We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit, would definetely go again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paragon Restaurant

Paragon Restaurant
65 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
61 2 4782 2928
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 72 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit, would definetely go again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a fabulous place, we had a great night. The food was lovely and the staff, friendly and accommodating. This place has a beautiful old world atmosphere & charm. Their chocolate from the chocolate factory on site is to die for & a tour of this place & it's history is well worth a look

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    38
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit to Paragon Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Really enjoy it 3 of the staff chatted with us made us feel welcome. Was able to check out the 3 other rooms that are back of cafe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor service, lengthy wait for average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We waited (with an impatient 3yr old and 8month old) approximately 45mins for a burger, a wrap and 2 serves of waffles. The food was ok, the lamb wrap the most disappointing. Only got 1 choc milkshake even though we ordered 2, never got the second bottle of water we asked for. Waitress was friendly and pleasant. [no baby change facility]

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A step back in time but needs a lot of maintenance. Slow service and average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It's certainly interesting to step back in time. This place was decorated in 30s and looks like it hasn't changed one bit. Whilst that is interesting (particularly the two back rooms) it needs a massive injection of cash to maintain this place and fix peeling paint and miriad of other maintenance issues. The service is very slow for dinner and the menu very limited (3 choices of mains). It's not suitable for kids at all for dinner and we got lots of sideway looks from patrons and staff from our kids who were running out of patience after a lengthy wait for their meals. The food is average at best. We had to send the kids burger back as meat was almost completely raw. It would probably be ok for a coffee and chocolate from the chocolate bar but definitely wouldn't recommend for dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“misleading opening information led to a night searching for a restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Despite a large sign on the door indicating the restaurant was now open for dinner on Sunday night and the presence of staff inside we were turned away recently and tole they were closed. This was very inconvenient as it was raining and cold

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paragon Restaurant also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Paragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paragon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.