We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embers

Embers
1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 38 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice food but not exactly what we ordered from the menu. Petit beef was very good but the jus with the lamb was a watery brown "juice".

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ruined the steak!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here while staying at the hotel. The restaurant area offers beautiful views & a cosy large fireplace. Friendly, casual service. They are child friendly with a good kids menu. Unfortunately our food was a bit disappointing, mainly because they overlooked the steak- not just a bit, it was really overdone. We also had the duck ravioli, the filling was dry. Will probably try the other restaurant next visit but won't be dining at Embers again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Our meals - prawns, salmon and lamb dishes - cooked to perfection. Lovely open fire. Casual dining at its best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay but wouldn't hurt to try another place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We visited for dinner and they seemed very short staffed - hard to get their attention for menus, then to order. My partner's steak was average, and my duck ravioli which came highly recommended was quite chewy and hard - obviously the pasta was not cooked fresh, and there was simply a wrong ratio of filling to pasta. The staff were fairly friendly but wouldn't go back for the food - could definitely find a cheaper place for a better feed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had lunch at Embers yesterday. The view was great, staff very friendly but the food was one of the worst meals I have had in a long time. I had the Battered Dory which was riddled with bones. My wife had the steak sandwich and the steak was very fatty and mostly inedible. I think the restaurant is very overpriced for the quality of food you get. As is said though, staff are very friendly and view is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embers also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Embers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.