We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solitary

Solitary
90 Cliff Drive, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 1164
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Solitary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are locals who recently tried Solitary for the first time. We arrived around 1pm on a Friday without a booking but the restaurant was far from full and we had no trouble being seated.

There are separate cafe and lunch menus from which to choose and from what we could see from nearby diners, the cafe options were quite substantial.

We opted for the lunch menu; my husband ordered the beef eye fillet and was told it would take around 30 mins. It arrived exactly 'on time', was cooked as he'd requested and was melt-in-the-mouth tender. I had the Massaman goat curry which was tender and delicious. It was supposed to contain kipfler potatoes but there were only a few small pieces, not really an issue but their inclusion in the dish is probably unnecessary. The accompanying saffron rice was in a separate dish which I up-ended into the curry.
There was also a small dish containing bean sprouts & minute slivers of capsicum which were somewhat flavourless; perhaps I should have mixed it into the curry at the beginning of the meal instead of eating it separately at the end .

If you want to take advantage of the view, I'd recommend making a booking although one can never be sure just what the weather will do. When we arrived the view extended across the valley but then clouds blew in, it rained and suddenly the view disappeared into the mist!
Would also recommend taking time to look at the photos and read the fascinating history of the restaurant on the walls in the entry area.

Solitary is not the cheapest restaurant in the region, however the food was substantial and delicious. There is plenty of parking and, weather permitting, beautiful valley views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    21
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best outdoor cafe in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Best place in the mountains on a nice sunny day to sit outside and sip away at a coffee and have something to eat outside. Beautiful views, especially if you can get to the table out the very front

Friendly staff. Food is pretty good also , would recommend the soft shell crab.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,813 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,058 helpful votes
“This is..... the quintesessional eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is one classy eatery with imaginative modern Aussie cuisine and fine views across the Jamieson Valley. Its uniquely perched above the Leura Cascades,on the scenic cliff drive. The building is heritage weather -board cottage set in a garden.
We set outside and just gazed spellbound at the golden sunlight views to Mt. Solitary. We started with twice baked goat's cheese and leek souffle with truss cherry tomatoes. Madame had smoked pork hock and rabbit terrine,mustard fruits,toasted sourdough.
For mains i loved the eye fillet of beef,oxtail,varietal mushrooms,porcini foam and asparagus. My femme loved the panfried saffron gnocchi,chestnut,pine nut,kifler potato,raison and sage burre with parmesan cheese.
We shared an apple and ginger cake with cinnamon ice cream,apple cider and coffee sauce with praline.
Someone carry us home. We loved the ambience,the flavour combo and staring lovingly at each other.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to Solitary for lunch during a weekend in the Blue Mountains. We arrived on a Saturday without a booking and were told that inside was full. The waitress asked a peer if there was space outside and informed us we could sit outside, however another waitress snapped at us that there would be a very long wait on food and pretty much incinuated that we shouldn't bother - so we left. We were still keen to try the food as we'd heard good things about it, so made a booking for the Sunday.

Service was much better on the Sunday with our waiter and waitress being very friendly and attentive. We were seated at the window with a beautiful view out to the mountains. The building itself is a little dated and could do with a bit of tlc on the inside and the paper tablecloths detracted a bit from the romance of the place, however didn't really affect our dining experience.

A big disappointment was that they had apparently run out of the entree souffle, which I had been really looking forward to. We opted instead for the salmon croquettes to share and some bread (bread was a bit steep at $3.50 per single-serve bread roll!). The croquettes were lovely - perfectly crisp crumb on the outside and a delightful salmon and mashed potato filling. They came with a nicely dressed salad and some horseradish aioli, which was a perfect accompaniment. For mains we had the pan-fried saffron gnocchi and the massaman goat curry. The gnocchi was a real stand out - perfectly cooked, flavoursome and with a sensational sage butter sauce. The goat curry had good flavours and the meat was lovely and tender - the only downside was the presentation, in that the curry itself came in a serving bowl with the rice and other accompaniments in separate little bowls, which made putting it all together and eating it a little difficult, but that is a minor criticism.

Overall a lovely place for lunch - we would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Solitary still worth considering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Solitary very cold outside so all seating sensibly inside. Lovely log fire, restaurant service, although we chose from the Kiosk menu and thoroughly enjoyed the pea,saffron and seafood soup and my husband enjoyed the Moroccan sausages - don't discount Solitary - just for the views alone it's worth the visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solitary also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Solitary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solitary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.