We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leura House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leura House to your Saves list
Leura House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Leura B&B and Inns
Orange NSW
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

First point - dont bother turning up before 2pm because the office is not open.
We stayed in February and it was very hot in the rooms. No airconditioning and no fan. Breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 09:30 so its very restrictive. Saying that the breakfast wasnt great, hard poached eggs, bacon and tomato. The back garden is pretty, if you do stay here which I dont advise ask for a room which overlooks the garden. We were able to have a drink on our little balcony.
Its close to the shops so you can walk but be careful of the traffic. Its not very safe to cross at some points

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    13
    7
    18
See reviews for
14
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you're looking for a modern, sterile, chain Hotel with all the modern conveniences and frills, this is definitely not for you. This hotel is beautifully situated within easy walking distance, and just a few minutes walk away from the head of the main street in Leura. The house carries a lot of history - being the first house to be built in the area in the 1890;s. The rooms are clean &, beautifully kept (all en-suite) - but reminiscent of times gone by. We wanted to see the 'real Australia' and experience it's heritage, this place fitted the bill perfectly. Breakfast was simple but freshly & individually cooked - and not a stale buffet, (plus small selection cereals, fruit and toast). For a taste of the true authenticity request a balcony room. The owner told us that he had only recently taken over the Hotel, and wanted to add improvements and changes. For what we paid for our stay we were pleased with our choice and would stay again. .

Room Tip: Speak to the owner to request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lovely old guest house but its conducted for the owner not the guests. Doesn't have breaky till 08:30 and if you arrive at 08:25 he sends you away. He doesn't like people and if he is not happy with something (no matter how insignificant) he lets you know.

We were locked out of our room and had to sleep in another room that had the door left open 1 night but didn't tell him because of his mood swings. We were also promised full hot breaky every day but no that was only forthcoming some of the time. Room was not serviced one day and our tea mugs were never cleaned, nor used tea bags taken away. Also no rubbish bin to put them in. I realise that service in Australia is the worst in the world (and I'm a well travelled Dinky Di) but this is unacceptable.

However, its a big improvement from the previous owners who turned the guest house into a dumpmaster, but now its like being in a psycho ward.

When you look at the Old Convent from the outside and the breakfast room, and living areas it appears to be a fantastic guesthouse but the decor in the rooms is not up to scratch. You would expect some Old world charm in the rooms after seeing the rest of the guesthouse but that is not forthcoming. However, it has the potential to be an excellent stay even for small sophisticated groups one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a huge house and unfortunately our room was the highest which meant lots of stairs to climb with 2 heavy cases. The room despite being described as executive was very basic with old mis matched furniture. They also don't supply hand towels in the bathroom. There is no air conditioning either but we were given a fan. Wifi just about limped up here but was slightly better downstairs. We stayed 2 nights and our room wasn't serviced, we found it the second night just as we left it, unmade bed etc. Breakfast was two poached eggs (over cooked and hard) and one slice of bacon with a half tomato, no choice of how you'd like your eggs cooked. As we were exploring the area it was just somewhere to sleep, it didn't really offer anything more. It has potential but needs a total redecoration and a clear out, old and historic it may be but quaint it certainly isn't. It's cheap but you don't get a lot for your money. Oh and did I mention it's buy a busy road junction....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights and we found Gary to be a great host. He shared with us places to go see and he was very obliging. The room was well kept and very comfortable.It was nice to stay there because we like old charm type places and it was really handy to Leura and other places in the mountains shame he hasn;t opened a restaurant there yet.The local was more than adequate for meals anyway..Breakfast was sufficient. Would recommend the place to our friends a great place to leave your troubles behind . Will probably go back one day.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the backyard are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I am hoping I will get more sleep on the 2 hour train back to the city than last night. Despite earplugs and a pillow over our heads there was a constant loud whirry cranky noise between 1am and 5:45am. We had no idea what it was, how no-one else had brought this up before or how anyone else was getting any sleep.

We met our neighbours the next morning who were potentially from the same era as the house and wearing hearing aids. It transpires the walls are paper paper thin and they left the ancient extractor fan on all night. As unfortunate as this was, for $250 a night we really do expect more than 2 hours sleep. We were so exhausted we left for home in the morning since couldn't face a walk when so tired. This rather defeats the point of a relaxing weekend away from the city.

When we spoke to the manager this morning he said we should have come to find him. Which would have been easier if he had shown us where he stayed on check-in, or if there was a phone in the room to 'dial zero' or similar. We invited him to come to the room to hear how noisy it was which he did not. He offered us $20 which luckily paid for some rocket fuel coffee to see us through the day and the first train home.

Regardless of the paper walls, mach one extractor fan and worst nights sleep l agree with the previous comments that I really can't see how the price is justified in any way. The decor is not quaint antique / kitsche but tired. Someone else's sock was under the bed. We have stayed at motels for $100 a night which were much better quality. To be fair, we'd have camped in the garden if it meant I could have got some sleep...

The house has so much potential which was reiterated by the manager on check-in. "The house had the best view in Leura, all the way to the city and further on a good day. Until the trees grew up and got in the way". We had a chuckle at that :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The leura house is stunning, but unfortunately is old world charm mixed with seventies decor. Simply put, the house oozes potential. Elegant and wooden, she sits astride a hilltop enjoying panoramic views of all the blue mountains have to offer. It's when you step inside that you understand her full potential has not been realised. Dated decor and to be brutally honest, amatuer staff make the visit underwhelming. Considering the price, you'd at least expect quality linen, towels and nice toiletries in the bedroom capped off with period furniture and attentive and friendly staff. The fact that the bathroom was bereft of toiletries and after a days excursion our bed was not made or towels changed speaks volumes about how badly this place is being run. When we raised this issue, rather than an apology, we were met with a flurry of excuses about how busy they were and it was in fact our fault the room was not made up whilst we were out. Not worth the money or a visit until some changes are made.

Room Tip: Perhaps another place in town?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leura House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leura House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.