We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views, worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic World Blue Mountains

Scenic World Blue Mountains
Cnr Violet St and Cliff Drive, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
612 4780 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Scenic World Blue Mountains like an insider
Private Tour
$237*
and up
Private Tour: Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney...
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in World Heritage listed national park, we offer a range of experiences found nowhere else on earth! 'Walk on air' in the Skyway suspended 270m above the valley with electro-sceniglass floor. Ride the steepest incline railway in the world, stroll along the 2.5km elevated Walkway through towering Jurassic rainforest, glide out of the valley aboard Australia's steepest cable car! All 90 minutes from Sydney in the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Asia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“lovely views, worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you have limited time, this is the place to go in blue mountain

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    433
    124
    48
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Scenic World is exactly what it is, scenic. The mountain ranges are spectacular and the views out of this world. I went on all the rides, but only did one of the walks. The walking tracks through the national parks are breathtaking. I would highly recommend Scenic World to any traveller that ventures to Katoomba

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicWorldAustralia, Manager at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was a bit apprehensive of this “amusement park”, but I enjoyed it. It wasn’t as commercial as I was expecting it to be. The park has a mining theme, and the only commercial aspect really was the gift shop at the entrance. We arrived right as it opened, so there were no crowds. We were the only riders on the Skyrail, were we had a lovely view of Katoomba Falls. We road the rail down, it is quite steep. We then walked the entire boardwalk and road the Cableway back up. We did notice large tour groups in the late morning, so if you go, I recommend getting there as they open to avoid crowds.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicWorldAustralia, Manager at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thanks for your good review and sharing your experience at Scenic World. Our site has a rich coal mining history - we first opened in 1945 by the Hammon family after the coal mine closed. The Coal Mining exhibit refers to this past in order to share the history with our visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent day out enjoying the Blue Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We visited in the Qld Sept 2011 holidays on a beautiful spring day. As advised by our Motel staff we purchased the unlimited all day ride pass for 4 adults (this is not advertised on the web sites or in the brochures). The pass was well worth it as we had 6 goes on the railway and 4 on both the other rides and was at Scenic World for around 5 hours. Make sure you go on the railway both ways in the very front and very back seats, as both give you a different perspective. The Cable Way and Sky Way are also great as you can move around them during the ride.

We did the easy 30 minute walk at the bottom of the railway and it was lovely (took a bit longer as we looked and read all the displays along the way). The displays at the start are brilliant and very informative, the rest of the walk you find relics of the mining past everywhere you look and the rainforest is just beautiful. When you see the mining photos it is hard to believe you are standing in the same area with the regrowth. It may take a while but Mother Nature definitely won out here in the end.

The other walks we did was from the bottom of the railway along the start of the Federation Track to Cooks Crossing over the Katoomba Creek which was nice. From the Skyway we also did the short walks to the top of Katoomba Creek and then to the lookout, both giving different perpectives of the area.

The staff in all areas (cafes, souvenirs, rides) were all very nice and enthusiastic. Even with the repeat rides we heard something different on each trip. The free nougat and honey tasting was very nice and we did purchase some nougat to take home. The centre itself is spotless and even on the walks there was no sign of rubbish. The staff were also more than happy to take a family photo for us for free, which is a very welcome change to other places we have visited.

Only disappointment was we went to the cinema but no one was around and we didn't know if it just ran on a loop or not so we waited for a few minutes and nothing happened. We couldn't find any nearby staff to ask and couldn't see any signs.

We had a lovely day and would recommend a visit to all. Take your time and enjoy the view and the surroundings. Although there are rides here, they are just a means to have a look at Mother Nature at her best and have multiple rides and different times of the day gives different lighting affects each time. We arrived about 9.15am and had the first few rides with virtually just us on them.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicWorldAustralia, Manager at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for this wonderfully considered review. Yes mother nature is quite awesome, and in abundance here! Great to hear you took the 5 hours to explore, there really is so much to see and do here, and plenty of walks to keep you busy for a full day.

The movie in our cinema is on demand and usually there is a staff member not too far away, but Im sorry to hear you weren't able to access this opportunity - perhaps on your next visit!

We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff as we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great value for money especially for a family of 5. For around $70 we got a return trip in the sky walk- amazing. We also got to travel in the steepest train trip- try tO get in the very front carriage as it is an open carriage with the driver sitting right at the back. Experience was like a gentle roller coaster. We then got the cable chair back. Make sure you do the scenic board walk as the rainforest and amazing gums are well worth the walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicWorldAustralia, Manager at Scenic World Blue Mountains, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks for your great review. Yes riding in the front carriage is a great experience, the ride takes you down the mountain at 51 degrees! We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic World Blue Mountains also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Scenic World Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic World Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.