We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fancy hotel in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand North Ryde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Grand North Ryde to your Saves list
Stamford Grand North Ryde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Epping & Herring Roads, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice fancy hotel in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Large well furnished rooms. Great garden and nice and clean swimming pool. Helpful staff at reception. The only complain is that it is in a rather isolated area, close to the Maquaire university but far away from anything else. The Maquaire University Subway station is hiwever at a confortable wlaking distance.

Room Tip: Pool side. They are confortable, quite and with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay in the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our large pool and found our staff friendly and helpful. Again, we appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    98
    46
    31
See reviews for
56
86
17
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Whilst the Grand may once have been, it's a little worn, down at heel and overpriced! Very friendly and helpful staff can't make up for the nasty surprise that they take five days to return your deposit even though the booking was PREPAID! Not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for posting a review.
We have taken on board your constructive comments. We are pleased on the other hand that you found our staff accommodating. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I attended a conference at Macquarie Uni. I stayed in a superior room, which had a bed, a desk a bathroom and a small table. The room was ok as far as rooms go, but small things such as the tv reception was poor, toilet kept on over running, the cleaners did not clean the room till close to 5 pm, and when they finally did, they hung around for another 15 minutes in the bathroom. When I finally thought I finished with them, he came back with a toilet roll. I didn't receive a foot towel for the bathroom either! My room did not have enough tissues, so the next morning I had to hunt down a box. Breakfast was ok...nothing to write home about...pastries were limited, pancakes were from the machine, fruit was crystallised- not fresh...I hear the place is closing down, and I suspect the staff morale is also in shut down mode too.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for posting a review.
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and that you were not sufficiently accommodated by our staff. We are committed to providing the highest level of service and delivery and therefore your comments are of real concern to us and will be followed up with staff. Again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Average hotel facilities, helpful but not very professional staff and a bit pricey. It is all these small things that make a huge difference in the end. This glass of water which never arrives, this extra bit of waiting to be served at the restaurant, this complete lack of any sort of help from the staff even if they can see you struggling to carry 3 pieces of luggage by yourself. I was expecting something better given that it is supposed to be a business hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and that you were not sufficiently accommodated by our staff. We are committed to providing the highest level of service and delivery and therefore your comments are of real concern to us and will be followed up with staff. Again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I would love to have given the Stamford a higher rating. Yes, the room was clean- just, the bed was comfortable-just and there was 24 hour room service and reception. The Stamford Grand used to be one of my favourite places to both stay and eat at however over the last 12 months the service and quality have dropped. If the room was about $99 a night then it would be great and I would be able to give it a higher rating, however charging $210 a night I wanted more.

The staff are polite, however parking is tight, food quality not as it used to be. It doesn't help when their is advertising hiding virtually all the Stamford signage as you come in, showing what the new residential community will look like.

What used to be a Grand hotel is now very poor and with it closing soon I can only guess that most of the staff are getting ready to move.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We are glad you found the room clean and comfortable. We aim to achieve the highest level of customer service therefore your comments are of concern to us and will be followed up with training. Thank you for your valuable feedback and again we apologise you were disappointed with your stay this time however do hope you will afford us the opportunity of creating a better impression by returning to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a 79th Birthday celebration for our mother which was truly diabolical. From the upfront payments two weeks prior to the event and no confirmation to the dirty floors which obviously had not been swept from lunch this was not high tea but afternoon tea held in a low grade cafeteria. The wait staff dropped spoons, slopped tea and were generally unhelpful. Heaven forbid when we asked for a "doggy bag" and was refused point black and given some serviettes to wrap our little cakes in. High tea is normally served in a sitting room, with a restful ambiance; with carpet; sometimes a log fire, in arm chairs surrounding a low table where the food/staff, did not impact on polite conversations. The Stamford at North Ryde has been sold and will close next year, it is quite obvious the management and staff have given up on the art of "serving" their clientele. Poor performance all round by a chain of hotels that I had held in high esteem.

Room Tip: Stay well clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We have taken on board your constructive comments and feedback. We ask that you please contact us to discuss this matter further so we can look into the issues mentioned.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'd really like to rate this hotel higher, the staff are very polite, helpful and competent, the facilities are not that bad, the location is good for business on the south side or with the university and it's reasonable value for money. In fact, against what is generally on offer in Sydney it does ok.

But... yes, as others have said it absolutely needs a refurbishment or replacement. I think it was built in the 70s and it's heyday the 80s. The style of the rooms and the facilities generally, with the exception of the nicely updated bar and lounge area, much of the era and this gives you some benefits and minuses. The rooms, for example, are generously proportioned and reflect a time when building costs and land were cheaper. The expansive water gardens are an interesting change from the norm and the gym seems well equipped and equally well patronised.

Of course, the cost of maintaining the aging and extravagant facilities is showing and the need to keep a reasonable tariff probably reduces the hotel's ability to support it's facilities. The pool side bar, for example, shows signed of disuse, the water gardens are unkempt and there are literally cracks in the building plaster work and corrosion on the metalwork if one chooses to look.

The rooms are a mixed feast of dated but good appointment and thankfully free internet and free parking contrasted against aging decor and beds that are in need of replacement.

But I would not be too quick to dismiss this establishment. Despite it's age and need of refurbishment the staff make all the difference, the management is attentive, the facilities are good if you look past the age and the tariff is very reasonable.

Having experienced other Sydney hotels of the same price range, we would consider the Stamford again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the bar are more peaceful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy C, General Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your constructive feedback and are pleased to read of your overall satisfaction with your stay. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Grand North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand North Ryde

Address: Corner Epping & Herring Roads, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Grand North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand North Ryde hotel is a 4.5 star all-suite resort oasis set over a five-acre property in the heart of Sydney's second largest business district.Our accommodation is known for its casual elegance with 257 rooms including views, which overlook our gardens, tranquil lagoon or pool and waterfall. Dine at our restaurant Captain Cook's Cove and take your tastebuds on a culinary journey of discovery with Executive Chef Jospeh Lunandi's international brasserie cuisine. Many leisure options are available including a state-of-the-art health and fitness centre, 25m free-form indoor/outdoor pool, spa, rebound-ace tennis court, aerobic classes and relaxing massages to make your stay with us more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Grand North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Stamford Grand North Ryde Sydney
North Ryde Stamford Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.