We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For retro feel - great. Food - over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paragon Restaurant

Paragon Restaurant
65 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
61 2 4782 2928
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 74 restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Blackheath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“For retro feel - great. Food - over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are going to the Paragon for a real retro experience, then it's the place. If you are going for great food for a great price - forget it. You are simply paying for the experience. Instead go to the Carrington Hotel, have a lovely lunch in the beautiful retro 30's bar - and the food is a massive improvement. Plus the Carrington Hotel is beautiful and really feels like you are stepping back in time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    25
    38
    29
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seriously on my to do list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We popped in to look at this icon but didn't have the time to stay. We're going to book in to a show there - it's a step back in time. For tango dancers, it's the kind of place that you just want to take to the floor between the tables...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We went in on the weekend and it was packed out, but we were still able to get a table and be served; everything wa great. The service was swift and kind, and the food delictable. The Greek Art Deco is gorgeous as well! The cocktail lounge is a secret gem! Check it out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My comments echo those of previous entries:
1. painfully slow and insensitive service
2. forgot half our order
3. pedestrian food - the kind you find in a truck stop
4. delapidated - smell, exposed wiring, ugly speakers
5. dirty - the bar area was being used for 'cleaning', scraping off food, and preparing drinks...
The State Theatre in Sydney and the Civic Theatre in Newcastle are both buildings in this style - and neither of them look as sad and neglected as the Paragon.
I won't be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This lovely old cafe is an icon. The decor is old world and cosy with little cubicles. The service was friendly but a bit slow. The menu was surprisingly diverse and the yummy milkshakes and homemade chocolate welcome !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paragon Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Paragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paragon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.