We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if you need to be close to macquarie uni/hospital” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde to your Saves list
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“good if you need to be close to macquarie uni/hospital”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

good points=close to macquarie uni hospital,rooms good size
bad points=ask for room not above breakfast area otherwise you get woken up by people talking outside on the patio and get their smoke in your room, and currently not easy to find due to roadworks and lack of signage

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear 557jill557,

Thank you for staying at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments regarding your stay.

I am glad to hear that you liked our rooms, and yes, we are indeed very close to the hospital, in fact only 200 meters so it is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the hospital.

In regards to the bad points, I agree that at times excessive noise can travel from the outdoor patio dining area up to the rooms above, which of course is one ‘cons’ of having a hotel with opening windows, however in future, please feel free to contact the team on reception if the noise becomes unbearable .

Regarding the directional signage, there is currently roadwork's on the M2, which interrupts the traffic flow around the entries and exits. We have signage on Talavera road as well as on Research park drive however with the hospital being built in front of the hotel, visibility is reduced in areas so we are currently working with the local council to have more directional signage erected to alleviate future directional issues .If you are using a GPS, inputting Macquarie Park as the suburb helps, and of course we have our friendly team on hand to assist with directions if need be.

557jill557, thank you again for your feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    193
    106
    27
    17
See reviews for
101
65
55
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very clean and modern, rooms were a decent size and staff were always friendly and helpful. We have stayed in a few places in Sydney over the years and i can say this one was the best by far! Hotel is in a very convienant location as we had to see a specialist at the Macquarie Uni which is literally less then a 5 min walk from hotel. Hotel is about a 10 min walk to the train station and only a 5 to 10 min walk to the Macquarie shopping centre. We ate the buffet breakfast 2 of the mornings we were there which was not to bad but as we liked a slight sleepin we didnt get down there till 9am and by then some of the stuff has been sitting there a little while, i found the bacon a little chewy but other then that it was pretty good. Its also great you can get frozen meals from reception for dinner and heat up in your own room (rooms contain a microwave) the only down side to these meals is the price at $13 each! Also be aware you have to pay for parking at the hotel and its $7.50 a night. All in all we had an enjoyable stay and will stay again if in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Tarz00711,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for leaving your great comments!
Both myself and the team are blown away to hear that we are one of the best hotels you have stayed at in Sydney!
Thank you also for the feedback regarding the breakfast – towards the end of the shift, the food production does slow down a little as it draws closer towards the end of breakfast service, however the team are always happy to cook anything to order, so please feel free to ask.
Tarz00711, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde when you visit Sydney next.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

we enjoyed our stay here
rooms were very clean & comfortable
the staff was friendly & helpful from the moment we stepped inside the motel
i do agree with other reviews that there were some missing extras such as shower cap & refridgerated water
we enjoyed a basic breakfast with the two for one deal if you are an NRMA member, just felt there needed to be fresh fruit on the menu (not fruit salad)
was excellent to have safe car parking for only $7.50 daily

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear minnie Temora,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie, and for providing your review regarding your stay.
At Travelodge, we are always looking for ways to improve the product and services that we offer our guests, therefore we like to encourage feedback as this gives us first-hand information from our guests on things we may have overlooked or even some things that we have just missed out on!
Your feedback is a classic example on some constructive feedback which we can now review to see if we can implement fresh fruit, rather than a fresh fruit salad, and add in the little extras like shower caps and water.
Minnie Temora, thank you again for this feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel was nice - very comfortable (& they have 6 disabled rooms, which was great, because we were able to get an accessible bathroom - makes life much easier). In a very good location, easy access to the city, quiet and comfortable.

My only complaint is that it was 185 a night - a similar hotel in the US would have been 80 and include a buffet breakfast (breakfast wasn't included in this hotel, but you could buy it for $18) - but everything is more expensive in Australia, especially hotels and especially Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room & if they can give you free parking (it is free if you book online o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear disabled_jetsetter,
Thank you for staying at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments regarding your stay.
I am glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. As you mentioned Travelodge Macquarie indeed has 6 easy access rooms to cater for needs such as yours and we have received many positive comments regarding the space and lay out!
In regards to the rate and inclusions; I agree, at times Australia is expensive compared to other countries, however we do have many promotions and special offers which you can sign up for on our Travelodge website so it may be best to view the website next time you wish to Travel.
Disabled_jetsetter, thank you again for your comments and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Rooms are fine, modern and clean. Constant dropouts and very slow service for internet, far below the standard expected when paying $10 per hour, I think I could have done everything I took an hour to do because of the speed in 10 minutes on a proper speed connection

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Aussietraveler56,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your stay and on the internet connection.
Our internet service is provided through a third party company, who specialise in IT, therefore this information will be provided to them, to improve the service that they provide to our guests.
Feedback I have received regarding internet in the past is that if you connect through our wireless network, the connection speed will vary depending on how many people are connected at any given time; therefore we have a number of different wireless networks throughout the hotel to try to avoid the congestion. We also provide wired broadband internet which also seems to provide a faster download and upload speed (roughly 3.5mbsp), so that may be an option for the future, as well as our internet kiosks available at reception.
Aussietraveler56, thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Go to Woolies before you arrive as there are no:
Shower caps
Glasses that hold more than about 30ml of liquid
Items in the fridge except those tiny UHT milks (maybe that's what the tiny glasses are for)
Bottled water anywhere on the premises.
Soap that lathers up.

On arrival I was given a booklet that contained assorted menu's for food delivery via a central service - seemed like a great idea as there is no restaurant in house. DO NOT use this option for your dinner unless you want to lose the will to live, several hours of your life, three fruitless phone calls and still have no dinner. The vending machines were about to be changed over or some other long convoluted story about why they didn't even contain water. Apparently they have frozen meals that you can heat up but none sound particularly nice or healthy. There is no list of them or prices etc so who knows?

The room itself was fine, roomy enough, the shower worked well and the aircon etc were all okay. $18 for breakfast but I didn't bother. Basic but clean and tidy, although the daily service barely passed muster. Parking is on-site and reasonable ($7 a day I think?) and the location is handy for the hospital and university as well as the various North Ryde businesses and the Macquarie Shopping Centre is in walking distance (it has a supermarket for all you bottled water and frozen meal needs!). There is no gym on site.

On check-out I was charged an extra $20 for my (pre-paid) room - still not sure what that was all about. Would sugguest somewhere else close by if you have the choice and you like a few creature comforts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear jmowen,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for also leaving your comments.

At Travelodge Macquarie, we like to offer our guests clean, comfortable and most importantly, affordable accommodation without all the ‘bells and whistles’ of a 5 star or full service hotel, therefore there are limited options available for Food & Beverage service. In order to provide some Food & Beverage options to our guests, we offer a several options for our guests through third parties; Mr. Delivery option (which is like room service), easy prepared meals, which are available for sale through reception, or dining in at Lachlan’s restaurant (only 3 minute walk from hotel), where our guest are also able to charge their meals back to their room account.
Jmowen, Thank for your providing the feedback relating to the Mr. Delivery service, as although it is a third party provider, we certainly want to ensure that our guest receive nothing but satisfaction for a service we are recommending.

I can also see from your comments that you stayed with us during the transition of our vending machine, please accept my apologies for the lack of products available during this transition, and you will now be pleased to know that we now have our new vending machine onsite, and it not only supplies drinks and snacks, but also supplies ice creams (already a hit with our guests!!).

Jmowen, I am concerned about the additional $20.00 that you have claimed to be charged which you are unaware on what that cost is for, so if you could please contact the hotel and speak with myself directly, I will be happy to look up this charge for you to see what it is in relation to.

Jmowen, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

A good find. We (2 adults & 1 x 15yr old) stayed here for one night. Room 224 is adjacent to the internal stair and benefits from the layout. A large shower and a king size bed. A large single was brought in to make the numbers. Shower equipped for wheelchair access with rails and seat.

Bed was firm and comfortable. Room faced towards the campus and the rear car park. We left windows open at night for fresh air and there was no traffic noise. Yay!

Small kitchen but I really didn't pay attention to it.

Breakfast was standard fare but good.

Parking was extra ($7.50)

I'd stay here again. Worth a try if you are driving. Not sure where nearest transport links are.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear RupertAlgyAndBill,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving you comments.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; and you found the rooms comfortable!
Being in Macquarie Business Park, and on the campus grounds certainly has its benefits - No city traffic noise being one of them!

Just for your future reference, the nearest train link to Travelodge Macquarie is Macquarie University Station, which is conveniently located only 500 metres down the road, and direct links into the city.

RupertAlgyAndBill, thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde on your next visit.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
9.1 mi away
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#86 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 2,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Blacktown
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Bankstown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde

Address: 81 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Travelodge North Ryde
Travel Lodge North Ryde
North Ryde Travelodge
North Ryde Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.