We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loaves & The Dishes

Loaves & The Dishes
180 Leura Mall, Leura, New South Wales NSW 2780, Australia
02 4784 3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 37 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just ordered drinks - they were served to us at the table very promptly. The food in the display case looked great - but we had already eaten lunch. Lots of gluten free options

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    11
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've been keen to try this place for a while but we wished we hadn't! We were there for lunch with our two kids. There was no highchair and we were made to feel that our kids weren't welcome. We asked for a small serve of pasta for our son and we were charged $16 for a basic penne with pesto that had been reheated to the point of being inedible. The Pre prepared meals looked great but were average at best and the extra $5 added on for the privilege of dining in was outrageous (lunch and water for 3 people cost us $60). The service wasn't great and the place seemed more geared towards the tour buses that line the street outside. All the food was reheated in the microwave and for what it was it was way overpriced. Leura has much better on offer for a lot less.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic retro old style cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not a lot to be impressed by at first sight, but come inside and experience great friendly service. Only had a smoothie but it was fantastic. Felt like a kid again :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our group had Breakfast here, food was tasty and served in very quick time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

very friendly staff, nothing was a trouble and they served us quickly as we had an early train to catch

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“There are better places across the road”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place seems to be run on the basis of 'What can we pre-prepare and display in the chilled cabinet ready to shove in the microwave when anybody wants it?'. I had a thing described as a Spanish Omelette and it was very poor. How can anybody make an omelette so watery? To make matters worse, it was expensive.

Definitely NOT recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loaves & The Dishes also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Loaves & The Dishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loaves & The Dishes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.