We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage means old fashioned people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Heritage to your Saves list
Mountain Heritage
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Heritage means old fashioned people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I honestly don't know why so many reviews are going on about this place being dated, there's a hint in the name: "Heritage" means Old fashioned/Olde worlde! I think people are expecting 5 stars for whats called 4 instead of maybe expecting 3.5.

It's akin to a country house hotel in Ireland/UK and it doesn't especially claim to be anything else, although it probably isn't really 4 star if you are strict about those ratings - as it doesn't have an all night porter or a luggage porter or lifts or room service after 9pm or check out before 7am or a mini bar in the bedroom or cable tv (foxtel).

It does however have check out at a civilied 11am (an hour later than anywhere else I have encountered in Oz). When they say breakfast is til 10am they don't whisk away everything at 9:59 like many other places, so another tick on the civilised front. The brekker is good and they store meat & veg in different hot plates which is good if you are are vegetarian, however there's only 1 vege main course for dinner (and 2 vege starters which they ran out of) which is a minus but it's only a 5 minute walk to town and loads of restaurants so it doesn't really matter. Yes you have to book dinner in advance but its that not hard to call reception when you settle in to your room and book for a couple of hours time (I see one review complained about having to book dinner).

The room we had was lovely and without a view as there's not a whole lot of point paying extra in March to look at fog (which we had 50% of the time), the views from the restaurant are great (when there's no fog) and sufficient and thanks for that tip to another reviewer. The bed was comfy, bathroom as you'd expect and the package we got included a nice bottle of Tyrrell's sparkling wine and some little easter eggs, which was a nice touch. I didn't have time to check the spa out as there's too much sight seeing to do.

The communal areas (with views also) are lovely & comfy with open fires and news papers and a piano player and a good bar/coffee & cake available. The staff were all nice (which is more than I can say for some of the whinging clientele.)

Katoomba is what it is too, a nice mountain town where the pace of life is slower, as it should be and has good book and record shops. Think hill station for anyone whose been to India or Adare for anyone whose been to Ireland. The scenery is amazing and if you have a car I recommend drive the 75km to Jenolan limestone caves.

  • Liked — Later check out and longish breakfast period
  • Disliked — Other people accusing us in the woring at midnight about making noise when it clearly was not us!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    92
    46
    20
    12
See reviews for
33
125
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We took the train to Katoomba and stayed two nights at the Mountain Heritage. We booked it through their website and believe we did well on price compared to other travel websites we looked at.

Our booking included a very nice buffet breakfast till 9:30am. The dining room has an excellent view of the Blue Mountains (more a canyon). The great breakfast over a wonderful view was a nice way to start the day. By the way, you can easily walk to the hotel along a walking path about 500m from the train station and slightly uphill (about 7 minutes). The Carrington is an even closer and easier walk and is on the main street.

The room was fine but dated. The bed was comfortable enough, and one of us has a bad back. The room also came with a pull-out couch, and we had room for a crib as well. Alternatively we needed the heat and air conditioner, and both worked fine. The bathroom looked recently redone, was clean, and had a hair dryer. The room also had a small fridge which was handy.

We booked the cheaper room - without a view - and indeed we didn't get a view. Next time we would probably pay the extra $20 or so for a view and to be on higher floor. One of us did hear a fair bit of noise from the room above in the middle of the night, another reason to perhaps book an upper floor room. It's an old hotel, but all the hotels seem old in Katoomba, as does Katoomba itself.

We swam in the unheated outdoor pool, which was a bit on the cool side but not bad. The fitness room is decent enough and in a little hut just outside the hotel. You need to get the key from the desk if you want to use.

We'd rate the hotel above average as the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at the Mountain Heritage if we come to Katoomba again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We were greeted at Reception by a lovely lady and was directed to our room.. For the price I paid for the room I was a little disapointed. We had a view of another buildings roof and the bed felt like it had been there from day dot! It was still a nice room, but at a lower rate I would have been happier!
The whole place has a great Heritage feel about it!
Great views from the Dinning Room and buffet breakfast was a plus..
If your wanting to stay here, go for it, but don't worry about spending the extra for the fireplace or spa bath!

  • Liked — The Heritage feel..
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

I stayed at the Mountain Heritage with my son and my mother for 2 nights. We got an excellent rate for the room (including buffet breakfast) and were very happy with the value provided. I read all of the reviews on this site prior to booking - and was disappointed to see that most of the comments for every property in Katoomba were negative (haven't these people heard that if you've got nothing good to say then say nothing at all) !!!!!

I was looking for decent accommodation, hopefully with some sort of view - and I didn't want to pay $500 a night - so I was very happy with the Mountain Heritage and would definitely book there again.

We had a Mountain View room and were VERY surprised at the size. It was a lot more spacious than we were expecting, with two huge double windows looking towards the mountains. The weather was bad during most of our stay so we couldn't see much but that wasn't the hotel's fault. On the final morning we woke up and the sky was clear and we could see the mountains - it was very pretty.

The hotel is an older "heritage" style and the staircase was a bit of a struggle with heavy suitcases but the public areas were very nice and the verandahs were great for breathing in the fresh air and taking in the view. The buffet breakfast was very tasty and the restaurant view was great. We didn't dine in the restaurant at night as it was a bit pricey for us and as it raining we just ordered pizza delivery from town - which reception kindly delivered to our room when it arrived.

We didn't make use of the swimming pool but perhaps would've on a longer stay - but my son loved having a game of billards each night after dinner.

The hotel was only a 5 minute trip from the main street of town but it is a bit of a rocky path so we caught a cab when we had our suitcases with us.

All in all, we would stay again and I would recommend to friends. I would not recommend the property to poeple who want to have raucous parties as it's just not that sort of place.

  • Liked — The rooms, the location, and the breakfast
  • Disliked — The staircase for getting suitcases upstairs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a wonderful trip to Oz. We chose this hotel because it is "apparently" award winning and had a spa.

The hotel is very run down, paint falling off the entrance door, musty smell as soon as you walk in, grotty bed carpets, curtains and bed sheets. We had to move rooms because there were hairs in the bed from previous guests. We complained discreetly and were offered a meek apology but then arrived in an adjacent room which wasn't much better.

The service in the restaurant was good for our evening meal. The food was ok, breakfast was poor for the price we paid.

The spa is actually in a separate building across the road form the hotel.

Very disppointed with the hotel. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

I stayed here with my Dad for five nights and we chose this hotel because he had stayed here with my grandmother when he was a little boy, and was returning on a pilgrimage 62 years later. We paid AU$278 a night (supposedly a special rate) for a heritage view twin room and the view was the best thing about it, really very beautiful and unrestricted views over the mountains and the Jamieson Valley.
I can also compliment the restaurant, which was excellent. It was expensive but good value and the chef very talented. Breakfasts were good. Service, from a very young staff in reception, the bar and the restaurant was friendly and enthusiastic.
Unfortunately that's where the compliments end. I am astounded that a 4 and a half star hotel offers neither a lift nor any assistance with bags. The staircase is tall, steep and curved - frankly quite dangerous for anyone with a large bag and the more so for someone in their 70s. No help at all was offered by the staff and I ended up helping several people I saw struggling as we had.
Our room was small and very tatty. The furniture had never been good, but is now on its last legs. The soft furnishings were ghastly velour. The bathroom was incredibly small, the towels tiny, the lighting greyish and the bath surface badly damaged. The TV had no news channel and the 'mini bar' contained one can of Pepsi and one of lemonade. We had to laugh at that one, presumably at least half a star is riding on the provision of 'mini bars'.
Our room being far too small to spend time in, we spent evenings in the lounge on its unattractive sofas. It was impossible to think about dinner and then walk into the restaurant - a table had to be booked during the day with reception - so I imagine the excellent chef ended up kicking his heels quite often. We ended up eating bar meals most of the time, which were fine, but why they couldn't have made more use of the excellent restaurant facility is beyond me. The piped music was far too loud and rather tacky. Mercifully the pianist, whose repertoire was similar to the piped tunes, only made one appearance in our five nights.
I hate to moan in these reviews, but this hotel is really worth giving a miss. It has pretensions based on its heritage but doesn't follow through. If Dad hadn't stayed there all those years ago, we'd have checked out early and looked for something else. This hotel has potential but it's clear it is run for the convenience of its management, not the benefit of its paying clientele, as no thought has been given to what might make anyone want to come back a second time. The restaurant is worth making a detour for, but stay elsewhere in the town.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Stayed here for one night only, don't worry too much about spending the extra on mountain view room, the mountains are so far in the distance it's probably not worth the money. The staff are polite and the breakfast was very good. Just a 5 minute walk to the main street in Katoomba where you will find a couple of restaurants, shops and internet cafe. The room was very comforable and clean. We had a couple of drinks in the bar at night where it was quiet and relaxing. Take the decor and furniture along with the music being piped through the reception and bar area and it's like going back in time by about 50 years, all in all we enjoyed the experiance and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.