We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Royale Blue Mountains to your Saves list
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value for great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is bargain plus. When staying at the Blue Mountains, we usually like to stay somewhere with some heritage value. This time we were with several families and booked 5 rooms - the decision on the hotel was based on availability of family rooms.
Location - 10 min stroll from Katoomba shopping strip. And stacks of parking.
Reception and guest lounges - lounge rooms galore, but nobody seemed to use them other than our group as a central meeting place :-) It had a homely feel to it.
Rooms - all rooms were large, with huge bathrooms (one of the family rooms was extra huge and comfortably fit 4 people). Rooms immaculately clean.
Breakfast - $15 per head ... average ... with katoomba down the street, I would opt for a cafe next time.
Value - excellent ... $175 for an executive king room - wow. And my senior parents got their king room for $150 incl breakfast - really unbeatable value (as comparison, I had paid $190 for a largish b&b around the corner - and quality did not compare with Palais Royale).

Sometimes you have to feel sorry for the owners of these hotels - we had a couple of unpleasant issues when booking in. The reception staff were very defensive. However, after dinner, we bumped into the owners. They were very understanding, and lovely to deal with. They quickly resolved the issues to the parties' satisfaction. They were let down by their staff in this instance. It doesn't matter how clean a room is, or the location - if the staff are not receptive, it ruins an experience.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    85
    56
    27
    7
See reviews for
35
133
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really enjoyed out one night stay. Staff friendly. Room fairly simple but comfortable bed and quiet. Lounge area with stained glass windows and comfy sofas great to relax and read. Brekkie included in price and it was ok, not outstanding. Enjoyed a sauna and spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, General Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Palais Royale. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff aim to provide our guests with a personal, friendly and professional service and we are glad you enjoyed our staff and facilities.

Management appreciates your feedback as it helps us to be able to make the correct changes we need to ensure our guests experience the true beauty that the Palais Royale has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving we were greeted with a person who was only concerned with "whether we were part of the group" in order to get his paperwork correct, no greeting at all really. The rooms are tired and old, the shower was barely high enough and the water jumped between hot and cold so between running around to try and get wet you also got hit with a mixture of hot and then very cold water. The bed was hard and the facilities in the room were nothing special. Overall a really disappointing stay, the most disappointing aspect was the complete lack of service...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palkat, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palais Royale. .
I apolosige that your first impression of the Palais Royale was a negative one. It appears that your arrival was at the same time a large group had been checking into the hotel couple by couple, thus been the reason that staff have asked if you were "part of the group", This would have been asked to ensure that your paperwork was located quickly. It has been 16 years since the Palais Royale's and the building is a heritage building. The new owners are making improvements daily. Management appreciates your feedback as it helps us to be able to make the correct changes we need to ensure our guests experience the true beauty that the Palais Royale has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked over the phone a few months in advance for winter magic festival in katoomba. It's in the Main Street just a short stroll down to festival and local eateries etc. The reception was very helpful in suggesting a king room, so we would have enough room for porta cot. We took own cot but you can rent one there. We got hot buffet breakfast with room price, breakfast was simple eggs, beans, bacon but all yummy and fresh. High chairs available in dining room for bubs. Room was heated on arrival and king bed was comfy and room very clean. We had ensuite was also clean and tidy. All in all a pleasant stay and would book again without hesitation. Thankyou

Room Tip: King size room good size if you need to fit porta cot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Grand old building situated about 100 meters from the main shopping area. The King bed suite was nice enough, but the bed was very hard. Heating is via the ducted airconditioner which is noisier than a perferable oil heater. We enjoyed our stay all the same as it was quite novel being in a big old hotel like this one. It was a bit overpriced, however we did book only a few days before a long weekend so prices were almost double the normal rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located in a great area. So close to everything. Town centre and RSL. Has the old charm feel which inspired me and took me back to memory lane. Loved reading about the history of the building. I booked 5 rooms as I took a group up for a celebration. Chrystal was helpful, friendly & saw to my requests pleasantly and promptly. The hotel was warm, clean & beautifully maintained. The group loved it and said they would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fantastic place to stay, location is close to tourist attractions and a stroll down the street allows to you shop and offers great places to eat.

Service was friendly and helpful....our room was already heated up for us when we walked in from a very cold day which was much appreciated. Rooms were very clean and charming. Definitely a place we would revisit and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.5 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Address: 230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in a few weeks as our new lounge café will be opening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Royale Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.