We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the attitude - probably used to be a nice hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Grand North Ryde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Grand North Ryde to your Saves list
Stamford Grand North Ryde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Epping & Herring Roads, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Shame about the attitude - probably used to be a nice hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We booked our two-night stay at the Stamford through an external website. Apparently the website we used does not 'speak' to the Stamford website, so although we had been charged for the room, Stamford had not been paid. This caused a great deal of confusion on check-in, but after a while we sorted it out and were told that our breakfasts would be complimentary as a gesture of goodwill.

Upon checkout the hotel attempted to charge us the full price for the breakfasts because we had used room service instead of the dining room. I replied that this distinction had not been made. The attitude I encountered from the manager was startling; he agreed to waive the charge, but insisted that "Everyone coming into the hotel knows that breakfast is in the dining room"...implying that I was either naive or an idiot. You don't get that kind of attitude from good hotels which deserve their star rating because they understand that the important thing is customer service. The Stamford's manager seem to think the important thing is to be right.

So, stressful check-in AND stressful check-out. Was the actual hotel any good?

Once you get past the faded opulence of the foyer, there's no more opulence and plenty of 'faded'.

Our room - optimistically referred to by the desk clerk as a 'suite' - was tucked-away at the furthest reaches of the hotel. We were travelling with our 18-month old son and had to carry the pram over three sets of stairs to reach the room. There was a lift, but it was at the opposite end of the hotel, so that wasn't any quicker. When we got to the room it reeked of cigarette smoke. On the Saturday night we could not sleep because of the noise of the hotel staff; our room was above the alley where the kitchen staff stand, smoking and talking. Loudly. There was also noise from the other rooms; we could hear people talking.

The one good thing I can say about the place is that the food was excellent. Some of the best gnocchi I've ever had still couldn't make-up for the disappointment of the experience.

I might have been happy if it were a three star hotel, but the place is so run-down. Another reviewer said it could do with a lick of paint. I think that's a serious understatement. I imagine it was a very nice place twenty years ago, but not anymore.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Rosskel,
Thankyou for your review on the 2nd of May.First of all thankyou for your feedback as it helps us improve on our shortcomings.I would also like to apologise on behalf of the team for the attitude shown by our manager towards your queries.This is definately not something we practice and is not acceptable at any level.I can assure you that measures are constantly taken to improve the standards and service levels.While there are some challenges for the team we have definately taken thses comments on board and will rectify accordingly.Thankyou for the great feedback in terms of the food in the restaurant and this will be passed on to our Food and Beverage team.

Once again we do look foward to welcoming you back to Stamford Grand north Ryde and we can assure you that your stay will be wonderful.Please do try us again.

Kindest regards

Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    98
    46
    31
See reviews for
56
86
17
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night. Staff were friendly and helpful - couldn't fault them. King size bed was lovely. Pillows were all flat. Bathroom was nice to look at, but when you were on the toilet - there wasn't a great deal of room to move - a bit like the toilets on an aeroplane. Walls were not well insulated so you could hear everything around you. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of food. Pool looked inviting also. The internal walls could do with a fresh coat of paint.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Rat68,

Thankyou for your feedback dated 11th of April 2011. It was nice to here that you did have a wonderful stay.The repainting the hotel has started already and hopefully by the next couple of weeks we will be finished.Thankyou once again for your wonderful feedback and please do try us again and we look foward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011 via mobile

Our office moved to North Ryder. First to rib this hotel. I was allocated room 2002. It's practically in the bar - I can reach over my balcony into the beer garden. The crappy music went on until past 10pm and the noise from guests much longer. The bathroom had a used bar of soap with hair on it- along with hairs on the bed. The room smelt of mould and had frayed carpet. It is such an unpleasant place to stay. If you can find an alternative - save your money and go there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear wickywackywoowaa,
Thankyou for your feedback dated 5th of april 2011.While we have rectified the noise issue by turning off the music prior to 10pm and have started to inform all guests to move inside to the bar after this time.In reference to the cleanliness of the room,we have advised our executive housekeeper that it is totally unacceptable and that more rigourous checks need to be maintained so we dont have deviations from our standards that our clients have come to expect.We do oplogise for this and we will be undergoing a soft refurb for the room mentioned.We look foward to seeing you back here soon and hope to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Kindest Regards
Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My mother and I stayed for one night in an Executive Suite in the Premier Wing. We arrived at 10.30am as we had just checked out of another hotel nearby. I called on our way asking if there was anyway we could check in earlier and was told as the hotel was fully booked the night before, it was unlikely any rooms were ready but we were welcome to drop our bags off and come back when it was ready. Upon arrival we were told that a room was ready now and were welcome to take it, which was fantastic news and I appreciated the staff member checking this. The room was overwhelmingly lovely, comfortable and plush. The Kings size bed had clean, beautiful linen and the marble bathroom was spotless and stocked with L'Occitane bathroom products.
We had a private courtyard which was great. The TV was set to a tiny volume and our kettle didnt work but when we called reception, they sent someone within 2 minutes, such great service and we felt as though they catered to every request. I went to go and have a dip in the pool in the late afternoon and i was almost alone apart from a young family but chose to return to my room when I looked up at one of the top floor balconies and saw a very hairy man completely naked pashing his female companion clad in only a t-shirt - quite a sight but obviously not the hotel's fault!
The hotel was beautiful and really great service. We passed on the seafood buffet because of the $65 price tag, but that's not uncommon for a 5 star hotel.
Loved our stay here, if only it was longer!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear CF Camden, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stamford Grand North Ryde. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see back very soon. Yours sincerely,Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stay here a fair bit as it is easy to get to when we visit from the Country. The service once again was outstanding and the room excellent. We always book from Wotif and there is often a huge price difference on rooms from day to day. We saved $80 by delaying a booking by a day! The hotel has a great atmosphere and the only down side is the distance to the city and airport but, if you are like us and had no business to do in town then it is great. Recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear Lizzy Leeton, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stamford Grand North Ryde. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see back very soon. Yours sincerely, Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

This motel was close to the venue and the staff were wonderful. We did have a problem with service for the mobile in the bar area but was really of no Consequence so no big deal. The staff was obliging and we had a wonderful night. It was very quiet & our balcony overlooked the lagoon. Beautiful view.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear Susie WRX, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stamford Grand North Ryde. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see back very soon. Yours sincerely, Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

After it was forescast to hit 42 degrees C in Sydney on Sat 5 Feb (after a week of over 35 degrees temperatures) I decided to get somewhere with some good air conditioning!
Checked out the hotel website and found a great deal with breakfast and booked in. I called in the morning I was checking in and the front desk were kind enough to arrange an early check in.
This was the third time I have stayed at this hotel in the last few months, and once again the best feaure wasn't the rooms, or the new restaurant (more on that soon), but was the attitude of the staff. From the front desk and concierge, to the room attendants (especially) when you walk to your room - all are always so pleasant and welcoming - even just passing them in the corridor.
The room was (again) large, clean and quiet. The new LCD TV in the bedroom was a nice update from previous. The best part was the a/c - bliss! First decent night sleep in a week. Especially when the temperature was still 30 degrees C at midnight!
Next morning went for buffet breakfast in the restaurant. Great selection, but - Best. Scrambled. Eggs. Ever.
Definately coming back - even if just for the scrambled eggs B^)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandabudhathoki, Front Office Manager at Stamford Grand North Ryde, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear TDeson, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stamford Grand North Ryde. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see back very soon. Yours sincerely, Ananda Budhathoki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Grand North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand North Ryde

Address: Corner Epping & Herring Roads, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Grand North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand North Ryde hotel is a 4.5 star all-suite resort oasis set over a five-acre property in the heart of Sydney's second largest business district.Our accommodation is known for its casual elegance with 257 rooms including views, which overlook our gardens, tranquil lagoon or pool and waterfall. Dine at our restaurant Captain Cook's Cove and take your tastebuds on a culinary journey of discovery with Executive Chef Jospeh Lunandi's international brasserie cuisine. Many leisure options are available including a state-of-the-art health and fitness centre, 25m free-form indoor/outdoor pool, spa, rebound-ace tennis court, aerobic classes and relaxing massages to make your stay with us more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Grand North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Stamford Grand North Ryde Sydney
North Ryde Stamford Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Grand North Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.