We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katoomba Town Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Katoomba Town Centre to your Saves list
Katoomba Town Centre
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Accommodating and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. They supply a great breakfast and a willing to go the extra mile should you need a variation to your stay e.g earlier breakfast.

I have already booked another business stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
66
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Overall a pleasant experience, nice, neat room and lovely breakfast. Only real problem was sagging mattress on queen bed and flat pillows which made sleeping comfortably difficult.
The room was well heated, too much for our tastes and there was no control for the heat in the room.
We were surprised that the managers did not check the electricity was on in the orooms, we had trouble with the power and when we asked were told to reset the circuit breaker as there had been a blackout.
On plus side, plenty of hot water for shower, quiet and convenient location, and very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the Katoomba Town Centre for the weekend in one of the Queen Spa Suites. The room itself was quite a pleasant little room with a nice sized bathroom and spa bath and ofcourse the lovely King bed..The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious!! I quite fancied the corn jacks..lol The hotel was central to everything and we were able to walk down the BIG hill to see the Three Sisters..We will definately stay here again as it is good value for money..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose this motel because of its central location and the fact that it offered family rooms. There were 3 adults in our party and we wanted to avoid having to pay for 2 double rooms. Our room was in the St Elmo section and was what you would expect from a 3.5 star property. It was certainly large enough for 3 adults. We actually turned the room heater off because the building itself was warm enough, even in July.

The highlight of staying here is the quality of the breakfasts. There was an excellent selection of cereals, porridge, fruit, and cooked items including freshly made corn fritters YUM!

Staff were friendly and helpful and the general consensus was that we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

70's decor but clean, comfortable, warm and affordable. Excellent breakfast included in price - what more could you want for this price? Manager was extremely helpful offering local tourism advice. Centrally located to restaurants and town centre with free parking. Left feeling we had received value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Brett, I can't explain how distressed & dissappointed with the reception we received received on arrival. I understand that the room I originally booked had a non functional spa. When we arrived I asked if the spa had been repaired, Brett said nothing, he just gave us our keys & sent us on our way, I asked about compensation re; our room & you said nothing...All you said was to ask for Brett when you next stay at our hotel.....I doubt very much that Brett would remember this horrible event in 3 months time. I recall asking Brett to put it in writting...& the above statement was said again. .I was informed that the spa was broken on Thursday the 30th of June & was given the opportunity to stay in another room with a bathtub, no spa..I took a risk & sadly my fiance was very let down...we didn't even have a batth tub which I was told we would get. The cost of the room was excessive considering the lack of facilities, It wasn't worth the discount we received.... I admit I took a gamble, but I was promissed a bathtub & there was no bathtub. Thank you Brett, what a wonderfull evening we had celebrating my fiance's 50th birthday..


Thank you ladies for the clean room & knocking on the door re;breakfast...sadly we didn't have breakfast and left as soon as we could

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charles80, General Manager at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thanks for the Review
We take all reviews seriously and ensure that we check the accuracy of the reviews before we respond. __ Trip Advisor However _ Does Not __
Trip advisor were offered CCTV footage of what really took place Between Brett and this Guest yet chose to publish this totally fictional review. There response was that they allow derogatory statements to be made about innocent people. One has to question if this is because this Establishment refuses to pay any subscription fees to this company.

We will now clarify Exactly what took place with this Guest . The guest was contacted Days in advance of arriving at this Motel and clearly advised the room type she requested would not be available She was offered alternate accommodation at the Motel or The Motel would get her a Spa room at another Motel in town . This She openly admits in her Review .and also admits she turned the offer down.
At no time was she offered a room with a bathtub as this motel does not have rooms with Bathtubs . As can be clearly seen on our Website . So to suggest that she was offered a bathtub is total fiction and when she states she asked for one on the day of arrival the CCTV footage clearly shows this was never asked for.

She states in her first line or two that she was never offered compensation. Yet at the bottom of her statement she clearly states , The room wasn’t worth the discount we received .
She states upon arrival Brett said Nothing just gave us our keys and sent us on our way . CCTV clearly shows Brett offering you your room discountupon arrival, It also shows Brett offering you an additional discount If you returned and Booked a Spa room when Repaired .. It also shows Brett offering you a food guide and Breakfast Voucher along with instructions on the local attractions. HOW did he manage to do all this ??? With Sign Language .?? As Brett is a consummate Professional he did tell you to contact him in the future if you wished to book again as he would insure that you were given Priority. If You Had Bothered to look on your check in sheet it was all documented ..

The cost of the room was Excessive given the lack of facilities. You were given a $50 discount on a Superior room with all the lasted modern conveniences , You Openly state you did not have the Wonderful Buffett Breakfast Provided and you did not make use of any of the other facilities Provided By the Motel .

It would appear that your evening with your fiancé did not go as you had planned , So in frustration you have vented at Brett , Perhaps you should be looking at what caused you evening to go so Badly rather that take out your relationship Problems on innocent Parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

My SO and I have been to this hotel every year for the past 3. We always get the "mid-week Seniors special" and it includes a room + Trolley Tour tickets + full breakfast + RSL Carvary dinner. The rooms, while slightly old fashioned, are definitely clean and comfy, and they're plenty spacious for 2 people.

We have found, however, that staying in the rooms connected to the hotel are much better than staying in the actual area above reception. We had a room above reception (in the same building as brekky) the first year and the room was a LOT colder even with the more modern heater on than the rooms (#s 20-37 I believe) that have an older style heater.

But even if we were put in the first room again, I'd STILL recommend this hotel and great deal!

Oh, and the brekky waitress (she's been there for 25 years!) is hilarious and nice and we loved seeing her each morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katoomba Town Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.