We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar none” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sydney Liverpool to your Saves list
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424-458 Hoxton Park Road, Liverpool, New South Wales 2170, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bar none”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a near new corporate hotel with very good modern features.

But how about this? The lobby bar is closed until 6pm on a Friday night! What sort of a grinch came up with that policy? Have marked the place down by a star on that alone, so if you don't need a drink by Friday afternoon add back a star.

Location is kinda weird. Like an American light industrial park. Forget about romantic evening walks or anything like that.

Everything inside is good except the toilet is squeezed into the corner so you need to be highly competent in reverse gear to actually sit on it.

Black out curtains were very effective and definitely the highlight. This place would pass for an airport hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureLiverpool, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Liverpool, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear MaKelly71,

Thank you for your message. Sorry to hear that you missed out on your Friday afternoon drink, I can certainly sympathise! Our restaurant bar does indeed open daily at 6pm, however we do have other bars open all day where drinks are available. The Main Bar in the Club, beyond the restaurant, is open from 10am until 2am. We will be sure to update our signage so that this is more clear.

I hope we will see you again soon and promise you won't go thirsty next time.

Sincerely,

Chris Donovan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    163
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
128
125
45
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Bad things - this place has nothing to do around it, at night or probably the day as well. It is not central Sydney fun. However if you know that and accept it then it is all excellent.

What it is, for a business man is convenient for the office, with a great shower, a nice bed, very good sound proofing, friendly and effective staff, a good enough dinner and breakfast and basically less than £100 GBP. It was a connecting room which I normally despair of - heard nothing at all.

So for those reasons it gets 5 stars - just remember the context. Here for a good rest, for 1 night, when working, not for seeing Sydney or having social fun.

Room Tip: Anything I reckon would be good - go a few doors away from the elevator for less traffic past the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was allocated to my husband and I for two evenings when we were posting from Sydney to Townsville in December 2012. Having lived around the area for the previous two years, we didn't have huge expectations - it was South-Western Sydney after all - but wow, the Mercure proverbially smashed it out of the park.
After LONG days of cleaning and last-minute packing, it was a real treat to head "home" to the Mercure to rest. The room was spacious, immaculate, well laid out, and just all-round comfortable. The shower room was out of this world - large, functional, separate to the room, exceptional shower head, and loads of complimentary goodies.
We both also very much liked the buffet breakfast - it was varied and generous, opening times were suitable for our long days, but most importantly super tasty. The hotel has a policy that if you organise breakfast the night before with the concierge desk, it is cheaper than just turning up on the morning, so traveler tip - get organised and save yourself some cash.
I genuinely can't comment on value for money, as this hotel room was pre-paid, but I would suggest that after the 4-5 star stay we enjoyed, that I would happily pay $200 per night to stay here again, however, after a quick internet search, I'm delighted to read that all rooms in this season are cheaper than this.
If you find yourself out in Greater Western Sydney, then I would absolutely recommend the Mercure, Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. There was minimal disturbances from other guests/traffic so it was quiet at night. The staff were polite and attentive. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel stay was a very positive experience, from the decor through to the service. The rooms are well appointed and modern with enough space to work as well. It is attached to the catholic Club so no matter what time you get back to your room there is always meals &/or drinks available. (as well as big screen TVs).
The staff were friendly and efficient. The included breakfast is lavish and has everything you could need for a big day.
All in all a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sawtell
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for the second time last month. The rooms are quite a good size and have a desk for computing and a place to sit as well an enormous bed. The bathrooms are not huge , but the shower is a walk in so quite good. The hotel is attached to the Liverpool Catholic club and guests can eat and drink there, we also had our business function there. Overall if you are out Liverpool way for business it quite a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hunts Liverpool
11.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
Rydges Campbelltown Sydney
#1 of 3 in Campbelltown
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
11.0 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#2 of 10 in Parramatta
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Sydney Lansvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney Liverpool

Address: 424-458 Hoxton Park Road, Liverpool, New South Wales 2170, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Sydney Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.