We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster, The

Rooster, The
48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4782 1206
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 70 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: QUALITY TRADITIONAL FRENCH CUISINE REASONABLY PRICED, WONDERFUL LOCATION AND AMBIANCE WITH SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE JAMISON VALLEY. BAR, EXTENSIVE REASONABLY PRICED WINE LIST, BYO WINE OUTSIDE DINING, BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED EDWARDIAN BUILDING BUILT 1895 GUEST HOUSE WITH FOUR LUXURY GUESTROOMS, DESSERT OF THE WEEK. OFTEN LIVE DINING MUSIC ON WEEKENDS
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food and service was perfect. We loved every morsel it was delicious. Barry and Alex's service was impeccable. Michael was extremely gracious and could not have done more for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best French”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Service was not the greatest, we had to ask for our bread and follow up with our wine order a few times. Considering the price, we expected a higher quality of food for $85 a person.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor indeed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I went to this restaurant whilst staying in Katoomba a few months ago after reading good reviews on another website. To start with we were greeted rather aggressively by the Maitre D' who was very overbearing and strange. He treated the two eighteen year-old daughters more like ten year-olds, assuming they wouldn't eat greens, drink anything but soda or like any of the seafood dishes.
The meals were bland and boring, except for the onion soup which was delicious.
A "French Salad" that cost something like 15 dollars was nothing more than pre-washed leaves in some olive oil. Not something worth travelling for. We were so disappointed by the meals we didn't consider the dessert.
The decor was stuffy and old-fashioned, but that was the style they wanted so can't really fault it. The service was slow but at the same time strangely intrusive.
Usually it isn't about the restaurant, it's about the people you go with, but for this kind of price and reputation to be left feeling disappointed and ripped off is not a good thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney NSW
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in the Katoomba area for a meeting and were invited to join others who had been to the restaurant previously.

It was a bitterly cold night but the decor and warmth of the restaurant made you forget that immediately.

The classic French fare was excellent.the service was attentive but not too obvious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming, cosy restaurant, but on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant serves a classic French menu, with onion soup and cheese soufflé on the entrée menu and duck as one of the mains. Between us, we tried all of these, as well as the rack of lamb and were well satisfied. Serving sizes were adequate. A plus is that you can bring your own wine, although the corkage is steep, at $6/head. At $72/head for two courses, this is a somewhat pricey establishment. As for ambience, we were seated in the small front room where there are four or five tables, making for a cosy experience. However, the service was somewhat chaotic, with several waiters appearing at different times, which was not helpful to continuity of service. Overall, though, it was a good night out and worth a visit for a more elegant meal than one might generally find in the nearby Katoomba main street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster, The also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Rooster, The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.