We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic in Katoomba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carrington Dining Room

The Carrington Dining Room
15 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4782 1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic in Katoomba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I had a great Cocktail here. It's such a great old Mansion and friendly service. Will make this a must on my future trips.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    4
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had breakfast here as part of my weekend in the Blue Mountains. The continental breakfast is included with the stay at the hotel but for an extra $12.50 per person, a hot breakfast selection can be added. The package I chose included a hot breakfast. There were not too many choices of food to choose from with the hot breakfast but it sure was delicious. The continental breakfast wasn't bad either.

The decor of the Dining Room was historic, in keeping with the decor at the rest of the hotel. The staff was attentive and friendly, but service was relatively slow. I didn't mind as I had all the time in the world. It was a relaxing weekend after all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“we had a function there, great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

beautiful food, good service, lovely building, historic features

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine dining in the heart of the blue mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We didn't stay at the carrington but went in to see if there were any dining options. The Dining Room was where we booked dinner and it has a great feel to it. The old world charm, fantastic silver service and 5 star dining made the night memorable. Staff were very friendly and there was even a pianist playing during dinner making the atmosphere very enjoyable. The meals were beautifully presented and there was a nice break in between dinner and dessert. I would recommend this place to those wanting a nice romantic night out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Breakfast was delicious. Dinner good but poor service. Fortunately we were not in a hurry.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carrington Dining Room also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Carrington Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carrington Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.