We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for fabulous Shakespeare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Historic House and Gardens

Everglades Historic House and Gardens
37 Everglades Avenue, Leura, New South Wales, Australia
02 4784 1938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for fabulous Shakespeare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited Everglades for the Sport for Jove Shakespeare performance of Twelfth Night. There was plenty of parking and the grounds are beautiful with paths taking you to the differently themed and planted areas. You can bring your own food or eat in the tea room, bookings are advised.
The purpose of our visit was to see Twelfth Night and we have not seen a better performance or a better setting. It was fabulous. The Leura Shakespeare Festival happens every January and is well worth attending, for the performances and the setting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Peaceful and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Good value for us as it is a National Trust property so free entry as members.

Beautiful historic grounds and the art deco house is charming. Lovely shaded walks take your through the different areas.

Cafe in the house was tempting. Simple but tasty menu with some lovely views.

The peace and tranquillity of the gardens was a refreshing contrast to the busy tourist hotspots nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a lovely garden!! We had a very enjoyable walk around this amazing garden. The garden and house is looked after almost entirely by volunteers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped here after Norman Lindsay and it was magnificent, like a place on its own which made us forget where we came from. Had tea at the tiny cafe after a sort of main garden. Great place for strolling, very peaceful & serene. Also visit the house.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful gardens, scenic views, wonderful art deco house. Enjoy exploring the gardens, sit and admire the views from the lookouts then have lunch in art deco cafe. Very friendly and helpful National Trust volunteers, a highlight of our trip to the Blue Mountains

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Historic House and Gardens also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Everglades Historic House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Historic House and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.