We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely art deco gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paragon Restaurant

Paragon Restaurant
65 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
61 2 4782 2928
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 74 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely art deco gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Whilst food is just ok, the place is worth a visit for the decor. Its hard to imagine that so much original decor has survived from the early 1900s and its such a treat to sit in the booths and soak up the atomosphere which is aided by the very quaint music being played. There is a lot of work to be done to bring this whole place up to scratch. Take the time to have a wonder through the back rooms where there is a cocktail bar and original bathrooms.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    76
    43
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great sense of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This cafe has done well to retain the decor and style of its early days. Makes it stand out from the crowd. Enjoyed an antipasto platter which we shared. Service was ordinary. Our young wait person didn't know that shiraz is a red wine. Even after we clarified our order a glass of white wine was initially brought to us. Overall we enjoyed our visit.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very happy to have diner in this old fashioned dining room. We did not understand why we could not choose a table which remained empty as we were there.
And the food was ok but not at the level of the place and prices...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The lovely 1920s atmosphere, it really sets the mood and the staff and food were fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was such a great day for us and the paragon made it so amazing. The scones were delicious and the coffees were the best I've had in ages! I've missed such good food! The staff were really friendly and easy to approach, as well as very speedy in getting our orders and food. The back rooms are also just as gorgeous as the cafe itself, highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice decor, average food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited to have a special morning tea with some overseas friends. It took ten minutes to get seated.
The staff were a litter over eager to get out order, barely giving us even one minute after we sat down to peruse the menu and make our choices. We asked politely to be given more time, and they certainly did that, we waited ages!
Other customers who came in after us were served first and we nearly thought we'd been forgotten. Once we were finally able to give our orders, we had several of our choices (in regards to cakes and slices) turned down as "we don't have any of that at the moment". So what's the point of a menu then, if most of the items are not available?

After making several changes to our order, finally we started our wait for it all to be served. They do have a nice art deco interior to look at whilst you wait.

The coffee was average, the cakes were average too. One person thought theirs was on the dry side.

We went to pay our bill, and were told that someone had paid it for us. We were confused as who on Earth would do that for a bunch of strangers? Two confused staff members huddled together by the cash register trying to make sense of it.

It turned out, our bill got mixed up with the people who had just paid and left before us. They had paid our bill without knowing or realising the restaurant had given them the wrong bill and so we ended up paying their much cheaper bill. I'm sure those poor people were thinking how incredibly high their bill was for such a small order! So I would suggest you carefully check your bill before you pay it if you decide to eat here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paragon Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Paragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paragon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.