We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mountains B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford of Leura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford of Leura to your Saves list
Woodford of Leura
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   48 Woodford Street, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Leura B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect mountains B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having stayed in dozens of Blue Mtns B&Bs in the past 15 years how refreshing it was to stay in this cosy establishment with host Danielle. One thing you must get right in the mountains is the heating. At Woodford of Leura this is partly provided by a log fire in the lounge room which is concientiously tended by Danielle and creates an inviting atmosphere for guests. Previous experiences with open fires were that they were lit and neglected which just disappoints.
Throughout our 4 day stay, we were treated to homemade cakes daily, delicious apple and currant pancakes for breakfast and a lovely bottle of champagne as it was our anniversary. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the entire home with a good selection of reading matter and DVDs for wet weather. Conversations with other guests as well as our host were delightful and the selection of music playing added ambience in this homely enviroment. We stayed in the garden suite with verandah attached - I did find the bed a little uncomfortable(a bit lumpy) although my husband had no complaints. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: The garden room was a little bigger but all rooms looked great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were welcomed by Danielle, taken on a tour of the property and offered fresh home baked cake for afternoon tea. We had the garden room which also has a covered verandah overlooking the lovely garden with its sheltered pond and colourful parrots. It enhanced the room and it would be fabulous to sit out there in summer. The bed was very comfortable and the recently refurbished bathroom small, but perfectly adequate. We had access to two sitting rooms with comfy chairs and with a wood fire in the larger of these rooms. Plenty of tourist material was available including a booklet with information on the local restaurants. Danielle also gave us more information and both our choices yielded the type of meal we were seeking on the day. Hana Japanese restaurant produced a very tasty and reasonably priced meal with light, crisp tempura seafood and vegetables and delicious teriyaki salmon. The restaurant at the Alexandra Hotel served better than average pub/club meals.
Breakfast at Woodford includes cereals, fruits, juices, toast and a choice of hot dish. The Dutch apple pancakes were amazing (I had them both mornings) and my friend enjoyed the egg, bacon, sausages etc both mornings. The plunger coffee was just as I like it.
Danielle clearly loves her role as host and goes out of her way to make guests feel welcome. I hope to return in the summer and visit the local attractions we couldn't fit in this trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a quiet and peaceful place to recover from work pressures. We discovered a beautiful and tranquil home run by Danielle. She is an outstanding host who warmly welcomed us. Our bedroom overlooked a lovely garden and we were spoiled with small treats around the house. The substantial breakfast was delicious and filled us for most of the day. We valued Danielle's recommendations about local restaurants and sites to visit. The porch overlooked beautiful birds feeding and we enjoyed the cat as well. The house and Danielle's hospitality were perfect. This was the first time we had stayed in a B and B so we were delighted by our experience. We will defintely return.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Woodford of Leura is truly a brilliant place to stay to explore the spectacular Blue Mountains. Danielle offers a beautiful, homely environment, extremely comfortable and welcoming with excellent facilities. It's close to the lovely town of Leura with great shops and some very good restaurants. Her knowledge of the area and advice of where to go and what to see is invaluable and her delicious breakfast really sets you up for the days activities. We'll certainly go back and highly recommend it as a true gem to everyone who wants a wonderful Blue Mountains experience.

Pattie & Paul, France

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and found Danielle a good host although we were offered Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival when we booked. This consisted of a cup of tea and a piece of cake, not what afternoon tea means in England! We expected more.
Breakfast was good and the room pleasant although V small bathroom.
The only thing that rankled was the $10 charge for wifi, essential when away from family. Nearly every other B&B offered it free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay in the Blue Mountains. Convenient to all you want see. Clean. Comfortable. And Danielle is a terrific host. The breakfast was the best we had in 6 week as of stayin in B&Bs. And her home made snacks, like the orange cake, we're delicious.

Don't forget to spend some time on the back porch watching the birds. I've never seen so many cockatoos and parrots in the wild.

By the end we felt like friends. Thanks Danielle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Wood ford is quiet and special. Danielle is a kind and very caring host who finds that balance between being there for her guests and giving them their space. The house has beautiful grounds and she is working at getting the rooms to a top standard... They are already very clean and comfortable. Our room had a fabulous verandah overlooking the grounds but a very small bathroom. Our friends had a smaller room but a huge and wonderful bathroom. both had their own charm and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. The lounge room is gracious and peaceful and the baking was a beautiful touch. Breakfast was generous and well prepared. We absolutely loved our stay here and made new friends and great memories. Telling others about it will make it harder to book in so book early. this will be a great place summer or winter. A very special spot and we have stayed in many. On the favorites list.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#11 of 14 in Leura
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford of Leura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford of Leura

Address: 48 Woodford Street, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodford of Leura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mountain retreat located in one of Leura's quietest country lanes. This grand 1920's, home set on a near 1/2 acre of tranquil Sorensen gardens is renowned for it's gourmet breakfast served at your individual table. Est. in 1994, Woodford offers gracious 2- room suites or double rooms (all ensuite) and complimentary afternoon tea by the log-fire on arrival. It also features a 4-person spa/Jacuzzi and off-street parking. Winner 2000 Regional Award for Excellence in Tourism and NSW 2000 Tourism Awards Finalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodford of Leura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Of Leura Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford of Leura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.