We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Lismore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melville House to your Saves list
Melville House
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   267 Ballina St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Lismore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Lismore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay with Helen and Rex at Melville House every year when attending Tropical Fruits. Melville House is the only place to stay and well worthy of the four star rating. This is one place where I can say that the pictures on the Melville House website are accurate, in fact they just don't give the full experience. Yes the accommodation is roomy, extremely comfortable and of a high standard, the pool the place to be all day.......... But the real gem is Helen - she's mum, big sister, best friend and the perfect host. There to make sure that you have a great stay, needs are met and a beautiful breakfast provided.

We just keep on coming back again and again to Melville House and always feel sad that our few days here come to an end. Helen consistently maintains a high standard for her properties and makes you feel at home.

The nicest character about the main house is the choice of rooms from Art Deco to ultra modern - we have our favourite the Art Deco suite. Centre of the house is the kitchen breakfast area where all the action happens and guests love to sit and chat. This is the friendliest place we have every had the joy to stay at - our home in Lismore and Jackie the dog is the to welcome us each year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    22
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
45
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed at Melville House seven times over the last few years and am very glad to have discovered it. The house itself is art deco with all the mod cons. I generally stay in the budget rooms or share one of Helen Opie's other holiday houses nearby and they have all the necessities and comfortable beds. The more expensive rooms are quite lavish having their own sitting areas and gorgeous, large bathrooms. There's also a pool, free wi-fi and breakfast made to order in the mornings made by Helen herself. I always choose to include this option. I always make new friends over breakfast! :D

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will avoid much of the breakfast time rabble,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed again on my bi annual trek to Lismore. Helen's place is an excellent place to stay in Lismore. Olde world decor makes for a home away from home and generous hospitality with lovely bacon and eggs for brekky - a real treat when travelling.

This time the hot Lismore summer weather called for a swim in a most magnificent swimming pool. Salt water and a huge inviting pool. Thoroughly recommended! Only mistake I made was to not find out about it earlier.
Highly recommend this place to stay - and the prices are great. Dog friendly accommodation. Jackie the blue heeler is resident and is a great guard dog. Though a little old and grumpy - she is part of the place. If you don't like dogs - just stay upstairs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been staying at Melville house for the past two and a bit years... I travel to Lismore 2 or 3 times a year for Uni and will only EVER stay here! It is like no place I have ever stayed, relaxing, calm, welcoming, and I especially love the antique style, and the swimming pool! I have been lucky enough to try a few of the rooms, most are extremely spacious and the bathrooms are massive! There are desks in every room and wifi throughout the entire house. Helen is lovely and cooks a fantastic breakfast! Additionally, I have always met wonderful people, from all walks of life, each and everyone time I stay here. And you have the option to mingle or stay in the privacy of your own room. I definitely recommend to anyone who wants something more than a boring motel/hotel room and I personally rate 5 stars!
Amber :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I visited in November 2012 with my 12year old daughter who was competing in a 4 day state cricket carnival. Everything from the booking process to the check out was easy.Our schedule was demanding to say the least but our host Helen was fantastic in every way, not only with her wealth of knowledge of Lismore but her genuine willingness to fit herself into our schedule, even offering to help with the laundry duties. After a hot day in the field,the large pool was a well come sight. If ever returning to lismore for a stay, I would go straight to Mellville House. Regards Peter Hilton.

Room Tip: We had room at the front of the house , given the location on a main road it can be a little noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a great B&B. Helen, the owner is so welcoming. There is a wonderful choice of rooms from a cozy room to one with a four poster bed. I have stayed a number of times and have never been disappointed. Breakfast is always interesting as you never know who else will be having breakfast with you as there is such an interesting array of people who stay. I would not dream of staying anywhere else in Lismore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorie, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed three nights in one of Melville House's smaller rooms and it was excellent value for money. The breakfasts were very filling and I especially appreciated the quality of the coffee. Helen is an excellent host. The old world feel of the house is lovely. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.8 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dawson Motor Inn
Dawson Motor Inn
#1 of 11 in Lismore
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elindale House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel
Lismore Gateway Motel
#2 of 11 in Lismore
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karinga Motel
Karinga Motel
#4 of 11 in Lismore
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#6 of 11 in Lismore
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville House

Address: 267 Ballina St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melville House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Melville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.