We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropole Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropole Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Metropole Guesthouse
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Cnr Gang Gang & Lurline Sts, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Convenient location, 25 meters away from katoomba rail station. Once alighting from the rail station, it would be on your left. Extremely surprised on how near the hotel is from the station. Booked a one bedroom unit, meant for solo traveller. Room is small but adept. No door to the ensuite bathroom, tv available, occasional noise from the passing trains. No facilities apart from the restaurant. Didn't have my meals there as I believe there are cheaper options. Highly recommended should you just require a place to sleep. 49aud per night, great value. To top it off, very helpful reception.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the passing trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
13
63
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Looking for somewhere to take myself, husband and two teenage daughters on holiday, a neighbour suggested we try the Metropole Guesthouse in the Blue Mountains.
We discovered when we enquired that the guesthouse has a four bedroom flat on the premises, just right for our family. The Metropole is in a great location just around the corner from the main street shops and cafes, which meant my daughters could go off by themselves and explore the many op shops and vintage shops while my husband and I could enjoy the beautiful gardens open for the Leura Festival. We all did some great walks and enjoyed the meals together in the lovely old dining room, we booked a three night package with meals which were generous and tasty, the staff were so friendly and accommodating, one of my daughters is vegetarian and that was no problem even though they have a set menu.
We improved our table tennis and pool skills in the games room and just had a great fun family holiday.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is a perfect as a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed recently at the Metropole as part of a walking group. We loved everything. The staff made us welcome as soon as we arrived and continued to do so throughout our stay. We booked on one of the Metropole's packages that are such good value for two nights over a weekend with one night free. The meals were great as was the atmosphere in the dining room, we even got up for a dance to the enjoyable live music. We would definately recommend the Metropole for groups, couples or families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you are looking for new and deluxe with all the modern conveniences, then The Metropole is NOT for you. If you like a little slice of history and appreciate old classic hotels, then this is the ticket. The dining room is especially an old gem. The food was really nice and it was a fun experience. On the other hand, some of the members of our party of eight loathed the rooms here.They are small and old-fashioned. There is no elevator. My wife and I are partial to places like this and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly in our two day stay here. A great location for exploring the region.The dining-room staff went out of their way to accommodate one of our travel companions who has multiple food allergies. We saw quite a few diners who seemed to be "regulars."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Aftrr such a great stay a few months back, we headed up the hill to Katoomba and back to the Metropole again for the weekend, and again we were more than happy with our stay,We stayed in a standard room as there was no deluxe available and it was perfectly comfortable.. Again the staff were fantastic in both the reception and the dining room where we had some great meals.
We met some people who come back every year, something we could relate to as the guesthouse has such a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked a holiday on a shop a docket and werent sure what to expect but on arrival was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff and cosy atmosphere. Our room was very comfortable the 1930's building is full of interesting areas. Dinner was served in the lovely old worlde dining room and the meals were good homestyle my husband is gluten intolerant and was catered for. The staff in the dining room were fantastic.We enjoyed mixing with the other guests. I enjoyed writing my postcards in the sittining room.
Loved reading in sunny Jessie's lounge.
Loved sitting in the library, It's a beautiful establishment.
I loved christmas so I'm glad we came in august seeing all the xmas trees lit up in the front foyer and all the xmas decorations were lovely.

Would highly recommend this guesthouse.
Very good value for the money.
Definately going to come back and refer others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pleasant and comfortable but expensive. No breakfast included in the price and $15 for the use of WiFi! This is a ripoff. I just travelled in poor countries in South America and was never once charged for WIFI access. Wake up Australia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Metropole Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Guesthouse

Address: Cnr Gang Gang & Lurline Sts, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metropole Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the old world charm and historyIn the heart of beautiful Katoomba, the historic Metropole Guesthouse offers unique Blue Mountains accommodation. Directly across from Kingsford Smith Park and within walking distance of the main tourist attractions, shops, cafes and the train station, this hotel is ideal for your Blue Mountains getaway. An iconic Blue Mountains Hotel established in 1933, The Metropole Guesthouse allows you to step back in time with old-fashioned service in the licensed dining room, relax with a book in the library and unwind by a gas log fire in one of the many antique, character-filled lounges.Filled with old world charm, the Metropole Guesthouse was built in 1933 by Mrs Godsell, replacing a mountain home built on the site in 1880 by Rev. Barber. Now refurbished to offer cosy Katoomba accommodation, the Metropole Katoomba Guesthouse retains period character with fine wood panelling and leadlight windows crafted for Mrs Godsell.Centrally located Katoomba accommodation, The Metropole Guesthouse is right where you need to beA stones throw from Katoomba shops and restaurantsOpposite the train station and park90 minutes from downtown SydneyEasily accessible by road, rail or coachLimited parking is available at the rear of the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Metropole Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropole Guesthouse Hotel Katoomba
The Metropole Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropole Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.