We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Resort - Leura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fairmont Resort - Leura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We love coming back to Fairmont resort. The location is magic and the gardens around the hotel are always calming and beautiful.
We found the staff at the reception very helpful and responsive. In fact we've already booked a couple of nights for February and the staff was very kind to provide us with the rooms we asked for.
The only area that needs improving is the cafe- restaurant which is open all day. We found the service very average and inconsistent (one male waiter very professional and excellent and another waitress not so professional) and the quality of food served could be better (i.e. too much dressing on salads). However, breakfast was great and the staff vas very friendly and helpful.
The facilities (pool, spa etc.) need renovation but I guess that will be done in the future.
I definitely recommend this hotel. It is the only place to stay in Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    567
    234
    78
    79
See reviews for
455
709
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for 2 nights. Booked fairmont room but got free upgrade to superior room on top floor (due to my Accor gold card). Very nice room that has clearly been refurbished recently. Resort pool and spa were fantastic with very clear water. Gardens around the resort were beautiful and we enjoyed just strolling around.
I have previously wanted to stay at Lilianfels in Katoomba, but on visiting Echo Point and seeing the crowds, we were very glad to be staying at the Fairmont - so nice to get away to the peace and quiet.
Buffet breakfast was great. Good choice of warm and cold foods. Dinner was excellent. Had steak one night and fish the other. Their pont neuf potatoes were incredible. And so was the apple and cranberry pie, and their special hot chocolate was amazing.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The resort was far from crowded from what I could tell. The only issue we had was the air conditioning didn't work the first day, but we didn't need it anyway. It was working fine the next day. If I had gone with my kids, I the they would have enjoyed it with the different facilities available on site, but I would be careful to make sure they were well behaved the whole time as the design aesthetics of the resort and the atmosphere lend it to be more on the luxurious quiet side.
All in all, it was a beautiful place that allowed to really slow down and relax. I would have loved to have been able to stay on longer, and would definitely go again. After all the bad stories of its recent past, the place has regained it's old world but modern charm that is definitely worth staying at.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently just stayed at this hotel for a staff conference and wanted to say thank you to the restaurant staff, particularly to Yvonne & Curtis for all their help with my dietary requirements.

Having only quite recently made the switch from vegetarian to vegan, it can be quite daunting eating out or asking for vegan food and they ensured I had food to eat (which was yum) and they made me feel like I was welcome.

The hotel is undergoing a refurb at the moment so things are a little dated in parts but the location is amazing and I only wished we were able to explore the area a little more.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here twelve months ago and thought amenities were improving. However, it is the little things that count...a used towel in the bathroom when we arrived, no coat hangers in the second of the family rooms we booked, a light that was not working, beer/wine bottles in the garden outside our room, cold eggs and slow refilling of the coffee and milk dispensers at breakfast overshadowed the attentiveness of staff and the general ambience of the Fairmont. Then there was the debacle over locating slip proof mats for the shower (over the bath) for our senior family member. Having been told that the Fairmont did not have any, my partner searched Leura for same, only to have Housekeeping turn up with two in his absence. Very irritating! But, the Fairmont did offer us two disabled rooms with walk in shower for the same cost - all with good grace and a desire to be helpful. I did report our concerns and thngs like the light and hangers were attended to with some alacrity. They also deducted the cost of the mini-bottle of gin we consumed! So, a mixed review. I cannot comment on the pools or gym as we did not use them but the children we saw seemed happy enough. The shop and the staff were lovely and a browse if not some purchases is recommended. We would stay again as we were there to see the Sport for Jove Shakespeare festival and the Fairmont appears to be a strong supporter of the various activities that go with it. It is just that the little things do count...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer, the feedback is appreciated and our apologises those items initially marred your experience. Our staff had gone out to purchase non slip bath mats following your request not expecting you would also do so. We were pleased to read your children had a fun time and that you also enjoyed the Sport for Jove Shakespeare performances for which the Fairmont is a key sponsor each January
We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont MGallery
Regards,

Geoffrey R York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was fine, good value, rooms clean, good location and especially enjoyed the close proximity of the golf course but when the hotel is full (which was pretty much the whole time we were there) the service in the bars and the main restaurent areas becomes very slow and quite frustrating. Could perhaps put on some more staff but the bar area is quite small give the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was celebrating my boyfriends birthday and arrived with a complimentary bottle of champagne from the hotel which we do thank you. The bed was so comfortable and staff was friendly. I couldnt say anything was bad. the carpark was a bit tight with space and someone did scratch our car a little bit. But other then that a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 212 rooms, the Fairmont Resort is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends or family or a business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort, Blue Mountains has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dinning options, indoor heated pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.