We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very popular coffee shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leura Garage

Leura Garage
84 Railway Parade, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 47843391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Pizza, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bathurst,,Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very popular coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First clas service, sitting in a renovated garage is just a little different; the staff are very friendly and very helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    193
    63
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The food was excellent, the staff was very friendly and the wine divine!
Loved every moment of it and went there twice for dinner.
Super cool place with funky interior.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“By far, Blue Mountains best dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Leura Garage. Brilliant food, very capable and friendly staff, prompt service, delightful ambiance....overall one of the best restaurant experiences we've ever had! You must try it out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst service - good food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were all extremely shocked with the terrible level or service at leura garage. They seemed to be nice when we went in during the day to ask about the booking process. As told, we went in at 4.30 to put our names down for a 6.30 sitting. We were told we would receive a call around this time and our table would be held for 15 mins.
At 6pm we received a call. The lady was very rude on the phone when we asked about a 6.30 table and said if someone came in before we got there they would give the table away. This was inconsistent with what they had originally told us.
When we arrived they were rude and made a personally rude comment to one of the people in out group.
Another waiter was also rude when we asked for the bill. He got angry at us for not ordering dessert as we had been "taking up the table". We were not there for longer than 1.5 hours and had been simply eating our food / drinking wine.
If your looking for nice staff and service do not go here.
Good food but really let down by the people running the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Leura Garage Restaurant is a must visit if you are in the Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Leura is a beautiful quaint town in the Blue Mountains. It has the usual selection of cafes and eateries but the Leura Garage Restaurant/Cafe/Bar stands out as the best by a big margin.

It is positioned centrally just over the road from the station and just off the main street. It has outside seating with couple and families eating, drinking and watching the world go by. Inside the restaurant, it is fitted out around all the old garage equipment. It has a real buzz and edgy atmosphere and you feel you are in a restaurant where all the staff know what they are doing and they do it well.

The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner. Sadly they do not open for breakfast. I would have been a regular visitor for that meal as well if it had been open for brekki. The lunch and dinner menu is clever. There are small tapas plates, meat and cheese platters and ordinary entre, main and dessert courses. They also turn out really excellent thin cut pizzas, in the best italian style, which are some of the best I have tasted in Australia.

The wine and beer list is good and offers reasonable value. The staff were really switched on and just hit the right balance of attentiveness and discretion. You can also watch the kitchen and the head chef and his team working to prepare your food dishes. They look well organised and motivated which kind of supports the overall buzz of the restaurant.

My wife, young son (8 years old) and myself visited the Leura Garage Restaurant 3 times over a long week-end break. Without it, our time in Leura would not have been nearly so much fun. This place is the best restaurant in the area and is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leura Garage also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Leura Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leura Garage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.