We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Fairmont with my daugther for our birthdays last weekend. We had been looking forward to this trip for almost 6 months. What we had anticipated was nothing like what we received.We checked in around 3pm and we were looking forward to cocktails by the fire. We couldnt get a seat in the Sublime lounge (which was overrun by screaming children) so we opted for the alternate area downstairs (which was the only other bar in the entire resort) we were told that we had to buy food if we wanted a drink. We had recently had lunch and were booked in at Eucalypt Restaurant so didnt want food. We were asked to leave and in desperation we went out of the resort in the cold and across the road to the Golf Club.(not the cocktails by the fire experience we had hoped for) we finally came back and thought we may as well go for a massage to fill in the time and we were stunned to find the resort has no spa on site! We finally found a seat in Sublime thanks to the friendly door man who felt so sorry for us. (who was the only good thing about the resort) We were there for at least an hour. The table was never cleaned from the previous guest which left us with their half eaten food and plates all over our table. We are still waiting for our scones to be delivered. The service at the bar was atrocious. I ordered two glasses of wine( if i;d waited for cocktails I would still be there next birthday) There were no clean glasses and I watched in horror as the bar man took dirty glasses from the dishwasher and placed them quickly under the pressured water of the coffee machine and then proceed to pour our wine. The glasses were filthy with sticky marks all on the outside. We left our full glasses and went to our room in disgust. What a waste of money. Next time I will stay in a B & B and book into Silks Restaurant, have lunch and cocktails at Leura Garage and save myself at least $300 in the process. The staff don't care, there is no service at all and the management should be embarrassed and take a good look at themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    605
    263
    86
    84
See reviews for
490
766
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Fairmont over the school holidays. The renovation has made a huge difference and the rooms are pleasant with lovely views. The restaurants were cosy, particularly the cafe with its beatiful open fire. Staff were a bit light on in the main restaurant but that would be the only complaint. Great place for the kids with play rooms, movie theatre and an indoor and outdoor pool. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from 3 days /2 nights in the Blue Mountains. It was for hubby and I first real time away from kids for more years than I can admit to (a long time).
Picked the Fairmont over Lilianfels for value and the Fairmont's significant and gorgeous grounds. (Golf course next door). Got a great deal (30% off til Oct - check this) on a superior room. It was lovely (room 338) overlooking the mountains. Very nice vibe there. (Update that video system though guys!)
Staff on entry were very friendly and helpful and the foyer, leading to the huge windows that offer mountain views are a great way to start our Fairmont experience. The gingerbread house was there plus decorations as always and are a lovely festive touch. I loved the gym/pool/sauna facility. Even though it is need of some beautification its functionality was much appreciated. sauna nice and hot, gym handy, and the pool was more like swimming in a spa bath. SO warm and lovely against the cold outside.
We were lucky with the weather, crisp yet sunny and really loved the bird filled walks in the extensive and beautiful grounds. Also loved relaxing by the fire in Embers bar for an extended period of time. Had a great steak meal there one evening. Not inexpensive, but where is in Laura? Breakfast is very good, not great (Better bread and coffee please). Staff again very helpful.
What topped off a fantastic mini break was a concierge called Chris who also works in the health club. I spoke to him before we arrived for tips on eateries and walks. Best concierge help ever! A credit to M Gallery hotels. Made the whole experience so personal and easy. Thank you.

The hotel seems to be being progressively renovated . Some parts lovely while some aspects of the hotel need upgrading yet thanks to lcoation, surrounds, great rooms, staff etc we had a 5 star experience.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: If you want a view pay for the superior of deluxe options. Views amazing. Otherwise garden views wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent a lovely evening out in Leura at The Fairmont Resort for the Christmas in July "Yulefest" dinner which is held in Jamisons Restaurant.This is a bit of an annual event for us and we really enjoy returning to The Fairmont year after year because of the atmosphere, decorations, log fires & all over beautiful "wintery" ambience.Of course a little visit from Santa mid year is also very special!!

We booked into the 6pm sitting ( there was also an 8.30pm sitting) and on arrival we were in awe of the beautiful selection of food presented so delightfully on the buffet.There was an assortment of fresh salads, a variety of fresh seafood (smoked salmon, oysters & prawns), there was cold chicken & ham, a selection of hot dishes including roasts,curries & fish with plenty of fresh vegetables as well. The dessert buffet was abundant and of course the chocolate fountain with a myriad of dipping treats went down extremely well with the children.

All up a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The food was much better this year than last year and the wait staff were professional and friendly throughout the evening.

Our only issue was with the drink service. On arrival we were given wine lists and we went on to order several drinks and bottles of wine. Sadly though after almost 30 minutes our drinks were nowhere to be seen despite chasing down the barman a couple of times. It was very obvious there was a critical shortage of bar staff for the Restaurant and the people on the table behind us were also complaining about the lack of service in this area.What a shame the Restaurant wasn't abe to provide the egg nog and other beverages we would have liked to enjoy with our meal rather than having to rely on the bar to bring the drinks through to us. On events of this size there really needs to be a better beverage system so that people aren't disapponted because the food really was delicious. Given that we were on a limited time block due to the next sitting flow is essential to the overall dining experience.

Hint - if you are a dessert person then get in early because once a particular item on the buffet goes it is NOT replaced. Sadly the Crouqembouche was gobbled up at lightning speed resulting in many disappointed faces later in the evening! Really for $90 a head surely they could make a couple of these more "popular" desserts and less of the more common ones that were still available at the end.

All up though if they iron out the bar service I can recommend this as a wonderful mid year winter experience in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I came from sydney for a weekend away. We paid a lot of money to stay there for one night, expecting a king size bed but instead got two single beds push together. The staff were rude and one member insulted my girlfriend, ruining our breakfast. The room walls were paper thin, we could here children jumping off beds above us, and people talking at 6am on Sunday morning in the room next to us. They wanted top dollar "$360" for one night, we would have been better to stay at a dorm for $20 dollars. Tennis courts had speed humps and were flooded, THIS PLACE SUX'S PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY.

Room Tip: Drive past this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 212 rooms, the Fairmont Resort is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends or family or a business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort, Blue Mountains has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dinning options, indoor heated pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.