We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Poor Dinning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place Poor Dinning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place with great position. The room was of a good standard.
But the resort was let down by the dinning experience.
On the Friday night due to the weather we would have preferred to dine in but the fine restaurant was booked out, The buffet was not open and the Embers area was packed out. This is unacceptable for a 250 plus room hotel.
The Saturday night there was a seafood buffet which we attended. We were disappointed with the variety of seafood supplied as it was at a level that you would get from a standard Buffet.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful but we ordered a bottle of wine and had to ask a number of times when we would receive it. One couple ordered a bottle of red wine and received it when they were eating their desert.
This is what let this resort down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear "KRM52", thank you for the feedback and we were pleased you enjoyed aspects of your stay. Our apologises however for the disappointment in being unable to dine on the first night due to the restaurants being full and also for the delay with wine service on the following night. This is being reviewed with the staff working on that evening.
Thank you for choosing Fairmont MGallery whilst visiting the Blue Mountains and Leura.
Regards,

Geoffrey R York
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    604
    262
    86
    84
See reviews for
490
763
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The entrance to the Fairmont belies the grandeur hidden behind the automatic doors! You enter a large reception area with high ceilings, large comfortable leather lounges and a magnificent view over the Megalong Valley.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 12.30pm, but we were told it would be ready shortly & that reception would ring us to let us know when it was available. I was dubious that we’d get a call before the official check-in time of 2pm, but at 1.00pm we received a call to say the room was ready for us.

The service & friendliness of the staff was second to none throughout our stay. Everybody said hello & were very friendly & courteous.

Our king room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable for our two night stay and had a pleasant view overlooking the pool and across the bushland that surrounds the resort itself. There was a large flatscreen TV and a well stocked bar fridge that still had enough room in it for us to put the bottle of wine we’d brought with us into it.

My only complaint about the room would be that the TV reception was really poor, even the cable channels were grainy and had lines across the picture, but it could have been affected by the horrendous weather we had whilst there. The bath also was very low and a ‘blocky’ shape so it wasn't too comfortable to lie in and didn't hold enough water for my liking.

We had the seafood buffet dinner at the Jamison’s restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was amazing. It cost $69 per person, but there was a large range of food on offer from salads, seafood (oysters, prawns, salmon & mussels), cooked mains (lamb curry, roast beef, mushroom & truffle gnocchi) a large range of desserts and a chocolate fountain that was very popular with adults & kids alike.

On the Sunday night we ate at Embers because the restaurant wasn't open. The food was ok, but there’s not a huge selection on offer. My husband had the steak which was cooked perfectly. I had pepperoni & cheese pizza which was ok, but was too doughy and had way too much cheese and a smattering of the pepperoni. Several tables around us had the chicken curry which looked and smelt fantastic.

On Saturday night we wanted to have a drink at the Embers bar, but it was very busy. It’s the only place to drink onsite and I think the space should be bigger for the size of the resort, it was very busy for most of the night and it was disappointing not to be able to relax with a drink after dinner.

If you plan on eating at Jamison’s, I would recommend getting there early, we arrived at around 6.30pm and got a seat without having a reservation, but it was getting quite full from around 7pm.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with a large selection on offer including bacon, eggs, hash-browns, cheese & crackers, cereals, danish’s and toast & spreads.

There is onsite parking, but this got full quickly and there is overflow parking a bit further away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Have lunch at the Leura gourmet cafe. The food was excellent and they have a great view. Get there e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful resort.Stayed 2 nights and loved it.Very comfortable,and the staff all very pleasant.Meals in Embers were very enjoyable and well priced.Breakfast was fantastic.Would definately recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the Blue Mountains,pay the extra for brekky,well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor,great views,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Lovely foyer, great facilities nice restaurants, and the room was very comfortable. The staff were helpful. Our daughter fell through the drain at the pool due to old fixtures, we advised the front desk and it was replaced by the next day. There is a merry go round for kids which was a hit but there was confusion over when it was open - the sign said one thing and staff said something else. I noticed on the day we left the sign was taken down.
I do wish in the room they had a map of the hotel and where the pool , kids rooms were etc.
Will definitely go back to this accommodation - we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Being a Blue Mountains Resident, and hearing about the recent history of the Fairmont, I was keen to see what the new owners had done. I stayed 4 nights for our company annual meeting. I had a Courtyard Room and it was a really decent size. The furnishing were not new, but in good shape and contemporary and stylish. The AC was a little disappointing as it didn't really seem to do anything. This was OK as the outside temp was about 24 degrees most days, but it could be a problem on really hot days or in the middle of winter. On the whole, the rooms were good. The shower in my room however was the main let down. It could be best described as a dribble. As such it took forever to shower. I wasn't happy about this at all. I did report it but I have no idea if it was looked at or not.

The dinning was good. Catering for conferences at these types of venues are notoriously bad....however, the Fairmont did a great job in the is area. It was a little hard to get a drink in the public areas after about 10 pm. There are some great facilities (library, billiards room, tennis & squash courts, outdoor pool, etc) and they all seem to be kept in great shape.

The conference venue and support was great also.

I'm glad to see this great hotel get back on its feet again and I would be happy to stay again....even though I do live down the road :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

1. We booked a Superior Room - 2 Queen Beds, given key to Room 401 with King Size Bed, when queried at Reception ( Michelle) we were told we had been upgraded to a De-Luxe Room, and no rooms with 2 beds were available, we could live with that!!!
2.On 2nd night about 2-00am we heard Drip, Drip, Drip, Ceiling was leaking and noise kept us awake. In the Morning we reported the matter and went to Breakfast.
3. On checking out we were pleasantly surprised to be credited with one night and the evening meal we had on the first night, but that did not make we did not leave feeling that we had enjoyed a pleasant Break.
4. Comments;- Car Parking is a disaster, no area set aside for residents Not attending a Seminar.
The Bath/ shower arrangement is an accident waiting to happen, shower squre has dimpled floor but bath is slippery, and it hard to get into the shower without using the Bath section. ( Try It )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for the feedback and apologises that your stay was marred by the water leak. The local area was impacted by torrential rains that weekend and some drainage was unable to cope. Your booking had been upgraded to a deluxe room with the best of intentions by the front office team and when you reported the water leak the next day a refund was made as a gesture of apology.
There is extensive car parking provided albeit spread over several levels and is more than usually sufficient for both hotel and conference guests.
We will make contact with you offline for a further discussion on this.
Regards,

Geoffrey R York
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milperra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After some difficulty in finding the "Fairmont". ( The GW Highway sign not followed up with side street signage ? ) We experienced good service,with clean and well appointed facilities. Breakfast was possibly the best fare encounted for a very long time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 212 rooms, the Fairmont Resort is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends or family or a business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort, Blue Mountains has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dinning options, indoor heated pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.