We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic World Blue Mountains

Scenic World Blue Mountains
Cnr Violet St and Cliff Drive, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
612 4780 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Scenic World Blue Mountains like an insider
Private Tour
$237*
and up
Private Tour: Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney...
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in World Heritage listed national park, we offer a range of experiences found nowhere else on earth! 'Walk on air' in the Skyway suspended 270m above the valley with electro-sceniglass floor. Ride the steepest incline railway in the world, stroll along the 2.5km elevated Walkway through towering Jurassic rainforest, glide out of the valley aboard Australia's steepest cable car! All 90 minutes from Sydney in the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth going to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Weather was great for our visit, which helped. Make sure you are prepared for the walking but its a great way to see the 3 sisters and surrounding area. Staff were very helpful and the amenities are very good. Make sure you go there if you get the chance.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    433
    124
    48
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A MUST see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I hadn't been to the Blue Mountains for over 10 years and wanted to take my 5 & 6 year olds to experience nature in an amusement park ride way. (We'd been to Luna Park the day before and was disappointed with price, rides for their age group, service etc and left after only 1 ride. Thankfully we'd only bought a 1 ride ticket).

After 3 1/2 hours of travelling, WOW!!!! It was worth it!! What a change!! The Skyway, railway and cableway are all under the one roof with a kiosk, two restaurants (one revolving) and an extensive souvenir shop. We bought the all day pass, which was a fantastic option (pity it's just for January school holidays), also cheaper if you arrive before 11am.

My daughters couldn't get enough of the 'rides'! Very safe, a little scary at first without the 'losing the stomach feeling', staff operators extremely friendly, the views spectacular, the walks well worth doing .... what a wonderful day!

Next time: I intend to wear more appropriate footwear (thongs) which will withstand walking along wet ground on the valley floor and wading through the gorgeous stream, at the bottom of a waterfall, at the end of the skyway (10min walk).

Next time: Spend the WHOLE day!

To the staff, your friendly, helpful pro-active, service-oriented persona's are a major factor in the success of Scenic World. Thankyou!

To the owners, congratulations on a wonderful tourist attraction!! I remember travelling in the old Skyway, now parked at the front entrance, and gasp at how I did it! You've certainly come along way!

We'll DEFINITELY be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“lol... description is a real joke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

"experiences found nowhere else on earth" : when you see and go than you wonder how this has could be written... Maybe for australian that never left their country ??
Just a tourist trap... very busy. Go anywhere in mountains you will find such landscape and lifts... "Jurassic forest" ? You may be disappointed...

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must do for the quick visit to the blue mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was a fun experience and enabled us to see the top sights within a very short period of time. Would recommend heading to this early in the day as the queues were very large by early afternoon and this would have detracted from our visit,

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A good day out and glad it was not a peak time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We went as a family and enjoyed the scenery and the cable cars. Although most areas are accessible to prams etc, the red cable way / tram is awkward as you need to collaps the pram and there is not a lot of help available to stow it. This is a minor issue.

The control gates to each ride are a bit tight on space and easily become bottlenecks due to control gates and people not moving along. We were there when it was not too busy, but it was an obvious problem. The access and security issues need review and potentially adjustment.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic World Blue Mountains also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Scenic World Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic World Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.