We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky retro look and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Cafe Restaurant

Savoy Cafe Restaurant
26 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
61 2 4782 5050
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 72 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“funky retro look and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I enjoyed the meal but my partner thought it was just average pub style food . The decor and atmosphere was very Newtown ( Sydney ) or Fitzroy ( Melbourne ) and was quite original .Waitress was dressed in the rock and roll gear as well .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    55
    22
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Really enjoyed a delicious lunch at the Savoy, great staff good atmosphere and good value, the Tandoori Turkish roll is to be recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Average quality, big menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I ordered a lentil, pumpkin and feta pie.It was about $16. I got a shock when it arrived because it was burned and just not what I had in mind. Too much pastry! It was a very big and very tasty serving with TOO MANY chips. Why do places put so many chips on the plate? It is acceptable for some of the actual plate to be seen. It was about 4 potatoes worth - fresh but offputting. Really fresh simple salad served with it. Ambience was OK with lots of young backpackers at the booths. Livened things up.
Very few of the empty tables were clean. Most had crumbs or food or cups on them. There were only two tables of diners there when I arrived, so it can't have been too hard to clear the tables. Just a bit sloppy overall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice food bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

went to the savoy for breakfast the meals were nice but the service lacks
dirty tables and slow drinks our food came out first

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vibe Kill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Overall, our experience was pretty sub-par. We went there on Sunday night around 8pm. With respect of the experience, the restaurant was half full when we arrived. Staff appeared to be inattentive to the patrons and general duties. Tables were left dirty for extended periods of time and drinks had to be followed up on a couple of occasion.
With regard to the food, the restaurant offers a large menu, but lacked structure and was quite simple. My girlfriend had the beef lasagne and I had the Chicken Snitchel. In summary, we felt the meals were overpriced for what we got. The meals game out quick but the cook brought the meals out himself.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savoy Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Savoy Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.