We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor dining amongst the trees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bon Ton

Cafe Bon Ton
192 Leura Mall, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4782 4377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 37 Restaurants in Leura
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining amongst the trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Bon Ton has a lovely outdoor area to dine amongst the trees which is also dog friendly. There is also an inside area where you can dine next to a warm fireplace. Menu options include all day breakfast, lunch and early dinner specials. Came here on a Saturday for lunch and had the chicken and leek pie which was fabulous. My partner had the hotdog and was raving about the bread which we later found out was from a local bakery in Wentworth Falls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    28
    25
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and waiting, but you pay for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Dropped in for dinner after being recommended by a friend (who popped the question there 30 years ago). The food was tasty and service was very prompt. The place probably hasn't changed since my friend proposed all those years ago and by the sounds of it the menu hasn't changed much either. All in all it was a nice place to dine but expect to open your wallet a little more than you think!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst service experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Never have been treated so rudely by condescending little waitress as badly as at this cafe. After specifically requesting and receiving a medium angel hair pasta I was still charged for a large one. When I asked the waitress to amend the bill she bluntly refused. DO NOT GO TO THIS CAFE.

Plus the angel pasta was really linguini. They have no idea how to make pasta.

Worst service and poor quality food ever. The maple tree is nice. Rudest waitresses outside Sydney.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place brings new meaning to the word obscene.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

OMG This place brings new meaning to the word obscene! Obscene pricing including a 20% ANZAC Day surcharge, a 1 hour wait for bacon and eggs when the place wasn't even that busy, an overcharged bill, and poor customer service.
I don't review much but this place really made me angry. $60 for 2 breakfasts and coffee with a 1 hour wait. I can't believe they get away with charging like this. When the food did arrive it wasn't bad apart from the baked eggs being undercooked and sent back, but everything should have been gourmet and perfect for the price (and wait).
Often you wonder when multiple reviews can be polar opposites but believe me this was outrageous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Impeccable service and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The service was the kind you'd find at top fine restaurant: we were constantly attended to, the staff knew their menu and offered great suggestions.

We had the chicken and leek pie as a main. Beautifully presented and it tasted fantastic.

Would love to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bon Ton also viewed

Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Faulconbridge, New South Wales
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Cafe Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bon Ton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.