We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Coach Groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Rider Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Rider Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sky Rider Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
candelo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Coach Groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Our stay was fantastic!! All of our rooms were a great size and very very clean!!!
The sevice they provided was of the highest standard and made it feel like home.
The Group was very happy with there stay and have said they would go back again.
All in all it was the pick of the bunch.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    103
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
68
92
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Sky Rider in was fantastic from start to finish. We arrived and were greeted by Lyn the owner and operator and she was so helpful and patient with all of our questions about the local restaurants and attractions. The room was a great size, absolutely spotless and offered both heating and air-conditioning as well as the electric blankets which were fabulous. So many times I have stayed in 5 star hotels and received sub standard service and staying in this 2.5 star motel it was nothing less than top notch.

I haven't been to the Blue Mountains before and trawled through all of the places to stay and decided on Sky Rider and glad I did. The breakfast that came with the room was filling and we both went for the cooked dinner in the dining room which was a great start before we headed off to the jenolan caves. Lyn and her daughter mel were the faces of the motel and I cannot fault anything they did and quite the contrary I thought they were the nicest hosts and really made us feel comfortable during our short stay.

I never do reviews though thoroughly felt some nice things need to be said about this family run establishment!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Based on the reviews here and wanting an alternative to a chaotic stay in a double room at the YHA, we booked for a single night at Sky Rider; I knew it was basic and came expecting a simple but clean room and a quiet night's rest.

Well there were nice little touches like the pictures on the wall, the heater and electric blanket and very white sheets. But the devil is in the details and they really let this place down.

The smell of cleaning products was so strong that it literally stopped us both dead at the door. We're outdoorsy types and happy to rough it but having to leave the windows and door open to try and vent the fumes when its bordering on sub-zero outdoors is not fun. Unfortunately when its so pungent its literally burning your eyes, you don't have much of a choice. The sad part was that the lady at the front desk didn't seem surprised and didn't make any apologies for it.

The shower was literally pitiful, I'd read the reviews and thought maybe they were exaggerating but it turns out they weren't. I was able to dry myself with the towel while standing under it, which I would've found funny if I hadn't been for a hike that afternoon and been looking forward to more pressure than you get out of a solar-bag shower. Forget being able to wash your hair in the shower, you'll honestly stand a better chance using the sink, its literally that small a flow.

Final annoyance was minor but just felt like the straw breaking the camel's back; the car park spots for each room are one over from the rooms they're for, so when the guy next door left at 4am, he put his headlights on and straight into our room (a mere 1m from the window). Had they spread the guests out instead of putting us side by side this would've helped stop this from happening (and the place would've been less than 20% full so it would've been possible).

So while the location is quiet, the sheets are clean and the rooms are cheap, you need to ask yourself if you want a hot shower with *any* pressure behind it, whether you mind being woken up by other guests headlights shining directly into your room and whether you can stand a room with cleaning product smells that will at best, give you a headache and at worst, leave your eyes red and watering.

I'm sure other guests will have a different experience but I'll openly state that I came with low yet simple expectations but was left sadly dissapointed :-(

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

good room for the price quiet and cozy but in winter the water saver showers are a pain just dribbles on you and its freezing will stay elsewhere next time but only because of the showers

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

l recently took my family (2 children and husband) to the Winter Magic Festival in Katoomba. We stayed in a family room at the motel which was clean and well stocked with tea and coffee, milk, biscuits and even a toaster which was so handy for the busy mornings with the children.
All the staff were so friendly from reception to the cleaners, we felt so welcome.
We had breakfast in the dinning room on Saturday morning with its lovely log fire which was blazing and keeping the dinning room lovely and warm and provided a lovely mountain feel... we loved it.
We will definitely be returning to the Sky Rider we had a beautiful weekend and would thoroughly recommend this Motel...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed in this motel with my partner for a weekend getaway to see the sights of Katoomba. The room was first and foremost very clean! it had a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities with REAL milk supplied on check in!!!
The reception staff were so welcoming with a great knowledge of the local area, I received a map of the area which was very helpful..
I would definitely stay here again this time for a little longer as there is so much to see in Katoomba..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We were very happy with the room at first, however they were very misleading with the cost of things. Breakfast wasn't included after all, and hit us with a bill at the end and there was one other incident which i will not post for privacy reason, but we were very dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Lynn, Ross, Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Rider Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.