We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy! Comfy! Down to earth friendly service !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurrara Historic Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kurrara Historic Guest House to your Saves list
Kurrara Historic Guest House
17 Coomonderry Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
1 review
“Cosy! Comfy! Down to earth friendly service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed with my partner, and we both thought it was lovely! It's cosy warm quiet and the service was great! the host is very friendly and helpful! Kuarra is an old house and I had seen the complaints about it being dusty dirty which this is not 100% correct ! The place is very tidy a little clutterd but that's the charm of a 18 century house all the wonderful bits and pieces all the pictures all very fascinating! Everywhere you look you see something new! With this place you get what you pay for they have very cheap prices and you can't expect it to be 5 star accomadation when your paying 80-200$ a night, people really should stop complaining if your going to be all prissy and complain about a spec of dust or it's not up to your standards then do some more research before you book call up the place ask questions don't rely on reviews and silly webpages nothings ever correct on the Internet these days, and maybe make your accommodation budget higher and stay somewhere that is 350$ a night which should be up to your fussy standards. But if your are easy going and love a little old cozy house with a friendly down to earth host then Kuarra guest house is for you! I will defiantly recommed this place and i will return in the future. Thank you for a good nights rest !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    59
    11
    8
    16
See reviews for
14
135
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

we recently stayed in this so call B&B accommodation we paid all the premium prices for a 4 night relaxing break we stayed in the honey suckle room with spa and fire place
when we were greeted by the manager on check in he treated us like a mate not a guest
he spoken language was too relaxed with a lot of offensive words used it was very unprofessional as a manager not a good impression on guests
when we were shown too our room it was very cluttered nothing like shown in pictures
we was also told that the fireplace was not working and was not offered a discount or any of the other rooms available
we was given a oil heater which made the room stuffy and was told the building had central heating which was turned off when the manager decided
spa was filthy and still had other guests hair in it
the bed was uncomfortable lumpy the gardens were over grown and run down
the room we stayed in was next too the guestroom where tea and coffee can be made we heard every cup of coffee made from the coffee machine as it was against our bedroom wall
the guest carpark was occupied by the mangers personel car and the accomadtions staff vehicle which made it hard too park your car on the premises
we told the manager the place was run down and he agreed
the place is also on the market too be sold but in this run down state would be hard too sell without alot of attention given too its current state
it is not a recommended place too stay and would advise guests too look elsewhere for a clean and comfortable place
people that have stayed here and have given a positive feedback are not true positive statments
WE CANT RATE THIS HOVEL ECEPT STAY AWAY FROM IT

Room Tip: anywhere but this place its run down and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I lived in the bluebell room which was so cozy, and the ensuite was big enough for me.

Although I spent a short time in the guesthouse, I could feel the decoration was exquisite.

The host / staff, Emanuele, was sooooooooooo helpful!! He helped me to carry my heavy luggage up and down the stair, helped me to set up the Wi-fi, and offered me a ride to the train station under the chilly and windy weather. Big Thanks again!! :)

This guesthouse was SUPERB to me!! And I must definitely stay here again!!

Highly recommended to everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Please do not waste your money going here! The photos are very deceiving - booked the wild flowers deluxe spa room expecting it to be all white and beautiful decor... red linen and multi coloured duvet covers, not attractive to look at for what you expect. Also took hours to get to sleep because the walls were so thin, could hear EVERYTHING from next door and above us. Finally, when we arrived there were biscuit crumbs on the bedside table and very dusty.

The only good things - the spa bath and hot water.

So glad to have escaped just after one night!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Not sure what you could fault about this place. My husband and I have stayed here twice and haven't had any complaints, we drove down from Bondi and decided to stay for the night and they kindly gave us the front room with a little fire when we booked with wotif that day. For $80 it was excellent value for money, you get what you pay for and any minor complaints we might have would be ungracious and picky to note. If you're into vintage decor and beautiful big bookshelves filled with old books, you'll be happy here. The guy at the front desk was helpful and hilarious (not sure if he meant to be but it was entertaining just the same). Very Dickensian.....worth the money and we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

If you go to their web site, you would want to book immediately! Stay clear. It is run down, cold, drafty and aside from what they advertise, they are not a B and B. They do not serve any type of food. Although there are several places not foo far from here for breakfast and such.

Fortunately, the only thing that saved us at night was the electric blanket on the bed (which in Australia, you sleep on top of). Our friends' room was so drafty, that the curtains were blowing into their room with the window shut. Another minor plus, being a quilter, I did enjoy seeing quilts on most of the beds in the guest rooms (doors were open).

The manager would not light a fire in the lounge area as it would make the upstairs rooms even colder than they were. The furniture in this area was well worn and lumpy. The room was poorly lit for any type of reading. However, there was a huge flat screen TV in the room.

There is free internet access but that was about the only amenity. My Aussie friend was very embarrassed for having booked us there, but she had seen it not too long ago and it was lovely then. Apparently, the owners had a tiff and one of them just walked out.

We were, on the other hand, able to enjoy the howling wind coming from the Blue Mts. This was supposed to act as "white noise" and lull us to sleep. An adventure in travelling.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Such a beautiful house.. it was a real treat for us to be able to soak it up. I don't often get to relax like that by the fire. What a dream! And the gentle hospitality of the host, Anthony, was the icing on the cake. Thank-you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. It was recently purchased by new owners on 2nd May 2012, and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is central heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurrara Historic Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.