We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Royale Blue Mountains to your Saves list
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel boasts a grand facade and indeed has beautiful common rooms. However, we booked a de-luxe king room and were shown to what I can only describe as a box room. It was so small we had to move the furniture around and stack the chairs to get our suitcases opened. The cramped en-suite shower room was old and dingy, with grime around the grouting and shower seal. We were unhappy with the room and asked for an upgrade, and took another room for an extra $20. This was much bigger, but with the same bathroom problems and a stained carpet, with peeling paintwork. These are not the same rooms you see on the web site. Both these rooms are, in our opinion, in desperate need of renovation and should not be sold to people as 'de-luxe rooms' . The manager insisted we had booked a budget room, but our booking form clearly states de-luxe. I am sure there are some nice big well decorated welcoming rooms in the hotel, but we never saw them.
Facilities were sparse and not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
I understand the owners are new and they can be proud of what they have done so far, but these rooms need urgent upgrading.
That said, the location was good, only a short drive to scenic spots and a few restaurants. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Palais Royale. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to improve what we can offer to our guests. There must have been a miss-communication at some level because we do not have budget rooms. We do have rooms that are slightly smaller, but they are still capable of fitting luggage comfortably. Our executive rooms are very spacious in comparison, which is likely the type of room that you were re-allocated to. The rooms that are shown on our website are executive rooms also. These Executive rooms are larger, feature a larger bathroom and many have a distant view which overlooks the national park. They do have a higher price but this is reflected by the extra features.

Like you mentioned, the new management is trying to continuously improve the standard that is offered to guests. We want to impress all of our guests, and with your feedback we are one step closer to achieving this. We are also pleased that you did enjoy other aspects of your stay such as our common areas and the convenient location.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    33
    22
    3
See reviews for
21
86
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A good hotel within easy reach of the pubs and restaurants of Katoomba, whilst still quiet enough for some much needed relaxation after being in and around the Blue Mountains.

The room was a good size (ground floor, front of hotel) with much needed air con, the fridge was also welcome to storage after a Hunter Valley trip!

The breakfast was ample, if a little basic. Whilst the spa was a little disappointing as it took an age for the sauna and spa to heat up - a minor grumble, but otherwise was a good base for the local area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest

It makes us very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback so that we can address the areas in which we can improve.

We hope that you visit us again sometime in the future!

Kind Regards

Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were two couples who shared a room with 2 queen beds and one single. The room was HUGE! Very interesting historic building. I think the problem with the air conditioning, is it is an old building that was not built for air conditioning. Luckily it wasn't overly hot when we were there. Sandra at the front desk was very helpful. She gave us a tour of the hotel, and helped us immensely with phone calls trying to track down a cell phone we accidentally left in our last rental car. She went out of her way to help us! We enjoyed lounging on the couches and at the tables out front with a glass of wine before dinner. (She even supplied us with wine glasses!) Breakfast was included. We also had a small fridge in the room. We also enjoyed the spa one evening, but did not use the sauna. Within walking distance of grocery store, liquor store and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room happened to be on the main floor, but if you have difficulty with stairs, you may want to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palkat, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It brings us great joy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Management
Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The building and the room looked posh.
But later it turned out that the management tried to save on some simple and presumably not too expensive things. In the room and the resturant there was just 1 sort of tea (black lipton), no green at all. The heating didn't work and at night it was very cold. Fortunately there was an additional blanket. Bathroom items could be better too. The breakfast was OK. The stuff was friendly and nice. The best thing was location!
You'd expect a bit more for AU$153 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Your feedback allows us to improve our service for both yourself and other guests. We will use your constructive criticism to look into how we can provide a better experience.

In regards to the heater, it is important to notify reception where possible to where there are problems with the room features so that we can either fix or move you to a fully functioning room. After all, as you say, it is what you would expect. Next time please notify us and we will act promptly to solve the problem.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We like it, we always stay here when we go to the blue mountains. Nice cheap place to stay with a great breakfast. A very nice grand old building. Staff were nice and polite, room was very clean and nice, the A/c worked fine. We loved it.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again next time when you visit the Blue Mountains.

Warm Regards

Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe Queen room(rooms are upstairs). The air conditioning really needs to be looked at as other reviews also stated. The hall ways were much cooler than the rooms, we were lucky max temp was around 25 degrees, i do feel sorry for other guests staying in the middle of summer. Breakfast was very disappointing it was included in the price but they could offer fresh fruit and pastries as a minimum, bacon could also be cooked and the bread was hard/stale both mornings!! Otherwise room was extremely clean and also included a bath which was great also we had a nice view. We also went and had a spa which is downstairs so that was a nice end to the day. The lady at reception could of been a bit more cheery..... I will try somewhere else for my next stay in Katoomba for the price we paid.....

Room Tip: would reccomend upstair rooms as it had a bit of a view and no noise like other reviews stated about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am sorry that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback as we are a private family owned hotel that is trying to improve in order to offer our guests a unique and enjoyable experience. We look forward to an active new year and in doing so we aim to improve the issues that you mentioned.

Kind Regards

Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The 4 out of 5 was given for value, tariff included a full breakfast which was ok. The room was spotless with plenty of room. Spent the first night freezing cold as the air conditioner was set for a day when it was really hot before we arrived and had no control over it, had to ask reception to turn the heat up. Over all a very nice place, lovely decor, really hope the Palais Royale gives the Carrington Hotel a run for its money, our bet will be on the Palais!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that we see you again in the near future!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Address: 230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Royale Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.