We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anki's Indian Restaurant

Anki's Indian Restaurant
54A Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
02 4782 5536
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was absolutely pouring rain in katoomba on Saturday when my frind and I popped in to order some takeaway from Ankiis Indian. We looked like two drowned rats and was so embarrassed and apologetic as we walked to the back of a full restaurant BUT we were welcomed with a huge warm smile. The food was incredible. Full of flavour!!! We absolutely loved every dish and the naan was delicious!! What did it for us though was the warmth of the owners to ignore how drenched we were from the storm and welcome us anyway. Terrific place. A must for locals and travellers. Dont let the small understated decor fool you, this place is a gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. We may not have tried it as from the outside it doesn't look like much. However the food was some of the best Indian I have tried in NSW. Service was fantastic and attentive and the bill came in very cheap. Would recommend to anyone who likes Indian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a modest setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It would be easy to walk straight past this restaurant without a glance as it is so understated. Don't. The quality of the raw materials and cooking are both first rate. Six of us worked our way through six meat/ fish dishes plus two vegetable dishes and naan and rice for around $170 which was good value for food of this quality. The service is friendly if rushed. Recommended.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Very affordable and delicious indian food. The menu offers lots of dishes you don't normally see. The service is excellent comsidering it gets very busy and sometimes only has 1 waitstaff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Down-to-earth Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a very simple and small Indian restaurant just off the main street of Katoomba. The place doesn't look like much (both outside and inside), but the food was fresh and tasty. I asked for my food to be prepared "hot" and the result was more closer to "medium" but this is common of Indian restaurants in Australia. Said that, the curry was pretty good and the garlic naan was excellent. I wouldn't recommend this place if you are trying to impress a date, but if you are just looking for honest, down-to-earth, tasty indian food, this is a good place to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anki's Indian Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Anki's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anki's Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.