We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times past …and now best forgotten” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington Dining Room, The

Carrington Dining Room, The
15 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4782 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 72 Restaurants in Katoomba
Restaurant details
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Times past …and now best forgotten”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant in March 2013 as part of a cruise ship excursion. We found the hotel very interesting and elegant.

However, the food was plain, with inflexible staff and crowded seating in a huge ballroom/conference centre. The menu for the day looked similarly uninspiring.

Overall, this was far from exceptional or even satisfactory as a luncheon venue. Exploring around the hotel I felt that this was a place that time had neglected, with many interesting architectural features but somehow not able to attract the investment needed to maintain the elegance of the bygone age in which it originated. For example the garden and grounds layout was very grand, the planting less so, and the overall impression definitely spoilt by the plethora of skateboarders who seemed free to roam them. This was not a memorable lunch on what had otherwise been a good day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Sorry dreadful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have already written about this restaurant in my review of the hotel, the service was erratic, the food only partially available and pretty average re quality. Disappointing for us as residents. On a 3 day stay we only ate there once after our experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Dinner and two breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Impressive, grand colonial style dining room in the Carrington Hotel! High ceiling and chandeliers, and a huge dresser! Meal was very good, breakfasts buffet style or a cooked breakfast. Great experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“Splendid Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very enjoyable. Nice choices of tea, with option of plunegr coffee and hot chocolate. I wonder if they serve Afternoon Tea on the verandah if it is a beautiful day?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Taken back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had the two course dinner and the food was delicious. The most amazing feature about the dining room is that it virtually takes you back in time, as all the furniture, to carpet, to light fittings, props etc are all maintained in its original condition from the late 1800's. The pianist playing throughout the night was a bonus, as we were able to enjoy amazing food, whilst soaking in the romantically ambient environment with the soothing music to the ears all simultaneously which really set the scene and allow you to appreciate the buildings history and heritage.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrington Dining Room, The also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Carrington Dining Room, The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington Dining Room, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.