We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Door Cafe

Red Door Cafe
134 The Mall, Leura, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Leura
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went to Red Door Cafe with my family after visiting the Blue Mountains. The cafe was relatively busy as it was around lunch time so some of us sat at the window bar and others at a table. I accidentally knocked the off the sugar off the bar and it smashed and spilled. I was super apologetic and embarrassed but was genuinely sorry when i approached one of the staff. I was responded with a blunt and angry "well that's very annoying isn't it" and stormed off to get a broom. Needless to say the rest of the experience was increasingly worst as the staff mad it extremely obvious they did not want us there. As a final punishment to me from the staff they put a large wedge of rotten, mouldy tomato in my side salad. To sum up the experience. Worst lunch of my life. I left wanting to cry. Would not recommend this cafe to anyone!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    83
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Leura”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The title says it all. They have really good food too, cosy, casual seating and the staff are fabulous.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved the menu, service, the vibe and the location right in the main street. Gorgeous food and great value. Happy staff made for a lovely experience on a crowded Sunday in August! Food to suit all tastes and predilictions!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good locals cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a coffee here on a wintery day & it was buzzing. We didn't eat but the food looked good particularly the soup. The staff were polite enough but seemed a little flat. That said, it is a good alternative to the more touristy cafes in town & worth trying for a coffee or snack.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A nice Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped at the Red Door for morning tea. The coffee was excellent, as was the banana bread. Staff were efficient and nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Door Cafe also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Red Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Door Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.