We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Alexandra Hotel
62 Great Western Highway, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4782 4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 37 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went on a Wednesday night and was fairly quiet. Pretty good service (4 out of 5). The restuarant is out the back of the hotel and took a while to find. Food was good sizes and reasonnably prices. Would go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent service, location, and the food was fantastic. It was so good we didn't bother going anywhere else for dinner on second or third nights. Well priced and great value for money.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“First night good, second disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went here 1st night on recommendation from the B&B. Food was very good but there was a mix up with the order which to be fair was dealt with and appeared to be the kitchen's fault not the waitress. We thoroughly enjoyed and booked for the steak night on the next evening. The restaurant was full but we were on holiday and chilled. That was until we saw everyone served including those who came in 30 minutes later. When we questioned it was quite apparent that they had lost our order - 2 steaks how difficult can that be. The waitress offered us extra drinks but by then we had had enough without something to eat. They tried to recover some of the situation by serving us with the last order being dealt with but one of the steaks was obviously ordered more well done than ours. My wife' s was too tough and she left a good portion.
To be fair to the waitress when we highlighted that this was the 2nd night the order was badly dealt with she cancelled the cost of one of the steaks.
Doesn't seem that they can cope with high volume/pressure which is a shame as otherwise it was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullaburra
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not quite right”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I applaud the person for writing the review "good chef/ bad chef", we too have been abused verbally by the same chef in question, its a shame really as I am a local and news travels fast and I absolutely adore the place and would hate to see it suffer in such a way, especially if the problem can ultimately be corrected.
The amount of times I have witnessed this "chef" belittle, abuse, insult and degrade with no guilt whatsoever makes me question her humanity.

My friends came here regularly to drink and socialise, lets say it didn't go well for the proprietor as they have not set foot back there again and never will.

Unfortunately good staff have come and gone, some are still there, be sure to make a bee line for them and stay out of harms way, if you do happen to dine there, food seems ok most of the time, nothing particularly special, satisfies most people needs, makes me wonder how people can get away with treating customers so badly especially in such a tourist dense area like leura, something has got to give. I encourage other people to come forward and air their concerns this behaviour is NOT acceptable.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good start”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great entres x 2 (Prawn Twisters and calamari to die for!!)
Mains - Beef Lasagna (supposedly homemade ?) with side salad drowned in mayonaise.
Service - disorganised and hot/cold

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra Hotel also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.