We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cable car and walkway great. Restaurant terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic World Blue Mountains

Scenic World Blue Mountains
Cnr Violet St and Cliff Drive, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
612 4780 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$220*
and up
Private Tour: Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney...
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in World Heritage listed national park, we offer a range of experiences found nowhere else on earth! 'Walk on air' in the Skyway suspended 270m above the valley with electro-sceniglass floor. Ride the steepest incline railway in the world, stroll along the 2.5km elevated Walkway through towering Jurassic rainforest, glide out of the valley aboard Australia's steepest cable car! All 90 minutes from Sydney in the beautiful Blue Mountains.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cable car and walkway great. Restaurant terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Read the adverts for this when we arrived in Katoomba and loved the cable car ride down into the valley, and the walkways are very well designed to give you the experience of walking in the treed forest. Made the mistake of going up to the restaurant to lunch - the worst meal of our 4 week visit to Australia. Only one counter of 4 was opened, there were supposed to be, as advertised, four alternative menus, but only two limited menus on offer. You are given a device which buzzes when your meal is ready - that is okay. but the tables were filthy and there was no one cleaning them - you had to move dirty trays to find a place. And there was construction work going on in the same space. We had to wait over 20 minutes in this horrible place for our food, with flies around. Definitely do not eat at this place. Oh, and the scenic railroad is not working.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette S, Marketing Coordinator at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. We are delighted that you had a good time on our rides and exploring the boardwalk in the pristine rainforest. We have taken your comments about the food court on board. Dirty tables would be an unusual occurence and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    491
    136
    51
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is something that is worth doing if you're up int he blue mountains. The views are spectacular and we paid $28 per person for an unlimited pass. The train was under construction which was a pity as we have been told it was really good but hopefully the next time we are there it will be up and running.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette S, Marketing Coordinator at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am sorry that you missed the train but the new and exciting one arrives very soon. I hope you can come back and experience it then. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A remarkable adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

No trip to NSW would be complete without experiencing the sheer awe and wonder of the 'Three Sisters'.

I am always a little afraid of heights but a once in a lifetime opportunity is too good to miss and I literally launched onto the skywalk. Watching it arrive and seeing the sheer volume of people embarking was litle disconcerting. However, once I had found something to cling onto inside the capsule I was blown away by the sheer scale and drama of the landscape. The views beneath the glass floor alternately terrified and astounded me. I was much braver on the way back and savoured the sights of the wonderful waterfalls beneath.

While on a roll we also took the cable car down into the rainforest. Even though there were many tourists milling around there was still an opportunity to reflect quietly on the sheer magnificence of nature.

A sensational experience and memory to record !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette S, Marketing Coordinator at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, it sounds like you had a magnificent day! The Skyway and Cableway are a great way to experience the amazing views whilst remaining very safe and sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although it was a very wet day we still had a look here.Great tourist shop,lots of well priced mementoes.We paid the full price for 2 rides even though we decided on just the Scenic Cableway because the weather was so bad.A very rude American guy behind the counter thought it was fun to make a joke on our behalf,neither us or the other nice people working there thought it was funny,maybe he shouldn't be in customer service?? Shame about the weather but a great place to visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette S, Marketing Coordinator at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we have taken on board. It is great that you enjoyed your visit despite the weather on the day. The Blue Mountains are still very charming though even when the weather is a little inclement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blayney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Blue Mountains has come a long way since I was a child. This fabulous little place is at the top of the train that goes up the side of the mountains. Lots to see and do

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette S, Marketing Coordinator at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
The Blue Mountains is definitely a most spectacular place to visit and we hope you come back for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic World Blue Mountains also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Scenic World Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic World Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.