We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great to see the old place back!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Leura
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great to see the old place back!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I rarely write negative reviews, but I will admit that I did when this place was run by the previous owner. I am glad to update my entry since the new owner has taken over. What a fantastic job he and the GM and all the staff have done. I own up to my passion for the ACCOR brand and this team has done it proud. I stayed for a week with my wife recently, the old Fairmont is back! For us as old regular's from the day's when it was run by the then Pepper's brand this place is very special to us. Now it has a more modern look to it which is fantastic, but still the old ways of feeling welcomed and great service are back along with some of old staff. Food and rooms right on the money and I am so glad to see all those families back along with some old regular faces staying at the place again. The gardens are back to what they were many years ago and the very fact substantial investment has been put into the place clearly shows. I can't praise the enough all the staff, management and new owner. For the sterling job they have done, you should be listed as Five Stars!

Room Tip: If your travelling with kids look at getting a ground floor room with a small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear "Sydneyswagman", thank you for your posting and positive commentary on the many improvements and refurbishment that have ocurred over the past 18 months. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards,

Geoffrey York
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    532
    211
    68
    78
See reviews for
422
656
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

A very good hotel with a great surroundings, views, amenities, activities, leisure /sport centre and restaurant.
One of the reason we chose this hotel is because of the indoor pool, and it is really warming!

Other than the fact that you cannot find a single restaurant in 2km distance, everything else is excellent!

We travelled by train and bus, so it's a bit hassle to go by taxi out and in again in the night, we ended up having dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but the price is really reasonable!

We tought we had to take taxi to get to the hotel to check in from Leura Station as directed by the hotel's information staff. However we got another surprise when we decided to take the Blue Mt Trolley to go sightseeing around , it's actually coming straight in front of the hotel's foyer!

So it's a really great experience, and no doubt we'll stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our stay in Blue Mountains was enhanced by this hotel. It is under renovation but the renovation activities did not affect us. The food was great for breakfast and dinner. We did not have a vehicle but were able to use the hop on hop off bus to pick us up and drop us off. We were here only one night but would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great place, you couldnt ask for better surroundings.
The gardens are great to wander around and relax, food was perfect with a selection of three resteraunts all reasonably priced.
Rooms are spacious and very well appointed.
Buildings themselves are starting to show their age, cant wait to see the place after its 10m makeover which has started.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Great service, nice room, enjoyable stay. The fairmont resort is prefect for a blue mountains stay. Although the hotel has been around for many years it is still very well maintained. Only a short drive into leura & katoomba to enjoy the many sights & restaurants on offer.

Stayed July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection

Address: 1 Sublime Point Road, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 212 rooms, the Fairmont Resort is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends or family or a business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort, Blue Mountains has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including two restaurants, a bar lounge, indoor heated pool and outdoor pool, tennis and squash courts, table tennis, gymnasium and spa treatment facilities (by appointment). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection Leura, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Resort - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.