.
The property is in an ideal location for business or leisure, with is proximity to the business park, university, hospital, public transport, as well as the Macquarie shopping centre that you mentioned – all within walking distance!
Sebastiansordo, thank you again for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

avoid it
the facilities provided are less than basic
shower didn't work, no hot water , iron didn't work, No Toiletries, entertainment options on TV are stone age

Some of the Staff is not very helpful as well ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear isoly2,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for leaving your comments regarding your stay.
I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and surprised by your comments, as standard we offer a full range of amenities for each guest room, and as for the the entertainment options, these are provided through Movielink (third party provider) and they are actually movies that have not yet been released to the public market.
Isoly2, if you do chose to stay with us in the future, and have concerns regarding the service, facilities or a maintenance issue that needs to be addressed; please feel free to raise this with the team on reception as we are available 24 hours and would be happy to assist.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

good points=close to macquarie uni hospital,rooms good size
bad points=ask for room not above breakfast area otherwise you get woken up by people talking outside on the patio and get their smoke in your room, and currently not easy to find due to roadworks and lack of signage

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear 557jill557,

Thank you for staying at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments regarding your stay.

I am glad to hear that you liked our rooms, and yes, we are indeed very close to the hospital, in fact only 200 meters so it is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the hospital.

In regards to the bad points, I agree that at times excessive noise can travel from the outdoor patio dining area up to the rooms above, which of course is one ‘cons’ of having a hotel with opening windows, however in future, please feel free to contact the team on reception if the noise becomes unbearable .

Regarding the directional signage, there is currently roadwork's on the M2, which interrupts the traffic flow around the entries and exits. We have signage on Talavera road as well as on Research park drive however with the hospital being built in front of the hotel, visibility is reduced in areas so we are currently working with the local council to have more directional signage erected to alleviate future directional issues .If you are using a GPS, inputting Macquarie Park as the suburb helps, and of course we have our friendly team on hand to assist with directions if need be.

557jill557, thank you again for your feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very clean and modern, rooms were a decent size and staff were always friendly and helpful. We have stayed in a few places in Sydney over the years and i can say this one was the best by far! Hotel is in a very convienant location as we had to see a specialist at the Macquarie Uni which is literally less then a 5 min walk from hotel. Hotel is about a 10 min walk to the train station and only a 5 to 10 min walk to the Macquarie shopping centre. We ate the buffet breakfast 2 of the mornings we were there which was not to bad but as we liked a slight sleepin we didnt get down there till 9am and by then some of the stuff has been sitting there a little while, i found the bacon a little chewy but other then that it was pretty good. Its also great you can get frozen meals from reception for dinner and heat up in your own room (rooms contain a microwave) the only down side to these meals is the price at $13 each! Also be aware you have to pay for parking at the hotel and its $7.50 a night. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and will stay again if in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Tarz00711,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for leaving your great comments!
Both myself and the team are blown away to hear that we are one of the best hotels you have stayed at in Sydney!
Thank you also for the feedback regarding the breakfast – towards the end of the shift, the food production does slow down a little as it draws closer towards the end of breakfast service, however the team are always happy to cook anything to order, so please feel free to ask.
Tarz00711, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde when you visit Sydney next.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

we enjoyed our stay here
rooms were very clean & comfortable
the staff was friendly & helpful from the moment we stepped inside the motel
i do agree with other reviews that there were some missing extras such as shower cap & refridgerated water
we enjoyed a basic breakfast with the two for one deal if you are an NRMA member, just felt there needed to be fresh fruit on the menu (not fruit salad)
was excellent to have safe car parking for only $7.50 daily

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear minnie Temora,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for providing your review regarding your stay.
At Travelodge, we are always looking for ways to improve the product and services that we offer our guests, therefore we like to encourage feedback as this gives us first-hand information from our guests on things we may have overlooked or even some things that we have just missed out on!
Your feedback is a classic example on some constructive feedback which we can now review to see if we can implement fresh fruit, rather than a fresh fruit salad, and add in the little extras like shower caps and water.
Minnie Temora, thank you again for this feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
9.1 mi away
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#86 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 2,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Blacktown
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Bankstown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde

Address: 81 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Travelodge North Ryde
Travel Lodge North Ryde
North Ryde Travel Lodge
North Ryde Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.