We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than it looks from the outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Way better than it looks from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed for graduation of family member. Squeezy for two people - designed for the solo conference goer or visiting academic. It looks like a rubbish blond brick motel but the rooms are way more stylish than that and the food is surprisingly good! The vista is over a lake with water birds and sculpture - misty morning very pleasant and short stroll to the graduation ceremony (done with just the right amount of pomp and modernity).

The university has great grounds and most people took good advantage following the ceremony with picnics and walks. A hidden resource only 20mins from city centre by train from the uber modern station at the university.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
17
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeton
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a funny sort of place. It is part of the Macquarie University Management School and the staff were like work experience kids. The rooms were funky, clean and very modern and was ideal for us as we arrived there early evening, went to a function nearby, went to bed late and checked out early the next morning. We saw no other guests at all and the atmosphere of the whole place was like a city office block on a Saturday afternoon. We got a reasonable rate on Wotif which was much lower then other nearby Hotels which was a influencing factor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Very nice play to stay for a conference. Rooms are smallish but modern and clean. Basic but nice breakfast. Parking available and close to public parking. One of the quitest places i have stayed at in Sydney

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Located in a quiet side, this hotel is great for those who want a clean room with free Internet access. Getting into the hotel is pretty tricky and car park is far from the hotel - it can be a problem if you have to walk with boxes and bags. However, there is a place to set down and pick up. The room is furnished ok and the bathroom is clean but is small. There is a nice lounge chair in every room which is great if you want to do some reading. And there's self-service laundry facilites. There's also an in-house restaurant. Easily accessible to Macquarie University.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Service from front desk was average - messy area behind reception with a heap of archive boxes stacked on top of each other - not very "executive" or 4 star. The receptionist did not look very experienced or polished - not the professional image I was expecting. The room was surprsingly clean and modern and the location not too bad. Airconditioning very loud in room.

Liked most the modern decor in room

Liked least the fact the car park was so far from the foyer (no porter). Had to walk about 400m in the rain and dark to get back after parking. Receptionist said there was a short cut through event centre but was probably locked and if I didnt want to park in car park which was far away I could leave my car on the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

An interesting place to stay that was full of surprises for our stay.
We booked through wotif.com and there was really no indication that the hotel was part of or attached to the Macquarie School of Management, the only real clue would have been the MGSM in the name, but there was no explanation of the name, or it's proximity to the university. This was a surprise, but wasn't particularly a bad thing, we stayed on the weekend and the place was very quite - Did not run into any other guests or students.

The room itself was very tasteful - better than we were expecting with fresh looking furnishing and appointments, checkin was friendly and checkout was trouble free.

The location was quite good, and close to just about everything you may need.

There were just two things we were not overly expecting and probably expected a bit more from. Firstly the room's air conditioner - Loud is an understantement, it sounded like a truck running along the road at full noise, this was apparent to us, perhaps largely related to the 40 degree weather during our stay, the aircon though was very very good, keeping us super cool despite the high outside temp. The gardens and surrounds were very nice too - although check-in and parking made it clear that you were at the university.

The second downside was the onsite parking. It was not particularly close to the room, and required a fairly long walk, it was also not particularly secure.

On reading this review it might sound a little negative, but that's not my intention. We were pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the room and really enjoyed our stay.

We would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This is an exceptional hotel for a solo business traveller needing to access the North West Suburbs of Sydney.

This is my choice of hotel in Sydney when travelling on my own. This is a good executive hotel with good service, great facilities and friendly staff. There are few Sydney hotels with free internet, free parking, realistically priced restaurant and such good rooms.

The hotel is part of the Macquarie Graduate Business School meaning campus type buildings and the hotel on the edge of them. My experience has been a very quiet hotel. If you are looking for a party hotel, this is not it! If you are wanting very clean, very new and very quiet location - this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 99 Talavera Road, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgsm Executive Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.