We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A functional B&B but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avonleigh Country House

Avonleigh Country House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avonleigh Country House to your Saves list
Avonleigh Country House
174 Lurline Street | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A functional B&B but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Avonleigh for one night by virtue of the fact that the B&B we had originally booked to stay in (Lurline Guesthouse) was experiencing heating problems and the Lurline manager had made the alternative booking on our behalf. We weren't too concerned about which place we were putting up in as we were coming into Katoomba late and were only going to spend one night before seeing the sights the next morning and heading back to Sydney thereafter.

Although Avonleigh looked suitably charming and quaint enough, our stay was average on the whole. The premises were not well lit and smelt very musky. The carpets are in need of replacing, and the place could do with a good airing. We were given room no. 3 for our stay, which was located at the end of a short passageway. The room itself was large, but extremely dated. The bed was creaky and the mattress was extremely soft. If you're like me and suffer from a slipped disc, this can make for a very uncomfortable and potentially painful experience.

The room came equipped with a very gaudy pink ottoman/sofa which was in dire need of re-upholstering. For entertainment, we had quite possibly the world's smallest television. My iPad 2 was more than half its size already! What was worse was that the television was placed right next to the bed (where a bedside table would ordinarily be placed). In order to watch the telly, you had to pull the entire television and table to the middle of the room.

Perhaps most disconcertingly, we were told not to shower with our bathroom door open as "the steam from the toilet would cause the smoke detector to go off", to quote the person who handed us the keys. In the room, there was a sign stating that in the event the smoke detector was set off because of the steam from the bath, the fire brigade would be called out and you would be charged $580 for this.

I found this entire arrangement ludicrous. The smoke detector should never have been placed right in front of the bathroom door to begin with!

The walls between rooms are also very thin. We had a couple of mainland Chinese tourists staying next door and we could hear everything that was gong on in the room next door, from their loud conversations to laughter and even singing! At 11pm at night, this was not a good experience.

For some positives about Avonleigh - the B&B is located less than a five minute walk from the 3 Sisters lookout point and the Scenicworld centre. You can also have a cooked breakfast in the morning. The establishment is generally quite clean also, and there are fridges located around the B&B which you are free to use to store your food.

On the whole, we weren't terribly impressed with Avonleigh but it is a B&B that works if you need a place to rest for the night. It's appearance and interior resembles less of a country home and more of a B&B that had seen much better days and is presently running tired on its last legs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Charming little B&B. Comfortable and clean room. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Place needs a good paint. Better Manager..cleaner carpets. Pillows terrible..towels threadbare..we had a queen bedroom..very basic..tiny TV..terrible sound..lucky I had my computer..Open Fire would have been great..if HE knew what he was doing..Guest had to ask for more wood, then only received two small pieces...breakfast was ok but who wants 'Frankfurt'..Should be sausages bacon not cooked properly..Lots of guests quietly complained to others...would not go back there.. ..Paperwork at so-called Reception..says Lunch and Dinner..well this is not so...only BREAKFAST..between 8am and 9.15am,,should be at least 7am to 10am.needs alot of improvements ...he only there to make money and was quiet unpleasant...It is a lovely old home and should be care for....

Room Tip: queen room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and chose this place due to the good reviews and awesome location. The reviews did not disappoint me, Avonleigh was an absolute pleasure to live in!

Customer service: The person was nice and friendly. He recommended us places to eat and go. I am afraid I can't remember who it was.

Room: I was surprised that the room was quite big. We took the family room and there were two single beds and a queen/king bed. The beds were the most comfy! Peeking out of the window we saw just greenery. It was winter time and the heater was functioning perfectly as well. The bathroom was also quite big. The water if adjusted right was very warm. Even coming from a tropical country, it wasn't cold in the room.

Breakfast: There was bread, cereal, spreads of all kinds, as well as milk, orange juice and apple juice. First entering the dining room, I was dreading eating bread for 3 days. Just then, the chef appeared and asked if we would like cooked breakfast (bacon, scrambled egg, sausage and tomato). We gratefully accepted it and it seriously was delicious. (Tip: put scrambled egg on the bread!)

Gardens: It was winter. No time to venture, but looked pretty.

Overall, I would definitely stay in Avonleigh if I come to Katoomba again. 5 stars!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

If only this beautiful old house was as great to stay in as it looks! The door lock takes a couple of minutes to get the key into just the right spot to work. Once inside room 8 you notice a tiny old analogue TV in a position next to the bed where you dont know where the hell to sit or lay where you can watch it. Every single tiny move my husband or I made caused the ancient bed to creak. IT was the hardest,noisiest bed we,ve ever encountered. A staff member turned up our room heating during their first service of our room and we could,nt turn it down that night [management sais this was,nt so ] so during freezing weather we had to have our window open wide to prevent ourselves from cooking. There is no ceiling fan in the bathroom so any odours or steam need to be contained in the bathroom lest it escape and the fire alarm gets activated with the Fire Brigade. I could not manage to open the bathroom window high up in the shower. This too was my fault said management. This morning while someone used the bathroom above us, we got really hot and/or cold water while we were showering too.If you wanted to actually lock your bedroom window for fear of thieving [which we did,nt], the catch would,nt lock. The very appealing fireplace in the advertising only got lit on weekends the lovely Bellissa told us but that she would light it for us as I explained it was a huge drawcard and we were staying in that Thurs night. I ended up showing here how to light the fire after we tired of watching her struggle for over an hour. The manager and another staff member had just as much trouble lighting the fire the other nights. Apparently picking up an axe to split kindling and putting a basket of wood in the large and beautiful lounge room was out of the question we were discover during our 4 night stay. The miserable fire upset all the guests we met. We had to find wood ourselves to find satisfaction.The big TV in the lounge room is,nt digital either. We leant our spare blankets to guests in room 6 who said they could,nt get any spares from management. I enquired the next morning as to whether they actually used them- they did as their heating was,nt on. The building itself is, lovely and warm, elegant, gardens pretty, location near 3 sisters good and an easy enough walk to the shops of the main street.
Before we left this morning I showed the Manager all the problems with our stay there to which he responded I should have complained after the first night and he would have moved us. Of course that would mean whoever got room 8 on the weekend would have got all our woes instead!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

House decoration brings us to the british colonial time, very nice!!
Andrew is very friendly. We had a great chat every morning, and Melissa too.. she is very friendly and helpful.
We are treated like a king and queen..
Room is equipped with a nice bed, nice bathroom.. i will be back surely should i visit Katoomba again...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My sister and I plus families stayed here for one night for a R&R weekend. We were greeted by a very grumpy female staff member, who could not muster a smile even if she tried. We were given two rooms side by side 11 & 12, one family, one double. The rooms appeared clean and tidy, and very warm. There was a small intro to the property's fire alarms, we were told if you leave the bathroom door open after a shower, the alarms may go off. The property inside was clean and tidy too, however the gardens and grounds definitely need some attention. I understand the owners have had this for 6 years, and seems they are maintaining the place. We had a fantastic dinner at Leura Garage, highly recommend this place, only new but is making a huge impact. The worst part of the evening was the overnight in the worst bed, I have ever stayed in. Not a wink all night, due to a very old, non-supportive mattress that required me to hold onto the floor when turning from side to side. I complained in the morning and was promptly given a 1/2 night refund. I would be sorry to see if they did not purchase some new bedding ,as my sister's bedding was also less than desirable. Due to the bad evening, we chose not to stay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for supportive mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avonleigh Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonleigh Country House

Address: 174 Lurline Street | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Avonleigh Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonleigh Country House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avonleigh Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.