We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethany Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bethany Manor to your Saves list
Bethany Manor
8 East View Avenue, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 14 Leura B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a beautiful B and B. The rooms were clean and quaint. The ambience of the place was restful and peaceful. The breakfasts are amazing and now I have to diet for a week!
The snow fall on our last morning was an absolute bonus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I had not stayed at a B&B previously, so we were a bit apprehensive. Bethany Manor certainly exceeded expectations. Greg and Jill's home is immaculately kept. The bedroom we stayed in was comfortably furnished with lovely pieces. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Our privacy was never an issue. Breakfast was made to order. Greg and Jill provided transportation from and to the train station and provided much information about activities in and around Leura. In short, Greg and Jill do a superb job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We were pleasantly surprised at the privacy and seclusion of Bethany Manor. We stayed over the Easter weekend and were happy that Greg and Jill did not increase prices because of the public holiday. Jill welcomed us warmly and gave us information on where to go - what the local spots were, what the touristy spots were, where the best places to eat were etc. Then, we were completely on our own. After reading reviews of other B&Bs, it seems some hosts can be bothersome, but that is completely untrue of Jill & Greg. Their breakfast is amazing and they leave you completely on your own, but provide help when needed. They also provide tennis balls and rackets for the tennis court they have in the yard. The location of Bethany Manor is also far enough away from the noise of Leura Mall and yet close enough to walk if you want to get there. The bed is cosy and comfortable. The room has every amenity you could think of and the spa bath is divine. We could not recommend this B&B enough. Thanks to Jill and Greg for a lovely weekend stay :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having never stayed in a bed breakfast before, I was a little concerned as to whether the experience would be a positive one. Would we feel like intruders in someone's home? Would we feel like we had no privacy? Would it be 'kinda weird?!' In short, the answer was No!

The positives:

* The property is a beautiful heritage style home that is in great nick and well maintained.

* We stayed in 'Tomah'. The room is cosy and warm. The whole house has the benefit of central heating. We were never cold and never too hot. I don't think I've slept so well since I moved into the city! Be aware that it's not a huge room but was more than enough for our weekend stay. It may have been a different story if my fiancee and I had two suitcases each.

* The bathroom is HUGE and luxurious with a massive spa bath.

* Good location - only a 5 minute drive into Katoomba and a 1 - 2 minute drive into Leura. If you're on foot, it would take you about 10 minutes to walk into Leura.

* Good hearty breakfast! Every morning, a buffet of cereal, freshly cut fruit (as well as fruit in syrup), tomato juice and yoghurt was laid out for you to tuck into whilst you wait for your home cooked hot country style breakfast which consists of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, mushrooms and toast. My fellow and I eat A LOT and we were both more than satisfied each morning. Greg would offer 'extra toast' but we never needed to take him up on this offer.

* It's the small details that Greg and Jill apply that make the stay so special - including the little vase of flowers in your room and on your breakfast table, to the candles in your bathroom, and Greg remembering how you have your eggs, how you have your coffee (or whether you prefer tea), your preferred bread for your toast and even what condiments you'd like on the table.

* Daily newspaper is available, good selection of DVD's for those rainy days or cold nights, tea and coffee making facilities, cookies, fruit cake and cold water are available in the "common room" (living room with comfy couches). Tea and coffee making facilities were also available in the comfort of your own room if you don't feel like venturing out at all.

* Greg and Jill are such lovely and gentle hosts. They were always ready with a smile and happy to provide advice on where to go, what to do, where to eat, and the 'best ways' to get into town. The service and the atmosphere is so much more personal compared to staying at a resort or hotel.

* Lovely garden with lots of seating. Unfortunately it was too cold and a bit wet for us to enjoy a tea outside. We were only able to wonder about the garden before we left when the sun came out.

The 'down side'..

There was only one really, and that was we ran out of hot water one night to fill up our tub! I believe the other rooms were occupied and I think we were the last of the lot to fill our spa bathes (I believe all the rooms have one).

All in all, would most definitely recommend this wonderful B and B to anyone!

Room Tip: Tomah has a huge tub to soak in and I believe one of the largest bathrooms in the home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

What an awesome place to stay. Greg and Jill have provided a lovley b&b and are wonderfull hosts. Beautifull breakfast, lovley rooms and house. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathrooms are lovley also. We have totally enjoyed our stay and will stay again. Thank you very much for having us.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at this B&B. Our room was extremely comfortable and all the little extras - in the lounge - nibbles, drinks, tea, coffee, port, etc made this a pretty special B&B. Breakfasts were brilliant and help and advice excellent. Doubt we will go to Oz again unfortunately but if we did we would definitely choose this place again. Apart from the B&B Leura is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Sorry I don't think the B&B has a pool but I don't seem to be able to change this from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and could easily have stayed longer. Great location and very comfortable rooms complete with spa baths. The spa bath was very welcome after our walking in the Blue Mountains, and the glass of port, with the homemade cake kept us going until we got dinner in one of the many local restaurants.
Good place to stay to see the Three Sisters

Good breakfasts and it is worth taking the time just to stay around the house and appreciate the local birds in the beautifully kept garden.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethany Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethany Manor

Address: 8 East View Avenue, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the foothills of the World Heritage-listed Blue Mountains, Bethany Manor Bed & Breakfast is the ideal spot for a weekend mountain escape. 800m from the beautiful village of Leura. A sweeping gravel driveway leads guests to this cosy Leura hideaway equipped with a full-sized tennis court and magnificently landscaped gardens. Light-streamed leadlight windows and a shady verandah gives Bethany Manor a touch of old world charm while lovingly decorated rooms featuring double spa baths and Wi-Fi connection provide all the modern comforts. An afternoon tea of good old fashioned baking awaits your arrival. A hot country-style breakfast paired with homemade jam served every morning in the stunning Garden View room is included in the room rate. Courtesy drop off is offered to local restaurants and to and from Leura railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bethany Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethany Manor Leura, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethany Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.