We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Rider Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Rider Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sky Rider Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great budget Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff was very friendly and overall the facilities were great for a budget motel. The housekeeping one morning was quite zealous (9:15am) but they did a great job and gave us new towels even though we weren't expecting it. The shower curtain was a bit short and let water onto the bathroom floor but that's the only small negative we had. Definitely recommend this location to friends

Room Tip: Would need to have own transport to stay here. The higher the room number the further away from rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us. The housekeeping for our staying guests usually does not begin until later in the morning so I apologise for the early wake up. Regarding the shower curtain we will look at the issues with water escaping into the bathroom. Part of our renovation plan is to replace the remaining shower curtains with shower screens so this will eliminate any issues. We hope you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    92
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
79
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, arrived to a room warmed electric blanket started which was great with the weather absolutely miserable outside. breakfast was good. service was really friendly and helpful. enjoyed our stay no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your 2 night stay and although the weather in the mountains was cold, you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope you may return to the mountains when the weather is a little warmer and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here at short notice. Rang and booked a room a few hours before arriving. The gentleman I spoke to was very friendly and put the key out for our late arrival and turned on the heater which was very much appreciated as it was quite cold. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and was more than adequate for a short or longer stay, The rooms are all ground floors so easily accessible. The electric blankets were also appreciated as we stayed in winter. The breakfast room had a log fire and the tables aren't packed together so there's plenty of room. The food was fresh, served promptly and again represented excellent value. All tastes catered for - plenty of delicious fruit for the vegans and lots of meat choices for the carnivores! The motel is located off the highway and there is minimal traffic noise. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. We believe the small details make all the difference when staying at any motel and we are delighted to know these small touches,such as the heaters being put on prior to your arrival, are welcomed by our guests We are always striving for the highest level of service. We hope you may return to the Mountains and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not the greatest looking hotel from the outside was the only negative about this hotel, The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.The continental breakfast in the restaurant was delicious, plenty to choose from and the fresh fruit was exactly that Fresh! The staff were very friendly and were very informative about the area, including where to eat dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectation. We have been working on the interior of our rooms over the last year and we plan to start renovation work on the exterior before the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews on this place are fairly accurate - which is good as it was the reason we booked it!! It's got everything you need, is very clean and great value for money. The owners are fantastic and will help out with anything you need - including free DVDs at the front counter!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you found our previous guest reviews helpful in your search. We know we can't please everyone but we try to be honest in the advertising of our property so that we meet or exceed expectations rather than disappoint. We believe it is honest guest reviews that tell the real story, so we thank you and hope you may stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Dont be put off by the tired looking exterior. The units are in process of refurb. Our room had been refurbished to a high standard. It was comfortable, pleasing to the eye. Comfy bed,very clean,excellent shower. Tea and coffee facilities supplied and replenished daily. Rooms were serviced daily to a high standard. There were even electric blankets for the cooler nights. We arrived by train so we had 15 minutes walk to the motel on the edge of town which was not hard. The local RSL picked us up for dinner and dropped us back on their courtesy bus. All it took was a phone call. The hotel will do this for you if requested. The staff at the motel were very helpful and pleasant, you just need to ask. Continental breakfast was included in our package and this was served in a very pleasant dining room. We would recommend this motel as good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet if not exceed your expectations.
We are undertaking renovation work on the exterior over the coming months and we hope the exterior will soon reflect our renovated interiors.
We are always happy to organise RSL pick ups which come nightly to the motel, its a wonderful service and takes the stress out of driving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Budget pricing but excellent accommodation... spotless, spacious, very comfortable and updated room.

Katoomba was freezing, wet and blowing a gale on the night of our visit so electric blankets and effective heating were very welcome - also provided was a toaster and fresh milk on request ..our friends, staying elsewhere and paying three times the price did not enjoy these 'luxuries'.

Finally, the service from staff was friendly and outstanding. A minor detail at 10 p.m. was attended to with immediately with a smile and no fuss.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it was our pleasure to ensure your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We live onsite so we can attend to any issues, no matter what time of the day or night and always with a smile.
It can get cold in the mountains especially in winter but our heating systems and electric blankets ensure our guest stay nice and warm in their rooms and if you make it to breakfast we have an open log fire going to keep the cold away.
We look forward to seeing you again, when the weather is a little warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Lynn, Ross, Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Rider Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.