We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anki's Indian Restaurant

Anki's Indian Restaurant
54A Waratah St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
02 4782 5536
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Crap atmosphere, bad service, didn't clean our table, waited forever for our food even though it wasn't busy, had mould on the curtain above our table, very bad experience, will not be back!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medlow Bath, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had been told it was good, but having enjoyed Indian style food at many locations and this was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We ate at this restaurant after reading Tripadvisor reviews. It really was excellent. All the members of our group enjoyed their meals and would gladly eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You wouldn't think this place is good from the way it looks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Oh my goodness were we surprised at how good the food and service was here. It looks like a simple little diner in Katoomba off the main street, but the food was excellent. We ordered 3 mains, with rice and naan and all of the food was hot, fresh, and tasted like it was authentically prepared from scratch. I loved it!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't be Fooled by The View Looking In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We arrived fairly late in the evening (8.20) but were greeted warmly, shown to our table and had our order taken quietly & efficiently. If I hadn't read other Trip Advisor reviews we would have thought twice about eating here. Yes the ambience is a little Spartan and it doesn't look much from the outside but the fire was lit and the food was divine. Both the Beef Samosas & Deep Fried Cheese starters were excellent, as were the Cheese Naan and the mains we ordered. I can heartily recommend the Goat Vindaloo while the Basmati Rice was light & fluffy, not the glutinous globs we have grown accustomed to in other Indian restaurants.

The food at Anki's is without doubt he best Indian cuisine we've eaten in Australia and pushes a lot of seriously good UK establishments hard.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anki's Indian Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Anki's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anki's Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.